We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

The Household Cavalry Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.13*
and up
Household Cavalry Museum Entrance Ticket in London
Ranked #199 of 1,589 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated at Horse Guards, Whitehall between Trafalgar Square and Westminster Abbey the Museum lies at the heart of historic London in magnificent mid 18th century vaulted stables. Dazzling displays of uniforms, weaponry and other prized exhibits present a celebration and history of the British Army's senior regiments the Life Guards and the Blues and Royals, who uniquely form Her Majesty The Queen's mounted bodyguard. Open daily from 10am.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

It had the potential to be great but little to see and required the ability to spend time standing and reading lots of information. We were disappointed to only see the bottoms of a few horses in stables, and through glass. We were very pleased to have used two for one vouchers downloaded online otherwise would have felt really ripped off. There was no one to ask questions to but understand the attraction was to small to warrant this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareAston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    119
    39
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Small museum but worth the entrance fee. Get to see the horses and guards close up. Try on the heavy uniforms. Interesting insight into cavalry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieblinkert85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fascinating in tradition but expensive for what it is.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We see them everyday but don't know the history or the tradition. This museum is a fascinating insight into the Household cavalry with some genuine artefacts with their stories to tell. However, this could have been so much more and, in my opinion, should have been for the price. Bit of a let down but fascinating nonetheless. On the day we visited the staff were a bit ignorant behind the counter but that maybe a one off.

Helpful?
1 Thank SS6484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Museum for adults and kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Took my 2 boys 3 and 5 to Museum they loved seeing the guards and horses.Their are 2 guards on horse back in century boxes at the entrance and 1 on parade. It is not a big museum but well worth £6.00 admission. My kids love anything guards they were allowed to try on uniforms and hats and watch guards tending to their horses. One of the members of staff was telling us visitors the history of the guards had my older son at awe with her knowledge.Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MagsCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Short visit but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had some time to spare, so decided to have a look round. It is only a small museum, so will not take long to look round. But you may see some horse, and my children could try on some uniforms, which they enjoyed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Argyll1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Household Cavalry Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Household Cavalry Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing