We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The London Cottage

Front of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area Kitchen and dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Front of Cottage
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Kitchen and dining area.
Living, dining and kitchen area
Living and dining area
View from the lounge through to the bedroom.
View through to the bedroom.
Bathroom door is on the left.
Double bedroom.
Double wardrobe in bedroom
Bathroom with bath and shower
Front of Cottage.
Cottage in the snow
Cottage is located next door to our family home.
Beckenham High street
Beckenham Spa and swimming pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pennyfgs2
St. Albert, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage was very clean and came well equipped. We had fun exploring the town and getting to London on the train
Our host was friendly and helpful

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_Jen...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect quiet base to visit London”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The London Cottage was fine. We were greeted by Anne a lovely lady who showed us the accommodation which was very clean, well-appointed and more than suitable for our needs. All rooms were well equipped and comfortable. The supply of milk, bread and eggs was much appreciated and as Anne stated, the Sainsbury’s at Penge was just an easy 10-minute walk from the Cottage. We were able to travel easily to Forest Hill which was only a 10-minute drive from the cottage in order to meet our daughter and granddaughter. We gave the Cottage a 4-star rating simply because the images we used of the cottage via the Trip Advisor web site suggested that there was a large gravelled area within the grounds that could be used for off street parking. However, Anne requested that we park on the street for safety reasons. When we returned late at night we often found that parking near the cottage was difficult mainly due to a collection of commercial vehicles parked directly out side of the Cottage but then, parking in London is a challenge where ever you choose to stay. This result of this was we would often have to search for a space to park the car late at night. A shame really because the space within the grounds of the house was often only occupied by one car. However, Don’t let this comment put you off because this place is really well placed to visit London and as stated, both Stations are well within walking distance. So we repeat again, the Cottage is Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability to come and go without having to disturb others
Liked least: car parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thank you for your comments and for highly recommending the cottage. We’re sorry to hear that you weren't always able to find a parking space in front go the cottage. Unfortunately the gravel driveway in front of the cottage isn’t suitable for off street parking for safety reasons and so we do not advertise it as such. If guests were to drive in there isn’t sufficient space for them to turn their car around. Cars reversing out could easily cause an accident given that small children regularly walk past the driveway on their way to the local schools. Unfortunately the gravel area in front of our house only provides enough space for our own 2 cars to park and turn around safely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinLeCh...
Noosaville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Convenient for Us”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a couple of weeks and the location was ideal for us.
Our son and family were living around the corner, walkable; the train station, Penge East, was a pleasant 10 minute walk; a large Sainsbury's, a Waitrose and an M&S food store were easy drives.
The house was very well equipped and had everything needed for a lengthy stay.
Initial supplies were also kindly provided by Anne.
The space was fine, as mentioned in another review the bedroom is tight around the bed, but manageable. The living/dining/kitchen area was quite acceptable for a holiday stay.
We enjoyed being there, and if we need to stay in the area again would be happy to return.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewed January 8, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
silvertop...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 13, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome from the owner along with fresh bread and milk in the fridge. The Cottage living area is good for two people, the bedroom however is tight for space and the double bed was too narrow for us oldies to sleep comfortably. The accommodation is convenient to the city. Whilst the walk to the station is flat it seemed to be quite a hike for us. Car parking was no problem. The shops were a car ride away. We thought the London Cottage was good value for the rent of 350 pounds per week.

Date of stay: May 2011
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments; we’re pleased that you found the cottage to be convenient for the city and good value for money.
We hope you enjoyed the bottle of wine, fresh coffee, biscuits, orange juice and eggs that we provided.

We’re sorry to hear that you found the walk to the local train stations a bit much. Most guests find them to be a short walk of around 7 minutes.

There is a local convenience store and off licence 3 minutes walk from the cottage. The large supermarkets are 5 minutes drive.

We agree that the bedroom is not as spacious as it could be as more room has been allocated to the lounge/kitchen areas. However the bed is a high quality, standard double size with a deep mattress, feather quilt and pillows.

Thank you for your telephone message saying how much you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing