We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Avo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avo Hotel
Ranked #127 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Cardigan, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Avo Hotel. Dalston is an interesting area to stay in with good transport links. We stayed in a comfortable, clean and spacious room at the Avo Hotel which is a small nicely appointed hotel. The continental breakfast included in the stay had nice array of cereal and toast, decent coffee and Innocent fruit juice. It's was very good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliciam815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Alicia,
Thanks for your review. We try and make sure all of our offerings are top-notch, so we're pleased you noticed that our breakfast juices are always from a premium non-concentrate range!
Hope to see you again soon,
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    50
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
79
19
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great little boutique style hotel situated in the up and coming area of Dalston in east London. Rooms small but perfectly formed with everything you could possibly need, including lovely Elemis toiletries and air conditioning! The only downside we found was that the soundproofing was not great, but this did not spoil our stay nor would it stop us staying again. Go check it out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Jane,
Thanks so much for writing us a review - we're really pleased you like our plush Elemis toiletries. Hope to see you again soon :)
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This past February we spent 2 cozy weeks snuggled in the Avo Hotel every night. Coming from California for London Fashion Week we needed a spot in East London and thank goodness our London contact recommended the Avo. We rented the suite and I felt at home from the minute our cab pulled up front. We were greeted on the sidewalk by dear Nar the proprietor...from that moment on we were treated like family...good family ...not weird annoying family....I think that is the beauty of this hotel. We miss you all...you made our trip extra special! Viva London!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Margo,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! I hear that Mum took you shopping to Green Street for Indian stuff and that it was a blast :)
We were so pleased that you stayed with us and enjoyed the good family vibe. Please come back soon!
Sunny x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went to London for a wedding nearby and stayed in the Avo Hotel. The service was super friendly and helpful. Our room was really clean, comfortable and modern. There are loads of free DVDs you can borrow for a comfy night in.
We went in Easter time and were welcomed to our room with a scrummy Green & Blacks easter egg!
The bed was super comfy with a lovely duvet (no sign of a scratchy blanket around there!). The bathroom had a gorgeous shower and the room came with cosmetics and a nice dressing gown. There was a nice plasma tv screen,
the breakfast was continental and just what we wanted after our heavy night at the wedding.
Would definitely recommend the Avo Hotel. SO much nicer than the big chain hotels. It's much more comfy and a taste of home, but with the chic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonereddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Sally,
We're so happy you enjoyed staying with us :)
We like to add little complimentary touches like the organic Easter Eggs. So glad they went down well with you!
Sunny x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

May be a small room but hey it's London. Good price , great service and we would definitely stay again. You can get a bus nearby straight into the centre and they offer lots of DVD's for a quiet night in. Beds are comfortable, lots of toiletries and a dressing gown to boot. Excellent .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisaMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Marisa,
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. The super-fluffy dressing gowns always go down a treat :)
See you again soon,
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for one night in one of the 'compact doubles' yes the room is small but we only wanted to sleep there, the bed was super comfortable & the staff extremely friendly. We rang ahead for a late check out which was no problem & when we arrived slightly early our room was ready. There is off street parking close by (we brought resident parking tickets on arrival). We both had ear plugs which may be advisable as the hotel is on a busy road, we both slept soundly and will definitely be back to the Avo.

Room Tip: The compact rooms are compact - if you want more room go for a larger, slightly more expensive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopwoody06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello!
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found that it was easy to call ahead and make arrangements. We try hard to give our guests a top experience :)
See you again soon,
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I must have liked it because I feel a bit bad about only giving it three stars, but then again I'll probably look for somewhere different next time, so overall it's just an "OK".

On the plus side the bed was big and comfortable, the bathroom was very clean with really nice quality fittings, taps, shower etc. And it is near the tube station.

On the minus side it's quite expensive at £80, the corridors and staircase are really narrow to the point of feeling quite claustrophobic, and my room was pretty small. Hackney's main road felt quite depressing, but it was rainy and maybe that's just London. Didn't feel like an oasis away from home though, and some B&Bs do. Booking was quite a hassle, with computer problems at their end (maybe just an unfortunate one off?) where my booking wasn't registered, and then emails not replied to for ages, and phone never answered. No cooked breakfast. The guy who let me in was OK, not unfriendly; but I would hardly say "lovely people" like the glowing reviews already here on Trip Advisor. You'd be mad to come here for a romantic weekend or something,but for a business trip then it's OK.

Overall I think they've done a clever job of fitting out a small and tired building with really nice rooms, and are then optimising their income with a high-ish price, cheap-ish breakfast, low staff number and phone cover, a great website etc.

But hey, it's a nice room and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Mine was at the front on the second floor - maybe bigger rooms are available, and ones with less cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Chris,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us this review. Firstly, I apologise for the small glitches you faced, especially regarding the IT issue. We were closed briefly for refurbishment and at the same time our servers went down - we have now moved our systems to ensure our guests never face this issue again.
We do indeed have bigger rooms, which I hope you get to experience if we can persuade you to return. I agree though, that London at this time of year is rather grey. In terms of pricing, most people have given us feedback that our rooms are very good value for London, especially considering the extra touches like memory foam beds (which we're glad you enjoyed) and also spa-level luxury, Elemis toiletries.
All the best to you,
Sunny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#593 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
The RE London Shoreditch
#565 of 1,069 in London
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Global Lodge
Global Lodge
#170 of 871 in London
10 reviews
East End / East London
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#138 of 558 in London
165 reviews
Whitechapel
Monopoly Accommodations
Monopoly Accommodations
#156 of 558 in London
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avo Hotel

Property: Avo Hotel
Address: 82 Dalston Lane | Dalston Hackney, London E8 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian Vogue calls Dalston "the coolest place in Britain". Avo Dalston, a boutique hotel in the heart of vibrant Hackney, caters to savvy locals and tourists with special touches like memory-foam mattresses, luxury Elemis toiletries and a showcase of local art and photography. Our values are based around exemplary service and environmental responsibility. For example, our menus are animal friendly, and we provide travel aluminum water bottles for our guests to use during their ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avo Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing