We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the service and food”
Review of The Elgin

The Elgin
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
Ranked #5,800 of 28,464 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Description: The Elgin is an opulent hidden gem, with a rich and vibrant history situated in the iconic Notting Hill area of West London. Our pub boasts an original listed bar, bustling outside area, real wood fireplaces, British seasonal menu, chock-full of classics you know and love with our own little twists. We’re also host to some stunning versatile private hire club rooms for all occasions, whether it be a meeting, birthday, wedding, or just a catch up. With a wide selection of local craft beer, gin-spiring grand Gins, exquisite wines & with irresistible cocktails you’ll be spoiled for choice. No matter what you’re looking for, or whatever your style may be, we have everything you could ask for.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our party of 5 visited on a Wednesday evening for food and drinks in the restaurant section. Initially, the environment was good, and quiet. The lady who helped take our order was pleasant.

When the food arrived, we noticed some problems with our orders. Before ordering, a member of our party asked the staff how the potatoes would be served with his meal (roasted, boiled, etc.) He was told they would be crispy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside. They arrived boiled.

Another member of the party was looking forward to the vegan halloumi, and decided to order the veg sharing platter, as it was included with that. The platter arrived without the vegan halloumi. When we enquired, the hostess asked in the kitchen, and we were told that the halloumi wasn't available. We weren't informed of this at any point until enquiring ourselves.

We had quite a range of meals: pork belly, beef burger, vegetarian platter, bread platter, fries, etc. The food wasn't bad, but really nothing to write home about. I wouldn't eat here again.

At 8pm, they turned on a television to play a football match, which completely changed the mood of the restaurant area, with people roaring and booing at the game.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HonestAsISeeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElginW11, Manager at The Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Following the email conversation that was had with the Deputy Manager, I hope that our response has been sufficient, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Kim
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2019

Just popped in this evening with a friend to have a quiet drink. Ordered two beers and paid with a card. I asked the guy serving us for a receipt, but wasn't sure if he heard me as he went off to serve another customer without acknowledging my request. So, as I did the old 'er, excuse me, but could I have a receipt' thing, he came back with a rather snotty 'I'm doin' it' kind of thing... grabbing a till receipt and flinging it in my direction. Jeez... one goes somewhere for a quiet drink to be greeted with some bullsh**t attitude. No excuse... the place wasn't even busy (not that that is an excuse). Do not go here for a friendly experience... it will not happen.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Service
1  Thank Denning77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElginW11, Manager at The Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

I would like to start by apologising for the experience you had with us, as there is no excuse for this kind of response from a team member.

I would like to reassure you that this incident has been handled internally, and will not happen again.

Please email us at theelginevents@geronimo-inns.co.uk so we can book you in again and get it right this time.

Kind regards,

Kim
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

A fun filled evening celebrating a friends birthday, staff friendly and helpful
Drinks served quickly in our private area, no hassle or rush to move us on at the end of the night
Good value

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeniseC1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElginW11, Manager at The Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Denise,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback!

We so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time celebrating your friend's birthday with us, and would love to invite you back for more great service :)

Best wishes,

Kim
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

Great service and good food. First meal we had after arriving in London and couldn’t of asked for more. Good neighborhood pub.

Date of visit: July 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank mswider65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElginW11, Manager at The Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Hi there,

Thank you so much for our 5 stars and for taking the time to give us this feedback!

We're thrilled that you had such a great time in our pub, and would love to see you again before you leave London!

Best wishes,

Kim
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

We got to Kensington early after along drive & wanted something to eat so we stumbled across this place. It a lovely old boozer that serves great food.
Nick went for the salad as a safe bet but I thought in for a penny so I ordered a Sunday roast. It arrived & it was huge for I think about £15 the quality was great. We will definitely be going back it’s lovely

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank russellspencer2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheElginW11, Manager at The Elgin, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Hi Russell,

Thank you so much for our 5 star rating!

We so pleased to that you stumbled across us, and would love to see you again for more great food and in a classic pub!

Kind regards,

Kim
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elgin also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing