We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seductively special!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CellarDoor

CellarDoor
Ranked #68 of 1,270 Nightlife in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the West End's most salubrious cottage, supposedly the haunt of Wilde, Orton, Gielgud & Crisp, CellarDoor is now London's cult cabaret bar, secreted beneath the Aldwych in a space just big enough for cats (both feline and human) to swing. We're open until 1AM seven nights a week with free acts from 9PM each evening including drag queens, femme fatales, magicians, crooners, burlesque beauties & more.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“seductively special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wow, where do I begin.....firstly we visited cellardoor last saturday (13th Oct 2012) for the afternoon tease. There were 17 of us for our "we're getting hitched do" and we wanted something classy rather than the run of the mill hen do. The venue itself is stunning. Very small but what it lacks in size it makes up in atmosphere. The venue oozes glamour, style and you can't help but feel completely seduced by it. The Staff were great, very welcoming and attentive. I have had several cocktail in various locations around the world and I have to say that the cocktails here are superb. Excellant premium mixes, served by Staff eager to please. The black jack table was a lovely little plus, and we all had great fun taking part. The afternoon tea was nice, especially the cup cakes which were fresh and yummy. The entertainment here really sealed the deal for me, the group performing were fantasic and the lady singing had the most fabulous voice. Very alluring, and charming. The interaction with the crowd really made us feel part of the performance. The burlesque was also first class, humerous and entertaining all at the same time. This venue is unique, a real experience that you should really try. Don't be alarmed by the toilet doors, once locked the glass mists up. The drinks here aren't cheap, but you get what you pay for and the cocktails will not disapoint. Try "London Callin" cocktail.....yummy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vickyuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    31
    6
    5
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really enjoyed the atmosphere in this place, will be going again. Great staff and nice selection of cocktails.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Intimate and special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

2nd visit to the high-tease! Nice welcome, good food, great cocktails, loved vicious delicious as a stand up and agreat way to wile away a few hours on a Saturday afternoon-a serious must do!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dottie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This intimate bar is a must-see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

What used to be a gentleman's lavatory just off the Strand is now a hidden gem of a bar! I must've walked past it so many times without even realising it was there. Yes, it's small inside (holds 60) but for me that just adds to the uniqueness of it.

I have been here twice now - once on a Wednesday evening and also on a Saturday night. There was entertainment on both evenings, an accordionist on the Wednesday and a burlesque dancer & transvestite DJ on the Saturday. The drinks can be pricey but you are getting entertainment for that too... and free popcorn, as well as table service.

I asked for the wifi password, which was no issue at all - and they even charged my iPhone behind the bar. There aren't many places that have such great customer service.

I will definitely return, and so will the two companions I visited the bar with. One a 60 year old man, and one a 35 year old lady. Both loved it as much as I did. Much recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Cocktail or Two!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

A drink with female friends-ended up very jolly!!!
Lovely setting-underground-usually busy and have to wait a while to be allowed in,but this time went straight in!
Service with a smile and lots of banter from the Barmen-free bowls of popcorn which helped soak up the excesses.......
Will be back,but need to take a fair amount of cash......

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CellarDoor also viewed

 

Been to CellarDoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing