We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your bill”

Franco's Ristorante Pizzeria
Ranked #16,275 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Check your bill”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Visited this ristorante for the second time and it was fairly quiet when we arrived but then we got caught up with the pre-theatre crowd so it became busy. Not enough staff to cope at this stage (only 2 visible to begin with) so after a long wait had to remind the waiter for our pre-drinks and accompanying order. Once meal order placed, the starters were very poor quality but the main courses were excellent. The evening was spoilt by the credit card being charged with the wrong bill total, as on a previous visit, although service of 12.5% is already charged. Apologies were given when this was pointed out to the bar person, but this is not the first time an overcharge made here. Beware!! Will not be dining here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RWB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    54
    35
    31
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great family-run Italian restaurant near Piccadilly”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've been stopping into Franco's nearly every time we're in London for the last 10 years or so. It has good food, a great atmosphere, at an OK price in a great location. Often we just grab Pizza and a glass of wine, although this time we went twice and delved further into his Italian specialities. The Zabaglione that Franco personally made for us was heavenly! Franco is a great character and he and his daughters are wonderful hosts. This is the sort of great, unique, family run restaurant that we love to support.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and great location”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Visited this restaurant on two occasions within the last six months and on both occasions received good service and good food.

Both times we had the special menu. Mussels to start with Tuna as the main dish which also included a glass of wine. Service was good and there was a nice atmosphere.

Would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So pleased to have chosen Franco's!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As Franco's was quite close to the half-price ticket booth in Leicester Square and many of the theatres I thought we might be buying tickets for, I booked a table for two on-line, and I am so glad I did.
We chose the pre-theatre menu, which provided an interesting choice of starters and mains, with a greater range of dishes than I haved found with other similar offers, and it also included a glass of house wine. The starter, of avocado with grilled ham and cheese, was delicious and the request to remove the ham from the dish for my companion, was done without fuss. We also asked for two glasses of tap water and, once again, this was supplied without the 'funny' looks you get in some restauarants.
The main, of pan cooked chicken in a typically Italian tomato sauce, was served on suitably warmed plates and tasted wonderful. Even the coffee and mint tea were lovely and served promptly.
The only reason I am not scoring the restaurant 5 out of 5, is because it took a long time for us to obtain and pay the bill, which made us slightly anxious as we needed to get to our show in good time.
It was also good to see the owner serving and commanding the restaurant...so much nicer than eating in a 'chain' restaurant. Franco also responded personally to an email I sent, to confirm my booking.
The atmosphere seemed genuinely Italian and I will certainly be going back. I thoroughly recommend Franco's to anyone visiting this part of London and looking for good food and good service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kramfors, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had our New Years Eve evening in the upper part of Franco´s after a theatre show, eight people ranging from 8 to 72 years, made reservation true internet and everything worked.

The service was good, attention from staff and the food was very good.
Really had the atmospehere of a lovely Italian restaurant and for us a perfect evening that ended with the New Year fireworks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dag_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franco's Ristorante Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Franco's Ristorante Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing