We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gastro-pub in Notting Hill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince Albert

The Prince Albert
Ranked #5,886 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Description: A Notting Hill pub worthy of a curtain call.Propping up Notting Hill's famous indie Gate Theatre (upstairs), The Prince Albert is the perfect place to take a dramatic pause whether you fancy a full-on performance or just a pint with friends. Covet one of the many nooks and crannies and take in the ebullient atmosphere over one of our superlative world beers. Or if you're joining us for a pre-show supper, book a table and get the star treatment from your own personal server.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent gastro-pub in Notting Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went for the fish & chips and was delighted by the inspired menu which includes salt & pepper squid and excellent chorizo with focaccia bread. The fish and chips also exceeded expectations as it was Hake and the batter had tarragon to add a subtle but nice flavor. Paired with some Estrella draft beer and a Pimm's for fun. Had a great, great time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    94
    44
    12
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siladice
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good pub of Notting hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Pros: very good fresh tapped Kozel beer, friendly and helpful service, nice garden, good wine choice. Reservation working well.
Room for improvement: old tapped Budvar beer, enormous high density of smokers in garden -> not many fresh air on fresh air :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BranoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I booked into this pub because I've been coming there for years with family and friends. On Friday the 16th we booked a table in pub and were given the table of 8 by the outside door near to the smokers. We ordered our food and in the meantime my mother had found a better table towards the back of the eating area. When we asked the gentleman to change our table number; he made us feel horrible for something soooo little. When we reached the new table the smell of the males toilets made it unbearable to sit there. Could you imagine the rude employees face/attitude when we HAD to change it back. It was seriously like the world was ending!!!!

1. Never eat at a pub with foul toilets (ladies weren't much better)
2. If you have had a bad day NEVER take it out on your customers.

To the man in the green shirt; do everyone a favour and leave. I'll never be back because of your poor manners.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed celebrating here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were a party of six of us celebrating family birthdays, and I chose this place because there was a reasonable choice of food, and some of our party were visiting from abroad, so we needed various options. We were pleased with the food, prices and service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food fab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Wish we had found it earlier. Enjoyed lovely sausages and mash lunch with fresh onion rings, we will definitely return and try all their other options. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only small criticism is that they left the door open and it wasn't very warm inside because of this.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince Albert also viewed

 

Been to The Prince Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing