We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox and Grapes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fox and Grapes
Ranked #165 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recently stayed here - firstly the service is exceptional, and secondly everything is stylish and subtle with it.
The food was fabulous , with an extensive wine list. Lovely atmosphere and well worth a visit. The rooms and accommodation was first class.

Room Tip: any of the three are all equally of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theopeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We needed a place near a golf course and by glorious good luck The Fox and Grapes was on the 'mud' map to the golf! This is far and away the best 'pub' I have stayed in or eaten at in a very long time. Even has a Nespresso in the room. Bed so comfortable it was hard to rise, the evening meal was a treat (we shared a slow cooked lamb that was melt in the mouth). The dining room extends into the bar and was fairly full for Sunday dinner, but at lunch was bursting at the seams. The bar was well patronised and the staff were very helpful, even going 'beyond' to help us with our forward journey. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My only disappointment is that this hotel does not have any more rooms!! This is a fabulous hotel set up on Wimbledon Common, the rooms are presented to the highest of standards and everything is clean and crisp. The food here is also superb, all in all I would highly recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

With only 3 rooms, the quality of rooms, service, shower preassure and amenities are excellent. A hidden gem on top of this great gastro pub next to the Wimbledon Common, the golf course and great forest for jogging. Continental breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, warm croissants, muesli or cereals and excellent coffee. In-room Penhaglion amenities and Nespresso maker. Well done also for friendly service and a great wine card.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night and was was surprised at how good the rooms were the room was scrupulously clean with a large comfortable bed the en-suite shower was great with a great range of complimentary toiletries, there is also an expresso machine in each room and free to use bathrobes.The food in the downstairs bar was delicious and highly recommended well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davie51268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed on a Monday evening to avoid a long commute home. My room was Cholet, which made me smile. Beautiful, fresh, contemporary decor, a lovely Nespresso coffee machine and free wifi. No phone signal (3) was a shame. Extremely comfortable bed, and gorgeous classy toiletries in the tiny, but entirely adequate shower room. I ate in the gastro pub bar and had quite possibly, the best burger, fries and home-made mayo I have ever tasted. Breakfast was also a delight, with plenty of fresh fruit, warmed croissant and pain au chocolat and cereals, toast, tea/coffee all included in the £90 price tag. I would have given 5 stars but was disappointed on 2 counts. On checking out, I had a long wait for a taxi. During this time, I sat in the bar and watched the breakfast waitress happily picking fresh fruit out of a bowl that was waiting for the final breakfast guests, and eating it. Even if they weren't coming, this really didn't look good. And secondly, I asked for a taxi and was told it would be a 20-minute wait, which made me late for work. If a closer taxi firm than this can't be found, it's probably worth advising guests of this in the room literature. To add to this irritation factor, when the taxi did arrive, it was a fixed price driver service, with charges 30% higher than the local black cabs from Wimbledon station. This should really be communicated in advance as I had no choice by the time I found out. Apart from these minor gripes, I would certainly stay here again, and would not hesitate to recommend the dining experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnandystalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I recently Stayed at the Fox and Grapes and really enjoyed the experience.

It consists of 3 good rooms we stayed in Tobermory.
This room was excellently decorated and had a lovely private terrace and a massive shower room, the bath has been sacrificed but you do not miss it at all. The toilettries provided were also lovely.
The staff here are really attentive - they do not offer room serice but my husband wanted a bite to eat, went downstairs to the pub to order something and the staff said it was no problem to bring it to the room! At no extra cost!!!!!
The food here is great. My hubby had the burger and chips which looked and tasted good!
The next day we stayed for Sunday lunch which had the most amazing gravey!! I had a pear Tartin for desert and have Never tasted anything so sumptuous in all my life.
The Continental breakfast comes with the room and is endless. Cerial, warmed Pain au chocolat and a big bowl of fresh fruit each!! It is superb value!

The only small problem was caused bu noise coming from the Aircon/Heating? I couldn't work out what it was and did disrupt out sleep a bit but do not let this small point deter you!


To sum up this pub/hotel ooses charm and is exceptional value for money - I cannot wait for my next visit!!

Room Tip: Tobermoray named after a Womble!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saunabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#505 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#445 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Wimbledon Hotel
#729 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Wimbledon
The Dog & Fox
The Dog & Fox
#41 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Rose and Crown
#69 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Grapes

Property: The Fox and Grapes
Address: 9 Camp Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox and Grapes 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Comfortable Village Inn on the edge of Wimbledon Common, the Fox & Grapes serves excellent food, well conditioned real ales and a good selection of fine wines. With well appointed rooms, and the tranquility of the location, the Fox & Grapes is on the doorstep of London and is conveniently located for a city commute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Fox and Grapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Grapes London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing