We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brompton Bar and Grill - CLOSED

The Brompton Bar and Grill
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good food, good service, attractive space, comfortable vibe. A great way to end the day. One of the more pleasant places along busy Brompton Road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKandAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Brompton Brasserie!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited this lovely restaurant during August 2013. It was my second visit, having lunched there with my brother in January 2013. This time we had a delicious dinner and the staff are very, very attentive but not so much that you cannot relax and have some good conversation. The wine list is excellent, the food is varied and delicious but one of the highlights of our meal was the absinthe at the end accompanied by a beautiful water fountain - very elegant!!! We will definitely return to this little gem which is just opposite the V&A and Brompton Oratory. So you can mix art and religion with some yummy food in Brompton Bar & Grill - perfection!!! My only reservation about the restaurant is that it is maybe too quiet and I like a bit more atmosphere/music to create the perfect lunch or dinner ambiance. However, do not miss going this lovely restaurant soon, I won't!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brecht56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here after a morning visit to the V&A museum, just a short walk away. Walked in without a reservation and were seated immediately. Polite, attentive staff. Went for the 'Prix Fixe' menu - I had lamb salad for the starter followed by the pork escalope, and was very happy with both choices. The lamb in particular was very nicely cooked. Would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little place- great steak”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I came with my boyfriend who loves steak. We had two ribeye steaks which were cooked to perfection with lovely pepper and bernaise sauce. The Hand cut chips were amazing. My boyfriend had the mash and said it was lovely. For desert we had sticky toffee pudding and lovely ice cream- which was a huge portion! Service is brilliant here, the staff are very attentive polite and well presented! All in all worth the visit and would defo return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eesha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family all enjoy eating at this restaurant as it is consistently good and caters to all tastes. My 7 year old grandson rates its burgers the best in the world and he is a much travelled child! My husband regularly goes for the steak tartare and I love the fish stew. The service is particularly attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kvcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brompton Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing