We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I expected from a hostel, but in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Barkston Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barkston Rooms
Ranked #510 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what I expected from a hostel, but in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff is very friendly and kind.
It's well located (subway is 1 minute on foot).
The building has not a lift, so we had to bring our luggage for 3 floors of stairs.
Rooms and shared bathrooms is clean enough, but in my opinion it's for very short stays. (max 3 days)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabbu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    36
    24
    46
See reviews for
11
17
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a dormitory for one night before leaving for Paris and we were glad to leave in the morning. The showers were filled with dirty stuff (maxi pads, hair, old plaster, etc.)
The hostel is well located, easy to find and on the same line as Kings Cross-St.Pancras station. The staff was friendly and helpful and we felt welcome.
In other words, pricy hostel, dirty bathrooms, just for a quick stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I went to this hostel to try and help my friend check in as he is not a native English speaker and suffers from a disability. The receptionist was rude and discriminatory and threatened to 'kick him out' if any one complained about him as he was in a shared room, soley on the basis that he was disabled. My friend understood perfectly what was going on and was hugely offended. I was mortified, so dissapointed that this was one of my friend's experiences of this country. There also did not appear to be any disabled access.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Last summer I went with my friend and our mothers to London. We looked for something cheap near to centre and clean as much as is possible in cheap central London hotels/ hostels. Pictures on the web site look good and we booked whole dorm for 4 with no bathroom. We arrived two hour earlier and the guy on the reception told us that our room is not ready yet so we can stay in 6 people dorm where are 2 women who will be moved. We had even own bathroom. What a suprise in the evening when none were moved and we shared room with young girl who even didn't speak English and older woman who was furious because she booked single room. So we went to the recepcion where another guy told us, they're full (in that moment arrived a group and asked if they have any free room- and they had!). As I was angry he told me we can go away and we "can sleep in a forest"! In the end he promised me pay back one night- he didn't. So this was about "friendliness"
The room we got was dirty, bedding wasn't changed in weeks and beds were weaky. Bathroom even worse- so the kitchen. We were happy when we left. Location and price is fine, but I recomand you to pay more and go clean hotel with friendly staff who won't ruin your mood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Numbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Was in Ealrs court to visit family working in "the france show" at earl's court exhition center so this was the perfect location near their hotel on barkston gardens.

Booked on hostelbookers.com, a bed in a 6 bed male dorm. For £10 pppn how bad can it be? From the outside this place looks nice however on the inside it doesn't, whole inside could do with a makeover.

Anyway checked in and was put in a 4 bed male dorm, good, better than a 6 bed dorm. One bed left, the top bunk with no ladder, not good! Alright for me because I'm slim and athletic but if you're overweight: bad times!

Was a bad night's sleep, when I went to sleep the dorm was freezing but when I woke up in the middle of the night the heating had been put on full blast. The other guests in the dorm weren't noisy or anything but despite having already booked and paid for the second night it was just too tempting to take a single room in a hotel instead.

The showers were nice enough, relatively spacious, wasn't enough to keep me there though.

So in the morning I checked-out, I definitly wouldn't say it was poor or terrible but it's what it is for £10/night: average! Would I recomend it? Yes but only if you're on a very tight budget!

Room Tip: The dorms on hostelbookers are smaller than the dorms on hostelworld so I would advise booking that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was awful. The desk clerk could not find the reservation for the person in line ahead of me. It took about 20 minutes to clear it up. And the same thing with mine - oh, do you HAVE a reservation? - this with me having the confirmation number in hand!! This was at 10:30 at night. When I came back down to the lobby at midnight, I found a line of over 10 people waiting to check in. The desk clerk never, ever apologized and wasn't real nice about it either.

My room was not cleaned yet - again, this is 10:30 at night! The desk clerk told me I should take a different room for the night, then change the next day. As I was telling him NO, the cleaning lady wandered in and he had her go clean the room.

Then it's a 10 pound deposit to get your key. The mattress in my room (a single) was a disaster, nothing but huge lumps. I moved the sheet and slept on the floor!! The room had a sink in it, marked clearly that the water was not for drinking. The "curtain" covering the window had holes in it. Paint is peeling everywhere in the building.

But the location is excellent, and the fridge in the room worked, and the bathroom was reasonably clean. This is a Last, last resort if you end up in London with no planning time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

People have mentioned the rooms to be cheap. Our double room with shared bathroom cost us 36 pounds a night. Expensive in comparison to our other uk accomodation. The staff were rude, they gave us a key to a room which was already occupied! We opened the door to find the room full of other peoples belongings. The next room they gave us wouldn't open and we had to return the key several times before they coded it to work with the new room. When we returned that afternoon the door wouldn't open and they had to re code it again. The daytime temperature was mid 30's Celsius and every heater was on and couldn't be turned off. Instead they had all the windows left open in the building! The beds are really loud (sounds weird I know) but they are metal springs and they squeak with the slightest movement. All facilities are very dirty, the carpet is filthy and so is the bathroom and toilet facility. Very bad experience, just a warning that might save you some grief, if only I had looked at the review before I booked!
The rooms also smelt like marijuana. It felt very unsafe to leave our belongings in the room and sleep during the night knowing that staff were incompetent and give out random room cards to people

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
19.4 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
12.1 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#866 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
19.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
12.3 mi away
Cranbrook Hotel
Cranbrook Hotel
#6 of 10 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkston Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkston Rooms

Property: Barkston Rooms
Address: 1 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Hotel Style:
Ranked #510 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barkston Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Barkston Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Rooms Hotel London
Barkston Rooms London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing