We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Ranked #222 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good but not 5 star”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights on 19 and 20 October.arrived early and was told room wouldn't be ready until 3pm-"it's in your booking conditions"-yes it was but a bit more civility would have been nice.Felt staff at reception could do with a lot more training.No problem with the other staff-concierge staff and porters were all friendly and helpful.
The room was fine,although there is definitely an issue regulating the shower and air-conditioning.Reception told me they would send somebody to sort out the air-con.....I'm still waiting!
Swimming pool and gym are excellent.
Hotel is in good location-tower hill tube 5 minutes away.Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment.
I don't reckon it's 5 star-a good 4 star-pool and gym probably secured it's 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    1,189
    347
    133
    74
See reviews for
503
1,561
105
758
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

stayed here friday 19th oct room 725 room a treat 2 x queen size beds in the room deep piled carpets good size tv furniture quality bathroom sink would not empty fast very slow and the shower door slid of its hinges ice machine next door for the bottle of champange i bought else where . avoid the bar very expensive and the breakfast at £30 per head a tad expensive .
location is great next to the tower of london and lots of resturants and bars all around the hotel ,all in all cant wait to go back and and enjoy is all again

Room Tip: room 725 where we stayed had a small noise from the lift but not noticable when i had had several gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel for my birthday as we had tickets for Shrek. The reception staff and porters were very friendly, professional and helpful. We stayed in room 634 which was very nice (superior room) but our view was a brick wall with a side view of the glass walkway between the buildings. I felt very vunerable as we could see the corridor very clearly and were not sure if the prople in the corridor could see into our room as clearly, especially when we had toput lights on due to limited daylight! Hence we kept the curtains drawn the whole time. I hadn't taken a dressing gown as I presumed we would have them supplied with slippers due to the hotel being 5*, big mistake as there weren't any. We did wonder as we had a good price having booked through lastminute.com as a secret hotel whether these type of rooms are kept for low paying customers. I did mention my disapointment on checking out but the receptionist just looked at me without any comment. Probably wouldn't stay there again as there are so many other hotels in the area to choose from. Having said that, the location was great only a 5 min walk from Tower Hill underground station on the circle line.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed there on Sunday 14th October with a friend who booked the room through lastminute.com, as a top secret hotel at a rate of £90, which was fantastic value.

We checked in at 1pm and as they had a room ready they let us go up rather than wait. The room was 733, on the side of the hotel. The room was big, with a kingsize bed, a sofa and two armchairs. There was a big, full height window which gave a great view and had the thickest curtains I'd ever seen so there was no problem keeping the room dark at night, so I had a good night's sleep. The room was modern and clean. The bathroom was good - a nice big basin and a great shower. Proper sizes towels. Plenty of toiletries.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. It wasn't included in our room rate but we were happy to pay the extra £20 per head, as that seemed quite reasonable for a hotel breakfast. There was a good choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, but the cooked breakfast was disappointing - there was no black pudding (although it was advertised), no fried bread, and fried eggs had to be made to order. It was more like a Little Chef breakfast, which was a shame.

We didn't have time to try the pool and the spa so I can't comment on those.

The staff were helpful and friendly, and the whole hotel is modern and clean. It's reasonably well located if you need to stay in that part of the city. I'd certainly stay there again although I'd go and find breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryBNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Really impressed by the standard of this hotel. New and so modern yet classy. Booked on secret hotels so slightly cheaper rate than rack rate. Leisure facilities inc gym, sauna, steam pool and pool which were outstanding. Did not eat or drink but menu seemed of great variety and prices reasonable.
Room 203 was great. So peaceful and huge for London. Great transport links to all areas of London including the DLR to Stratford westfields shopping centre. Highly recommend st Katherine's docks for dinner and drinks which is 5 mins away. Walking distance to Spittlefields market which is great on a Sunday too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I don't normally write a review, but after a recent 2 day visit felt I needed to comment. We arrived Saturday at just gone 2.30pm only to be told check-in on weekend is not until 3pm so please take a seat. I'm sure our room was ready but their T&C's stated the check-in time so we waited. The reception area is very modern but quite narrow. When we got to our room it is again modern with a separate bathroom (just like photos on tripadvisor), though not that big. The hotel is quite warm and the room air-con does not go below 19deg.

We had travelled for several hours so I took a shower in the room. Lovely modern rain shower however it was so powerful that it seeped out of the shower and literally covered the entire bathroom floor - not great. I was also surprised not to find any slippers/gowns for a 5* hotel.

We were meeting friends for the weekend so went out for the evening and came back late. Room very warm when we returned so not a great nights sleep. Sunday morning we had breakfast and had to wait just over 15mins in a queue for a table. The room could probably sit approx 180-200 people, it was probably 2/3rds full with with dozens of tables full of un-cleared plates/glasses etc. It was a shambles. I stay at hotels most weeks with work and I have stayed in Premier Inn's that have a better standard than what we were presented with. The breakfast is nice when we did get to sit down, although the orange juice (a good test of a hotel breakfast!) was very watered down and we could not drink this. Plenty of pastries, meats, cheese, cereals and cooked breakfast to choose from. One other point to note is there was a constant queue for glasses as there were not enough for the juices.

On our second day we did try the pool and facilities which were very pleasant and to a good standard.

All things considered we were disappointed with our stay. For the price we paid and the supposed five star rating, we expected better service to what we experienced.

*For info for those wanting to know what is nearby. Next to the hotel is a Wetherspoons restaurant serving excellent value meals round the clock, and there is also a Tesco Express grocery store round the corner from the Wetherspoons. Tower Hill tube station is 5mins walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night Bed and Breakfast. Hotel was very impressive in every respect. From the large reception area when numerous staff members to check you in, to the glass lifts which take you up to your bedroom.

The bedroom was spotless and the bathroom (which contained a bath and separate walk in multi-directional shower) was pristine with lots of black granite. I stay in a number of hotels throughout the UK and overseas and the bathroom in this hotel was exceptional and the finish was best I have ever seen. Even the small details like the silicone sealant and wall/floor grounting were perfect.

The breakfast was also very nice with a good selection.

Overall, a top London hotel which I would not hesitate in staying at again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cawdy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#352 of 1,069 in London
2,790 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,257 reviews
The Tower
#267 of 1,069 in London
6,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,069 in London
2,842 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#88 of 1,069 in London
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Tower Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Tower Bridge Hotel

Property: Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Address: 45 Prescot Street, London E1 8GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in London
#142 Business Hotel in London
#144 Romantic Hotel in London
#148 Family Hotel in London
#167 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grange Tower Bridge Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched in June 2011, the brand new Grange Tower Bridge Hotel redefines luxury accommodation and events facilities within the famous Tower Bridge district. Signature facilities include an expansive Conference and Events Centre, together with a luxurious Wellness Centre offering an extensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. The Grange Tower Bridge incorporates renewable solar and photovoltaic panels, and has an on-site borehole to reduce water consumption – making it one of the most energy-efficient hotels to open in recent years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange Tower Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing