We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had food here twice and I will go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gola Restaurant

Gola Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gola Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,045 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Contemporary, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian food from Puglia, (close to Chelsea stadium)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had food here twice and I will go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This place is great.
We went the first time to celebrate my husband's birthday. We ordered burrata and they served us a real one, not just the inside like other restaurants do. Then we both had the pistachios tuna: match made in heaven. Last we ordered the cheesecake. I was lost for words. We also had two glasses of white wine suggested by the waitress. Great advise! Last time we both had fish for starters, the sword fish and the tuna, both great. As main course I had the sea bass and hubby had pasta with crab. Very good indeed. As dessert I had semifreddo al torroncino. So good that It inspired me to make one for us the day after! It is not the cheapest restaurant, but the food is fresh, delicious, authentic Italian (and we are Italian, so we know). The service is very prompt and the restaurant is just lovely. Recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilikecooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    65
    30
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and friendly service, a real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Gola was recommended to me by a friend which I find is always the best way to find the really special places and it did not disappoint. We went for a date night there a couple of years ago and have been going back ever since with friends for random midweek dinners and special occasions, it really does cater for everything.

Here's a break down.
The Food: I have always had delicious food there but my top tip would be to go with a big group and ask them to just bring out a selection of anti pasti for everyone. There is so much food and it is all delicious. Make sure you ask for the squid. They are also very good at catering for celiacs without massively limiting their menu choices

The service: It is friendly but not overly familiar and they love their food, The restaurant has a really friendly vibe perfect for family and friends as well as catering for date nights.

The wine: my father loves his wine and even he was happy with the extensive list so I think most diners would be more thaqn happy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Clarissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic neighbourhood restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Always a hit - amazing food in a kitsch atmosphere with wonderful food. We've been dozens of times and will keep coming back! Great for date night or with a group of friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is just the perect restaurant to go to with your boyfriend, family, friends or anyone.

It is small and quaint and has the most gorgeous food. It has a relaxed and authentic feel and it is so cute inside. It is definitely one of my favourite restaurants in Fulham.

Definitely go for a fun, chilled night with amazing food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mediocre Italian on the Fulham Rd”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

If you should find yourself compelled to eat here, for whatever reason, at least opt for a table away from the entrance, as the Fulham rd is extremely busy and noisy (including police cars and ambulances with sirens blaring). The service is willing but inconsistent - having been served quite well for our main courses we had to wait ages to order and then to receive our deserts, as well as to get the bill. Not impressive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grantski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
396Owner396, General Manager at Gola Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Customer,
If you going out in Fulham road and you pretend to be quite,in a street without police or ambulance cars pass from the restaurant,and also asking the staff to switch off the music,why you don't stay at home with paracetamol?And How can you spend a few minute of your life to write a similar and banal review?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gola Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing