We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - not the place to eat”
Review of Loop Bar

Loop Bar
Ranked #14,114 of 23,873 Restaurants in London
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Just off London's Oxford Street, slick and stylish Loop is a party playground with bright colours and a friendly vibe. Loop appeals to a trendy young crowd, who tuck into the menu of modern European favourites before heading to the energetic Groovy Wonderland basement club or bars to continue the evening. Dine like royalty in the beautiful restaurant, where chefs prepare fantastic dishes using fine produce. The laidback modern restaurant is tucked beside the main bar, with a Scandinavian feel and a delicious menu from lunch until late. The lounge bar is situated on the ground floor and provides the perfect setting for pre dinner drinks, winding down after work in the comfy leather booths, or simply meeting friends. Opal Bar is Loop's premium elegant bar, with plush black leather booths, chandeliers and a VIP table service. Finally, Groovy Wonderland is London's ultimate 70's and 80's disco club experience, with an amazing flashing dance floor, fantastic service, great dancers and marvellous cocktails served in giant fresh fruit. You can even have a private booth with your very own dance floor!
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I will try to be positive about this place: the food wasn't too bad, fairly standard fare such as mushroom risotto, rump of lamb cooked as ordered, lobster burger something different. The table service was quite good, and our waitress rushed to make sure an additional bottle of wine was ordered on the till before the 50% off offer ended at 8.00pm. So all in all not too bad, but, the noise and racket in this place is unbelievable. The restaurant although separate from the club is not completely isolated from the middle bar making anything other than loud conversation at the table impossible. Other tables were screaming at each other, like your worst nightmare encounter with a hen night. The toilets had the usual nightclub attendant but that whole experience was intimidating. After eating we went downstairs thinking 70's and 80's music would be better, but the vibe was still bad and I've never so many security blokes in a club, clearly an indication that the underlying tension could kick off at any moment. It felt like a scene from a gangster movie. Londongent87 below just about sums it up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IslingtonLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoopManagement, General Manager at Loop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thanks for the feedback. Firstly I am glad to hear that you had such good service which I will pass onto the restaurant staff for you. I will address with the team in regards to your feedback on the music volumes in the restaurant, as it should never be loud enough that you cant enjoy your meal. I was sorry to hear as well that you found the security team a bit much. They are there to ensure that we always provide a safe environment for our customers, however they should never be intimidating or intrude on customers enjoying themselves within the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My friend Steph and I celebrated our joint 30th birthday here last Friday and absolutely loved the place ! Really great 70s decor (glitter balls - check, multicoloured dancefloor - check) and all our fave tunes from the seventies and eighties. Staff were really lovely and very welcoming, and the general feel of the place very positive - a nice change from your standard alienating London bar!

Steph and I both felt really special, and will indeed come again :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoopManagement, General Manager at Loop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thankyou for the great feedback. Its always fantastic to hear when our customers take the time to post good feedback online. Hope to see you in the venue again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for reasonably priced drinks and a fun atmosphere, and the music selection is excellent
I recommend it for a fun night out

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoopManagement, Manager at Loop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our club, it's fantastic to see you had such a good night!

We always work hard to ensure our customers get a true VIP experience at a competitive price! Give us a call the next time you are planning a night out and we will be sure to lay on something special for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Place is ok, nothing special, atmosphere not great and not to sure about the people, bit of an odd mix tht don't really go well together.

Thank oliver o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoopManagement, Manager at Loop Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Apologies for the fact your time with us wasn't what you were expecting. We would love to hear from you as to what the issues were on the night that resulted in your mixed feelings. Give us a call on 0207 493 1003 and we will work hard to solve the issues!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I planned to attend the Loop Bar with friends as part of a birthday celebration dinner booked (and confirmed by e-mail and telephone) - but I only got as far as the front door!! We did not think that we needed to print the booking acknowledgement e-mail and on arrival we were told by the bouncer that our booking did not show on his list. We were therefore made to wait outside in the cold and explained the issue to three members of staff (although unclear why they could not communicate with each other. At no point were we offered a meaningful apology and instead we were provided with an array of confusing and dishonest reasons why our booking was not listed. After 15 minutes or so it was accepted that our booking was cancelled in error by the bar (although still unclear why) and we were offered access to the drinks bar only which we declined - as we needed to find an alternative place to eat. Overall the customer service was shocking and whilst standing in the cold we watched the same staff, including an over zealous bouncer, inflict similar misery on others e.g. one group which had booked were not allowed in as they were in fancy dress, others (who looked about 30 with greying hair) were turned away due to no ID! My advice is simply - eat and drink somewhere else until this venue sorts out its poor customer service and shambolic booking service.

4  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loop Bar also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Loop Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing