We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overbooked, lucky to get a room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Whetstone
Ranked #484 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overbooked, lucky to get a room”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booked two night during the week due to work.

Paid online and assume that was job done. Arrived at venue late after longish drive from the South West to be told by the reception that the hotel was fully booked and they were trying to find me alternative accommodation. Waited around for some time, to still be told, that all Travelodge Hotels were fully booked and they may need to look at local B&B's.

The receptionist, who was extremely efficient throughout eventually found me a spare room in that hotel as someone had checked out early (she mentioned that some rooms are just used for "fun")

Not the greatest fun to be told that there is "no room at the inn" considering that you assume you have booked. Apparently most hotels overbook as there is a normal cancellation rate of 3% but is obviously a problem if everyone checks in. The receptionist told me to phone in advice if you know you are definitely turning up and they will not "let out" your room.

Room Tip: Phone in advice to confirm room to prevent my problem of overbooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    111
    45
    30
    23
See reviews for
119
79
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trentels, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Avoid Travelodge Whetstone like the plague unless you want to intrude into a private club where guests are simply unwelcome. 17 July 2014 was the worst hotel stay I've experienced. The staff clearly regard guests as an annoying interruption to their day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Knight_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Have returned from a 3 night stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. The only issues being the temperature of the room and the lack of parking. However, staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. It was close to all amenities and the tube station being a 10 minute walk. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taxal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Convenient location for me, but the rooms are very expensive for what you get and really uncomfortable when it gets the slightest bit warm outside. The shower pressure was pitiful and laughable (no) soap/shampoo provided. TV not working and wasn't fixed when reported. Was disturbed by other guests at the early hours of the morning (from another floor) on one of the nights but there's no room phone to call reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Whetstone, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot Allan B. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. As a brand standard, we do not provide toiletries in our rooms, however they can be purchased from our vending machines in reception. This then allows us to continue to offer great rates for our customers. In order to prevent any disruptions to our customers’ stay, we also require a night staff member to patrol the hotel at night to ensure that a respectable level of noise from our other guests is maintained. We’d like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and we’ll ensure our hotel staff are made aware of the feedback you have left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Only problem was actually pinpointing the Travel Lodge! It is above Halfords,there is only a few parking spaces but apparently you can use Halfords parking if you leave your details at reception!Very clean, comfortable ,it was a hot day so our room was hot,I think this hotel would benefit from airconditioning! BUT I would recommend,we had a very easy pleasant overnight stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank topchicshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have stayed in many Travelodges before and this new and improved look they now have is amazing compared to the past. Thumbs up to the warm feel of the rooms as soon as you walk in and the beds are new with new matresses, much more higher and so comfortable!!!
I slept like a baby.

I stopped staying with Travelodge due to the lack of wow factor and poor beds and tv but now i am definitely going to be using them and so should you.
Very good prices for a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varsha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was my first visit to a Travelodge and although the hotel doesn't look much from the outside, I was very pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation. We stayed because the hotel is very close to our family and it provides a great value alternative to more pricey hotels closer to the centre of London. This is budget accommodation so the bed room and bathroom were functional with no frills but they were very clean and freshly decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable but there was just the one chair in the room so you wouldn't want to spend too much time there unless you were a single business traveller, using the WiFi and the desk to work. The location is great for getting onto motorway networks and also close to the Totteridge and Whetstone tube which will take you straight into the heart of London on the northern line. Whetstone High Street has an excellent range of cafes, bars and restaurants plus the Griffin pub so you have the choice of eating/ drinking in or out of the hotel. We thought that the breakfast was very average so would choose to go to a cafe next time. Parking spaces for the hotel runs out quickly in the evening but you can park in the adjacent Halford's spaces as long as you move your car by about 8 am in the morning. By that time some of the business guests are likely to have left so you may get a hotel space. We will visit again, not just for family reasons but to use the hotel as a base when visiting the sights of the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
2.5 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#646 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Edmonton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Sidcup
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#266 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#596 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Whetstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Whetstone

Property: Travelodge London Whetstone
Address: 1446 High Road | Whetstone, London N20 9BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Whetstone 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Whetstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Whetstone Hotel London
Travelodge London Whetstone England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing