We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch”
Review of Belsize Kitchen

Belsize Kitchen
Ranked #5,454 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Loved it the first time we came for dinner. Thought it pretty good the second time, was not happy the last time. The whitebait starter was good but the tartare/mayonnaise so so. The spiced aubergine main course was inedible and sent back, the crab on toast was so overwhelmed by spices, you could not taste the crab and the bread on which it rested was much too coarse and chunky. Service was good and they were concerned at our criticisms and tried to make amends. Sadly, won't go back in a hurry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank woodwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I enjoyed the Belsize full breakfast - very good, as was the cappuccino! There was a good selection of pastries and breads made on site. I will return and try the evening menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MEdwards_Rothesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Took some friends here for dinner a couple of weeks ago. We have all got quite different tastes but we all found something we wanted to order and it did not disappoint. Everybody proclaimed their dish to be tasty and the bill at the end of the meal was a very pleasant (and reasonable) surprise. Service was very friendly and efficient. Will come back again and have no hesitation in recommending to friends and family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WembleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it tremendously”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Took aged parents, wife and daughter here, partly on the back of the Tripadvisor comments. Not disappointed! Great food and fabulous value. 5 of us, 13 courses between us, and 2 1/2 bottles of wine - £175. Bargain! My only criticism is that it's obviously a place that's primarily a daytime place; they need to differentiate the evening experience - tablecloths? Also the back room is a bit low and noisy if full. Had a minor suggestion on the food - chef came and thanked us - good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larrybacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant was just around the corner from our hotel in Belsize Park. After starting the day with toast and tea for several days (included with our hotel room), my daughters begged me to take them out for a real breakfast. This is more of an American style place than English and it was truly delicious. I had an omelet and my daughters had pancakes and french toast. The pancakes looked like the french toast, shaped into triangles. We were all very happy and it wasn't expensive (which is a chronic problem at restaurants in London)!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyannLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belsize Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Belsize Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing