We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb place to stay in SW19” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox and Grapes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fox and Grapes
Ranked #168 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay in SW19”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This used to be a lovely slightly off the beaten track pub in Wimbledon Village. On the old classic Olly Read pub crawl. So when I heard it had been reinvented as a pub/restaurant with accommodation I was a little anxious. But time marches on and tastes and needs change. On my recent visit back "home" I booked in here with my wife and two young children. We were made to feel so welcome. When I booked I was told that two adults and two small children in the room would be a tight squeeze, and it was. But the proprietor was flexible and let me go ahead and book anyway. The pub has been very tastefully renovated and the room we had was bright and clean. A bit on the small side, but perfect for a couple or two people and a baby. Free parking is always available on the street outside. We did not eat dinner here so cannot comment on that. But we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The beer is very good too. Continental breakfast is included in the room price and cooked breakfast is extra. But this is no ordinary continental breakfast - cereal, fresh baked bread/toast, fresh baked croissants, pain au chocolat, pastries, fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, excellent coffee. It was in fact the best continental breakfast I have ever had. We will be back - if not to stay (unless we find baby sitters!), then definitely to sample the restaurant fare! I have struggled to find a fault - the only thing I can come up with is that the old sash windows could do with replacing/refitting as they let in a bit of a draught.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I travel all over the country at the moment with work so to find such a lovely place when working away is always a great relief. Rooms are elegant and so comfortable and relaxing. The food is fabulous. All this makes it a lot easier having to be staying away. As others have commented, shame there are not more rooms. The staff are so polite and helpful, they could not have been more helpful.
I would definitely recommend this place and will be returning again as soon as I can.
And being so well located makes the price really good as well.
Phone reception is a bit tempramental but I blame iphone 5 for that...

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disapointment as there are only a few rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recently stayed here - firstly the service is exceptional, and secondly everything is stylish and subtle with it.
The food was fabulous , with an extensive wine list. Lovely atmosphere and well worth a visit. The rooms and accommodation was first class.

Room Tip: any of the three are all equally of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theopeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We needed a place near a golf course and by glorious good luck The Fox and Grapes was on the 'mud' map to the golf! This is far and away the best 'pub' I have stayed in or eaten at in a very long time. Even has a Nespresso in the room. Bed so comfortable it was hard to rise, the evening meal was a treat (we shared a slow cooked lamb that was melt in the mouth). The dining room extends into the bar and was fairly full for Sunday dinner, but at lunch was bursting at the seams. The bar was well patronised and the staff were very helpful, even going 'beyond' to help us with our forward journey. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My only disappointment is that this hotel does not have any more rooms!! This is a fabulous hotel set up on Wimbledon Common, the rooms are presented to the highest of standards and everything is clean and crisp. The food here is also superb, all in all I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

With only 3 rooms, the quality of rooms, service, shower preassure and amenities are excellent. A hidden gem on top of this great gastro pub next to the Wimbledon Common, the golf course and great forest for jogging. Continental breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, warm croissants, muesli or cereals and excellent coffee. In-room Penhaglion amenities and Nespresso maker. Well done also for friendly service and a great wine card.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night and was was surprised at how good the rooms were the room was scrupulously clean with a large comfortable bed the en-suite shower was great with a great range of complimentary toiletries, there is also an expresso machine in each room and free to use bathrobes.The food in the downstairs bar was delicious and highly recommended well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davie51268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#498 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#441 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Wimbledon Hotel
#735 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Petersham Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Wimbledon
The Dog & Fox
The Dog & Fox
#43 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Rose and Crown
#69 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Grapes

Property: The Fox and Grapes
Address: 9 Camp Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox and Grapes 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Comfortable Village Inn on the edge of Wimbledon Common, the Fox & Grapes serves excellent food, well conditioned real ales and a good selection of fine wines. With well appointed rooms, and the tranquility of the location, the Fox & Grapes is on the doorstep of London and is conveniently located for a city commute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Fox and Grapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Grapes London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing