We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great experience”
Review of Nizuni Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Nizuni Japanese Restaurant
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Really great experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I decided to book a table at Nizuni to celebrate a special occasion with my girlfriend. When we arrived, the reception was very friendly and welcoming, more so than any other London restaurant I have been to.

The menu has a great deal of authentic Japanese food, and we were spoilt for choice when deciding what to order.

The food itself was really great, we ordered mixed tempura for starter, and shared a 19 assorted sushi set, a katsu-don and some soft-shell crab california rolls for the main course. While the food may be a little expensive for a casual dinner, you get amazing quality and quantity for your money. In our case, we couldn't quite finish all of the food we ordered, so next time we could easily order a little less to make it more affordable.

In total our meal for two came to around £80 with sake, green tea and service charge, which in my opinion, was a very good price for the great food that was served.

Another nice touch was the waiter refilling our tea throughout the meal without us needing to ask, even on a busy Friday night!

Overall, I can recommend this place to anyone and I will likely return in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    75
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Japanese Restaurant”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I went with my husband for a casual, romantic dinner. My husband loves his sushi, and we have visited a lot of restaurants offering Sushi (including Michelin Star ones), and he feels the quality of his sushi here was by far the best. I had lamb & chicken dishes, and they were brilliantly made, and beautifully presented as well. It's one of our favourite restaurants - would definitely recommend, and would surely go back...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngellaBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tori Tori!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really good food and service. Portions of the right size. It was a good experience and planning to go again to try more dishes. I really loved the Tori Tori and the seafood udon. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Was ok, not great, but ok”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The meal here wasn't bad but there were a few niggling issues.

First if all the food was good. We went for a starter and a selection of sushi, shashimi and maki which arrived within minutes of it being ordered along with our drinks. The food was generally well prepared and fresh.

On the negative side the tables were too close together, there was no interest in talking us through the menu and it was all over very quickly.

The one thing that I feel was a little unpleasant was the fact that I was charged for a dessert I didn't even ask for. I told them it was my wife's birthday when booking and (as you'd expect) a small cup cake turned up when I asked for the bill. I've never been charged for this sort of thing before. Of course I wouldn't mind paying for this but it just seemed a little cheeky...especially when 12.5% is automatically added to your bill as service.


Not a bad meal but I won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StuBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I love Charlotte street as a location and you really are spoiled for choice. Glad we plumped for Japanese as this place didn't disappoint. Friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere and the food was delicious. Lacking a 'wow factor for sure, but otherwise very hard to fault.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nizuni Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing