We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky fun afternoon tea”
Review of sketch Gallery

sketch Gallery
Ranked #657 of 22,842 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Sketch Gallery, a vibrant gastro-brasserie, is sketch's artist-conceived restaurant. Celebrated British artist, David Shrigley, has transformed the Gallery at sketch as part of a long-term programme of artist-conceived restaurants. 239 New works line the restaurant's walls, forming the largest group of original drawings Shrigley has ever exhibited. The Gallery is open seven days a week for afternoon tea and dinner.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“funky fun afternoon tea”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I took my sister here for a birthday afternoon tea. It's a bit expensive but the place is cool and the food is great. I would recommend going, service is good (service charge of 12.5% was automatically added) and we all really enjoyed ourselves. A bit less stuffy take on the traditional high tea

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfbdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    500
    218
    118
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special about it!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went there with my husband. Food is not nice.. price is high and i don't i will go again there or recommend to any one.
Waste of time and money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DYM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Champagne, tea and croissant”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We dropped in for a cup of tea, a croissant and a glass of champagne (it was on in the afternoon of NYE). Excellent service and fantastic design. Rather expensive but well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PitePalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Diferent experience I EVER had”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I been to London many times , but this ecleptic rest is a must, the food is great, the place lovely and very diferent , the service could be better , the bathroom is a must visit Unique .!!
The prices are OK for London we had a lovely evening with the family

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More silly than anything”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had lunch at Sketch with three others. The place tries very hard to be cool apparently (whatever that is) but I tend to like to go to a restaurant to eat rather than for an 'experience'. Frankly the food comprised endless clashing concoctions, most of it slimy. It was also expensive. The gentleman who showed us to our table gave us a campy, self-indulgent performance rather than simply took us to where we needed to go. But he was friendly. But perhaps that's what the rather affected decor and campiness is all about - an attempt to justify the prices because the food certainly is not justification enough.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sketch Gallery also viewed

 

Been to sketch Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing