We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright for a basic bar snack.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Custom House Pub

Custom House Pub
Ranked #6,360 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional English Pub
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alright for a basic bar snack.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

OK if you want scampi or pie and chips. Atmosphere in the bar was nice and relaxing. Beer and alcohol prices not too bad for London.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CornishCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    49
    51
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Fish & Chips, greasy, hot on the outside, warm inside. Definitely need to change out their grease. Server asked if i wanted dessert after my comment... Why would i want dessert if the fish sucks... Why would i want a dessert with the beer i am drinking? How about a refund on my money.. They charge you when you order...

Helpful?
Thank jackisbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pub food okay, but limited”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ate in their pub one night. Special price on "burger and beer" before 9 p.m. Burger was generous and prepared a lot better than most UK burgers. Lots of fries (chips) with it, of course. Price was 50% more than in the US, but I got used to this in London. Prices in pounds about the same as US prices in dollars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Business_Traveler020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very basic menu but good portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate at the Custom House Pub and Kitchen as we were staying at the Ibis directly linked to it and there were no other pubs nearby.

It was a fairly decent sized place and was quite quiet.

When we sat down to look at the menu we were quite surprised how little choice there was. There were only 4 main meal options which were lasagne, a pie, burger or fish. Myself and my boyfriend opted for the burger at just under £10. We added bacon for an extra £1.

The burgers were a really decent size and quite tasty with a good amount of chips.

As long as you don't mind a limited choice then this isn't a bad place to eat. We were going to the O2 arena to see Iron Maiden and hadn't been before to that venue. If I had realised how many places there are to eat there then we would have gone there instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steph666t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“worth looking else where”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wanted a salad due to hot weather and all that was on offer was the standard pub grub worth looking elsewhere

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House Pub also viewed

 

Been to Custom House Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing