We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service, rude staff, average food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sobranie Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Sobranie Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Pimlico
Description: Russian restaurant in Central London with live music, karaoke and home made foodOpen from 4pm till late, Monday - Saturday
Harlington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awful service, rude staff, average food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ate from the set menu, on a Wowcher deal. We were shown to the only available table - close to the door and cramped. We had a 6pm booking and were told that we had to be out by 7.30 as there was a large party booked for then and the rest of the tables were booked. We were not advised of this when we booked.The starters for the party were already on the tables - dread to think how they tasted later. The waiter was rude, hurried us with our order. All the staff seemed to be more interested in gossiping and laughing instead of providing a good service. The food was average, nothing to get excited about. When we got the bill, the service for the 'true' value of the meal had been added. We ended up arguing about this and were told -'so don't pay it'. We left the cash for the extra drinks we had and left - no 'goodnights'/ see you again from the staff. This is dreadful example of a central London restaurant and there are far better Eastern European/ Russian restaurants to choose from.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Disgruntled44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good experience and good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I came to this restaurant with my friend who bought a deal wowcher for a meal for two. It was a good value for money and a great night out. We ve been offered a set menu with a traditional Russian food and a glass of wine each. The food was nice especially borsch- the beatroot soup. The folk singer was great too! I enjoyed the visit a lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“'Not Impressed'”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Please don't be fooled by the good reviews here. Myself and my wife visited this restuarant recently and from many Russian restuarants we have been to this was far the worst. We had a group of people celebrating a birthday there, which is fear enough. But when they start dancing around our, and other table's, and bumping into it while we were eating this is not exceptable. The management could see what was happening but did nothing. The food was average and where are far better Russian restuarants in London. We also waited 1 hour for our main coarse. And, just to cap it of at the end of a very disappointing evening we were told that they only accept cash. Wonderful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank stevehp37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Was extremely hot in the restaurant, only air conditioning was in the toilets. When we asked for water with ice, we got water that was not even cold. They do not take a debit or credit card, so you had to estimate what you would spend and go get the cash.awkward. We spent £80.00, wouldnt ever do it again. food was only ok, service was good, but food bland. The selection was not impressive. Location not very classy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank DebF475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
164 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Authentic Russian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

A group of us from work had lunch here as they take the Tastecard and we were intrigued by the Russian menu. They really looked after us and the food was great. The goulash served in a whole hollowed out loaf of rye bread is delicious as was the herring and potato salad starter. It's a bit tricky to find as it's in a modern arcade near the bus station but it makes a change from the bland chain offerings on Victoria High Street.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JED457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sobranie Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing