We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tip top Japanese”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maguro Sushi

Maguro Sushi
Ranked #5,318 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tip top Japanese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Although this tiny restaurant appears not to be Japanese owned or run the food is exceptional and it too is my favoured japanese in town. Even my hypercritical ex wife who is Japanes thought it good when visiting and my twins this last time literally climbed on the table to fight over the food! It is not fair to call this a 'sushi place'. The sushi is good but they do many more specialities. all can be recommended. It has a firm solid cast of regulars and space is cramped.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artdealer186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
186 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find. Was recommended Maguro by a friend, and visited on a Friday evening. Small place and closely packed but good atmosphere. Staff friendly and efficient. Food was excellent and our young daughters had a mini feast of different foods. Will definitely be visiting again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hafedh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My Favorite Japanese Restaurant in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've been to Maguro Restaurant 5 times for lunch and once for dinner. It's consistently delicious and the staff is friendly and efficient. It's a small and cozy restaurant so be sure to book your reservation even for lunch. Reasonably priced and easy to get to from the Warwick Tube stop (Bakerloo). I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeiaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
242 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

For quality vs price, Maguro is exceptional. A wide ranging menu of sushi, grills etc (standard international Japanese) all done to high standard, Charming staff. Tiny atmospheric room. Must book (it's too small to risk a walk-in). Only other comment is that the food is quite 'rich' so order carefully if you want to keep it light.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I love this place very quirky & yes small, but friendly. The food is delicious and has always had us coming back for more over the last 5 or so years that it has been open. I have been lucky to have been taken to one of the best Japanese restaurants in London, but honestly I much prefer Maguro for its unassuming relaxed personal touch, atmosphere and in my opinion better food - it is far cheaper too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maguro Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Maguro Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing