We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant with a view.”
Review of The Fish Place - CLOSED

The Fish Place
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Fish Place is a new restaurant experience perfectly placed to serve the freshest fish and seafood dishes in South West London. The restaurant can be found on the embankment overlooking The River Thames, in the new Bridges Wharf Development between Battersea and Clapham. Dorset Crab, Cornish Lobster, River Dart Mussels and Wild Sea Bass are just some of the exquisite lunch and dinner menu dishes, which bring together quality ingredients, in their prime, with exceptional culinary skills and imagination. Beyond our pescatarian panache, the restaurant also offers seasonal dishes for our carnivorous and vegetarian clientele to be enjoyed along with the riverside views.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with a view.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We realised from previous reviews that the location was a little out of the way and may be difficult for some tourists to find. However, I would strongly recommend that you make the effort to go to THe Fish Place.
It was a very wet Saturday night and we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who took care of our wet top coats and umbrellas. It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary and I wanted this to be a special night. We were guide up to the first floor and shown to a table with excellent River Thames views (even through the rain!) It took my wife and I some time to read the menu, which we thought was comprehensive with choice for most tastes. For starters my wife had a crab Tempura which was delicious and I had Mussels cooked in the most tasty sauce that I have ever had with this dish. Our Main courses were regular fish restaurant meals Plaice and Sea Bass. They arrived with good mixture of fresh and seasonal vegetables (asparagus), and the fish was cooked to perfection. I was the only one who could manage a dessert, but it was worth it. I had the best apple tart ever and even the plate was suitably decorated for our wedding anniversary. A request for a second spoon was soon necessary. Coffees to finish and complimentary Limonta's to cement our feelings about this fine restaurant. Do go it's worth the effort.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy clappy chappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really well cooked fish”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Fish Place in Battersea had incredible food and great service. The fish was absolutely perfectly cooked and very fresh, we had a great seafood mixed started and fantastic desserts. A touch on the pricey side but the 20% toptable offer took the edge off. Great views of the river but was a little out of the way in one of the soulless river side apartment complexes and had an odd ambience inside - we felt a little on top of each other. Great addition to SW restaurants

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Pleasant riverside view and Good Food to boot.”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have lived in Battersea for some years but have rarely ventured to the new riverside developments beyond the heliport.But we are pleased to have found the Fish Place.The Restaurant had a lovely view over looking the Thames.The menu was about right selection wise and we were both pleased with our starters,mine a salmon tartar with tzatiki and my wife`s lobster tortellini. Our main course of wild sea bass and a crayfish and clam risotto was truly tasty.The apple pie dessert was good although not earth shattering.Over all the food and service was excellent and the staff very friendly, although one waitress poured our wine as if it was coming out of a ketchup bottle. This of course is a minor criticism.We will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for a sunny day!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great river view, friendly service and fantastic ambience. The home made bread is crusty, warm and fresh, just loved it! Linguine is too soft but the sauce was good. All food is carefully prepared and presented, with good value for money. Can also dine al fresco near the riverside. Visited by train all the way from East London, very much worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fireflies_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful Saturday lunch!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We went for lunch and we just love the full experience. Clean,modern,restaurant fish restaurant but don't smells fish:-) very friendelly staff .Great table, sunny day, lovely river views + relaxing music!! Fish soup was the best and the bread was perfect.We loved a little surprise a mango sorbet complimentary. We will be back and fully recomend it to fish lovers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing