We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slow but smiling service 23.08.13”
Review of National Geographic Cafe - CLOSED

National Geographic Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
821 reviews
561 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“slow but smiling service 23.08.13”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited there for desert after eating meal elsewhere.
We were seen by th waitress and sat at our table, she eventuallly came back and took our order.
My chocolate fondant cake was very very chocolatty! a nice desert. The chilled chocolate drink was expensive and very uninteresting! It had little taste and was insipid.
The price was ok and the shop was nice to look at. Its ok but not wonderful

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoppityskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    28
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Find in Knightsbridge”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After spending the morning at Harrods, we stopped here for lunch. This is a small cafe inside a retail store. We had a short wait for a table as there were six of us but the staff was accommodating. Four of us ordered the soup and sandwich special and the food was very good. The best part was the price - £8. The two children in our group ordered the fish fingers kids meal for £6.95 which seemed a bit high for three fish fingers and chips. That aside, it was a nice lunch with fresh food and good service. I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had lunch which was fresh delicious and reasonably priced
wanted to commend Rebecca for her friendly polite service

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bazz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quirky and cheap(er)”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A cheap quick lunch in the Knightsbridge area is somewhat of an oxymoron. As such, stumbling across the National Geographic cafe was a welcomed surprise.

For less than a tenner you can get a decent sized baguette and a coffee – not bad considering the geographical backdrop.

The particular appeal to me was the quirky nature of the cafe. In London it is easy to become absorbed with the plethora of restaurant chains; eating a Parma ham and olive spread baguette whilst watching the National Geographic channel on a giant screen is way more fun.
I imagine this place would be particularly good if you were with a young family. Just be sure the kids avoid the adorable £200+ giant cuddly penguin on the way out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrHopkins007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice ambiance”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Ate here with my daughter on a Sunday afternoon after visiting Harrods across the road. Had the soup and sanni special and it was lovely, vegetable soup was hot and deliciious, bread was superb with the sandwiches. Coffee yummy, mint tea made with fresh mint leaves yummy. Cakes after were nice. Felt strange at first being sat in a shop but eating food, but the atmosphere is very chilled out. The waiter was very attentive and came and checked on how we were at least 3 times but he wasn't overpowering. Recommend this and always cheaper than Harrods but you can see the shop front from the cafe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Geographic Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing