We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant five-star surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #225 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant five-star surprise”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here one night in March 2013 and wished I could stay longer. I had never heard of the Grange hotel chain, so was a bit anxious about what the hotel would be like. I needn't have worried. The staff on the whole are very nice and speak good English (many hotels in London are staffed almost exclusively by foreigners who don't always speak good English!), the room is spacious, and the bathroom modern and state-of-the-art, with a rainfall column shower, a nice big sink, and a bathtub. The hotel is brand-new and you can smell the volatile organic compounds outgassing still, which is an issue for asthmatics and chemically-sensitive people like myself. The window does not open. The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk to Tower Hill tube and Aldgate tube, but neither station has escalators or elevators so beware if you are hauling lots of luggage like I was! The pool, jacuzzi, steam room, and sauna are all super nice, as is the changing room. There is a small Tesco just around the corner, but otherwise not much going on. It's a former docklands converted to a business area, I think. I find myself going on the tube for shopping and eating. Free good-speed wifi in the room is a great bonus, much appreciated after my Hilton London Metropole stay, which wasn't such a great experience. In all, the Grange compares extremely well with the Four Seasons Canary Wharf not far away where I stayed for 3 nights last year, albeit at a much lower price if you are lucky. I would come here again if I get a super deal; otherwise, the Four Seasons Canary Wharf is an extremely attractive option and they always seem to have a special offer going with lots of included freebies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouveGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    1,184
    344
    132
    74
See reviews for
499
1,548
104
753
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice new hotel,

Slightly out of the way if you're a tourist, but what you gain by not being in the west end, is basically a much better standard of hotel for the money.

It's right near Aldgate or Tower Hill tubes, so easy to get around from.

Rooms, and Bathrooms are decent size for London. Small obviously, but a decent use of the space is made. Again, it's London.

I'd recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZallyZally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here. The pool was very nice. Just stayed here for 1 night on business. The room was extremely comfortable and the room service was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night with work, lovely contemporary rooms, great spa and pool, and lovely in room food.

I'm writing this review from my room, using the free wifi, whilst watching film4 on the HD flat screen :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here last weekend after booking fairly last minute. I'm lucky to spend a fair amount of time away in various hotels, mainly 4-5*.

I certainly wouldn't say this hotel is a 5*. Being new, its very nicely decorated and certainly clean. The bedrooms are a nice size, and the bathroom suite very nice and therefore if you are looking for somewhere to rest your head, close to the city centre only then this may be suitable.

However, having stayed in many hotels I genuinely believe a hotel can be as aesthetically pleasing as you like but without good quality staff, there is little point in advertiisng yourself as a quality hotel. On check-in, I found the staff to be stand-offish, almost to the point of rudeness wiht little interest in providing a friendly face for the hotel. I was told of nothing regardng facillties, check out times etc and merely pointed towards the direction of the lifts. It seemed as though the staff had taken the concept of 5* to their heads a little and decided to opt for the pretentious route as opposed to the friendly.

Not once did any staff member greet you or say hello when passing in corridoors like any normal courteous person would do, which one would assumes is the very basic level of customer service. I can honestly say as a frequent traveller, and as someone who books several hotels a week for clients, I would rate this hotel one of the worst in terms of its customer service which is a real shame because the hotel itself is fairly good.

No doubt there are people who don't mind the smaller touches in which case, for the location, the hotel is ideal but for those who like the hotel to be part of their experience away, maybe further research on this hotel is required.

Room Tip: The glass lift may be a bit disconcerting for those afraid of heights so perhaps opt for a lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLH425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Got this hotel on secret rooms. When we arrived at the hotel we were given an upgrade!! Handy location - 5 mins from the tube and the Tower of London. We were really impressed with the quality! The bed was huge and really comfy and the bathroom was lush!
We would definately pick this hotel again for a bit of 5* luxury

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey_z2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spend one week in the Grange Tower Bridge Hotel. It is a new, stylish hotel close to the tower bridge.
Everything was fine apart from my breakfast experiance. It took quite a while to get my ordered eggs. There was a station to prepare i.e. fried eggs, but during the whole week it took up to 20 minutes to find someone to prepare the eggs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#345 of 1,068 in London
2,776 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#325 of 1,068 in London
4,231 reviews
The Tower
#266 of 1,068 in London
6,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,068 in London
3,748 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#234 of 1,068 in London
2,810 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Property: Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#142 Business Hotel in London
#144 Romantic Hotel in London
#148 Family Hotel in London
#172 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing