We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst pizza in a long time”
Review of Sartori

Sartori
Reserve with OpenTable
Sartori is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #623 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Excellent Italian restaurant close to Leicester Square. Excellent service, good authentic italian food. Prices very reasonable - £63 for 2 courses, bottle of wine and a tip.
Stroumbi, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst pizza in a long time”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I went for one of their antipasti and a pizza. Having read some of these reviews, I fear most people do not know what Italian food is. There again, neither does Sartori.

Antipasto. Not too fresh, bad news when we're talking carpaccio.

The much vaunted pizza? An indigestible, tinned ingredient filled soggy mess. Only in London could you serve something this bad and survive. I reckon there's a price on their heads in Napoli.

I especially loved the bit about not asking for modifications to the pizzas as it adds too much stress to the pizzaioli. Talk about lazy.

Last tip: clean the menus, nobody wants to see food stains on them.

Thank you for the bill and the bad stomach. Luckily there was some alka-seltzer at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crouan695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    457
    129
    60
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An oasis of italian joy in London”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a foodie oasis. The Satori 2 course set lunch was also available for the theatre crowd. and it is GOOD!
We ordered three of the 2 courses. Beautiful, delicious zuppa, lovely grilled vegetables and a picture perfect Insalata caprese started our lunch. Added was glasses of house red wine that were delightful.
The 2nd course was pasta, really, really good pasta. Full, we were satisfied and full when we left.
Two of us had pizza Margherita. Good, very good and fresh.
Side note: Went to the bathroom in the basement and got to witness the pizzas being cooked in a fire oven. Also got a cooking tip from the cook. What could be better?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjlemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best food since Napoli”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

As most of the reviews state, Sartori does excellent food!! This was the best Italian food I have had since I worked down in Napoli and the 3/4 pizza brought back so many memories. We started off with the mixed antipasti and the mussels, which were really tasty and the mussels were meaty with a great sauce. We then shared the 3/4 pizza with three different pizza toppings, the mozzarella was something else. Accompanied by a nice bottle of Sauvignon. Overall the price, including the 12.5% gratuity, was good value at around £80

The service was very good and the staff friendly, however, as some other reviews have said it was quite noisy due to the layout of the restaurant, so not the place for a romantic meal. After the starters the pizza was too much for us to finish and they "bagged" it for us to take home! The only negative I would give, and this does not take away from the overall experience, was that they put three of us on a table for two, which was a little tight at times.

When we left people were queuing up down the street to get in, so that really speaks volumes for the place. One tip is book before you go to avoid disappointment.

As the title says, I have not experienced Italian food this good since I spent a happy year working down in Napoli, everything from the presentation to the ingredients were just like being back there. I will definitely be back when I am in London.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great italian food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great Italian food, extensive menu and good wine only problem is front house staff's attention to customer (luck of it busy talking each other at the bar)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elfbigblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restauant in the heart of the West End.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent food and friendly service. Only complaint is that the place was full and therefore quite noisy. Would not recommend it for a quiet romantic meal! Will surely return on next visit to London.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sartori also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Sartori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing