We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Ranked #8 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Warm, supportive hosts; comfortable accommodations; bountiful, delicious breakfasts.
We came to meet our new grandchild, who lives nearby. John was so helpful -- loaned us an "oyster pass" (to use for public transportation), offered to loan us a UK cell phone (we didn't end up using it, but it was available), and was really helpful when we had some trouble with an online bill (while using HIS computer!). Norma went out of her way to accommodate our dietary needs, even finding some lactose-free yogurt for us, and getting up really early on our last morning to give us a good breakfast send-off. A gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rigrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
68
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I took my husband here as a surprise birthday night away. John was kind enough to drive us to and from the station in the snow and sleet! The house was spacious and well-decorated with lots of great (and original!) artwork and details. There was a warm and welcoming spirit about the place, and a family vibe. Our room was large and very clean and private. Breakfast was simple and healthy and Norma brought in a special birthday candle for my husband, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

74 Coniston Road comes highly recommended by many reviewers and deservedly so. Great accommodation in a peaceful, charming, welcoming house. John and Norma are natural hosts-charming and engaging but not intrusive. We hope to return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChairmanPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

John and Norma have the natural ability not only to be the perfect hosts, but possess the gift of enabling their guests to relax and feel very much 'at home'. Both bedrooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated and well equipped. They even arrange fresh flowers - an additional warm welcome in the room!
The breakfast could not, in my opinion, be improved on..I felt as though they treated me like a Princess. And Norma cooked my poached egg on toast to perfection! The enormous choice of foods at breakfast presented so beautifully were very enticing. Indeed, one is unable to quite do justice to the Norma's effort.
I can wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to anyone needing a place to stay in London.
.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both,on different occasions. One is much bigger than the other. But both equally co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have to come back oftentimes there to see our children. We don't want to go elsewhere, Norma and John are lovely, bedroom and bathroom perfect, nicely decorated and very clean, and the breakfast is marvellous!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blansko, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two days at John & Norma's B&B and it was really, really nice. Both they are very kind, friendly and helpful people. John pickud us up with his car after arrival, so that we didn't have to worry about how to find their house. The house is very nice, rooms are clean and beds comfortable. The vegetarian breakfast was excellent, even for us, which are not vegetarians. If we visit London again, we will go there again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tommyk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My teenage son and I just came back from London and stayed at John and Norma's for four nights (originally planned for five nights).
Even before our arrival, they were very helpful with emails and advised us about the subway strike on the day of our arrival. They offered assistance and we were able to rearrage our schedule before the trip. We had two rooms, both much larger than regular hotel rooms with comfortable beds, and bathroom was very clean. We had the dining room for ourselves and the breakfast was very delicious. We could always get hot water, tea, coffee, some cookies, fruits in the dining room. When we came back to the house after a long tour, the rooms and the bathroom were always clean. The purpose of our visit to London was to watch football games at Emirates and the location was superb!!! We only had to take a bus, no transfer, and stops right by the Emirates stadium. John also helped my son with maps and locations so that he could travel on his own. It was a very memorable stay at John & Norma's and we love to come back. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
White Lodge Hotel
#391 of 1,068 in London
208 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 557 in London
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roseview Hotel
#197 of 557 in London
164 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 557 in London
429 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#16 of 557 in London
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John and Norma's Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John and Norma's Homestay B&B

Property: John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Address: 74 Coniston Road, London N10 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new B&B in the vibrant Muswell Hill area of North London. Our nearest tube stations are Highgate and Bounds Green. We have a stylish double room and a single/twin room, both with LCD televisions and Wi-Fi. You can book the double room on its own with exclusive use of the bathroom, or book both rooms and share the bathroom. Perfect for a family of 3-4 or a group of 3-4 adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John And Norma`s Homestay Bed And Breakfast
John And Norma`s Homestay Hotel London
John And Norma's Homestay B&B London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing