We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you actually open? ”
Review of Gurkha Cottage

Gurkha Cottage
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 5/20
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #5,032 of 27,651 Restaurants in London
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family run Nepalese restaurant operating more than a decade has new décor recently and offers authentic Nepalese and Indian dishes. Vegan menu is one of the recent favourite where as Hand crafted to order Cocktails are outstanding. Sunday Banquet lunch is available from 12-4PM.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

Called at 6 o’clock on a Monday evening to find the door locked and a young lady behind the bar on the phone completely ignoring us! According to your opening hours you were open at this time? Had said young lady either acknowledged us in some way when it was obvious we were wanting to eat it would have been much appreciated! Went somewhere else...you snooze, you loose!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank turtys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

Slightly overpriced wine but the momos are amazing, as is the tarka Dahl. Never eaten a bad meal there and their takeaway options are great too! Absolute gem! :)

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank samanthagK4845YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2019

Visited after few years and amazed by the new decor, in fact we were confused to identify too and had delicious meal. Mix seafood in medium spicy sauce was amazing, Himchuli Vegetable was flavoursome and long and soft pilau rice with spice aromas cooked to perfection accompanied the curry very well. Manager also visited our table and had words regarding food, service and view on new decor. Memorable visit will be back soon.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019 via mobile

Went here tonight for the first time in over ten years with my wife and daughter. The restaurant has new owners now and had very recently been refurbished to a very high standard. (The Trip Advisor picture of the frontage is now out-of-date.)

The service was excellent, attentive and friendly.

The food was absolutely brilliant. Easily the best Nepalese food in Crystal Palace currently. We started with lamb momo, onion bhaji and garlic chilli mogo. The momo were divine. The bhaji's were clearly freshly made and easily the best that I have ever tasted. The mogo were quite firm to the bite but tasty and beautifully spiced. We then had an absolutely excellent chicken tikka masala and jhinga jaffrani (tandoori king prawns) accompanied by Bombay aloo, chana masala, garlic naan bread and rice. All were truly excellent. We finished with homemade gulab jamun and rasgulla.

The wine list had five decent whites and we choose the New Zealand sauvignon blanc which was excellent and had four stars on Vivino.

Overall, a lovely evening meal and we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank V6968FYdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

We had a great meal , vegetarian currys were fresh and tasty starters were served in a contemporary style. The surroundings were newly decorated and staff were very helpful, a good way to spend an early new year's eve meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank LuckyKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing