We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here!!! Dirty, dingy and scary!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Earls Court
Ranked #991 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Portsoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here!!! Dirty, dingy and scary!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First family trip to London, 2 adults and two boys aged 20 and 10. Booked two " studio, serviced apartments" through Booking.com and also checked out the hotel website. Two nights before our trip I checked Tripadvisor and was horrified to read some of the reviews. I immediately emailed the hotel and was assured by email that the reviews were wrong and the hotel was spotlessly clean, safe and secure. One arrival we were greeted by a rather unpleasant receptionist and our first impressions of the building were not good. Reception was dingy and carpets dirty. We were informed that we were staying in the building across the road and we were in two of their most recently refurbished rooms. We had to cross a really busy road to get to our rooms and on entering this building I was horrified!!! Greeted by a foul smell, dirty and stained carpets, mouse traps on stairs, torn carpets, holes in walls and just generally untidy. Our rooms were on second floor and the only way to describe them was unclean, unfinished and not suitable for rent. Carpets and walls dirty and stained, light fittings broken, vents broken, curtains dirty, furniture flimsy and broken, bed (linen was clean) but base was stained. Kitchen area was a joke - fridge didn't close so didn't keep anything cold, fridge was dirty, cutlery and crockery was dirty, chipped and there was only one cup? Bathroom was filthy, floor needed a good clean, shower was dirty and had slimy gunge on it. The bathroom was tiny, no where to hang towels and no toilet roll. Mirror was broken and small cabinet was really dirty inside. Room had a major slopping problem and bed was between two walls and there was no room to get to it but from the bottom. We had limited resources and had no choice but to stay here. We spent very little time in the rooms which were also unbearably hot ( fan provided but barely worked). I tried complaining to the receptionist but she was really unhelpful and her attitude was appalling. Rooms were not cleaned during our stay and we had to ask several times for clean towels. The receptionist did say she would move us but we are still waiting!! No phones in rooms, so no way to contact the reception which is located across a really busy road. PLease do not book here. It is cheap but really unpleasant. Such a pity because a good clean and a receptionist that enjoys her job would make a huge difference. So concerned about this hotel that I have contacted the local environmental health and council. Fake advertising is concerning also.

Room Tip: Do Not Book This Hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    59
    75
    86
    248
See reviews for
55
188
57
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pics far cry from what room really like.
Filthy carpets
Filthy bed bases
Broken fittings and furniture
No room at all for suitcase to open, even the carryon bag we had to open on bed
Wobbly toilet in very very small space
Should have asked for my money back..
Window open 24/7 as it was broken and didn't close
Mouldy ceiling in shower
Tube noise under our bed
No air con, stinking hot

Room Tip: Don't book here... Will post pics on site if I can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nannaneicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Completely false advertising and the most unpleasant stay. The apartment - shoe box bed sit- not at the location we booked. Had to lug our backpack at 11pm to the Warwick Rd address. Staff were rude, unhelpful and unable to contact the manager, that has made them sign a confidentiality agreement not to disclose her name. Warning bells ringing loudly! We were having hospitality tickets to The Lord 's cricket test and they lost them. Denied they ever arrived and I wasted 2 days trying to track them down as they were returned to sender. The bathroom was so small if you are larger than an stick insect don't bother booking. The steel of mould and cabbage not the best to say the least.

Room Tip: Don't trust the website. Those rooms do not exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was so shocked with how VERY BAD this Apartment was that I had to write a review. For one thing the room I had looked nothing like the representation on the website. The room was small, It was MOLDY, DIRTY WALLS, the Carpet looked like it had NEVER BEEN CLEANED, it looked so nasty I dare to think what the bed must be like under the covers. The Shower was all moldy, light fittings looked like they could fall out of the ceiling. The bed was so noisey. Don't be fooled by the fancy pics on their website that is not what you will get!!! The rooms are FAR from Modern, or clean!!

I immediately asked for my money back as I just could'nt imagine staying there at all. I travel alot and have stayed in many apartments and hotels and this has to be the worse one I've ever seen!! They have a cheek charging people so much to stay there!

Room Tip: Don't book this apartment!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_T_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I don't normally write reviews but this was soooooooo bad I have no choice as I don't want anyone else to book! We booked through Hoseasons the description on their website is completely wrong. The address and directions are wrong. The name of the apartments are also wrong. So after looking and walking up and down Warwick road for some time and having asked at Dylan apartments if they knew which apartments were Hoseasons (they said "never heared of them)we eventually found our accomodation . . It was The Dylan apartments. Our 1st room was across the road and I struggle for words to say how bad it was. Last guests rubbish under the bed. Toilet that wobbled. Shower that squirted water all over with a bare bathroom light with electrics showing. Self catering facilities consisted of a converted wardrobe! You would not risk cooking in this room. It was dirty. . Is that enough I could go on! We asked to be moved and this was agreed. Up we went to the top floor. Significant number of stairs. No lift as advertised. No one to help with your bags. Filthy carpet and walls on way to yr room. This was a cleaner room. Very small. But felt safer. It is worth noting this room did not belong to Hoseasons so book through them you won't get it! No where to put yr clothes. Double bed was on a slant so you felt you would fall out. My favourite I think was the safety notice in this room. "On discovering a fire contact reception immediately by dialing 0" There was no phone!! I honestly could say a lot more but basically just don't book!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura1965_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

When we arrived we did have a little difficulty locating our room but that was mainly due to small signs and not looking well enough. Our room was small but big enough for me and my friend. We booked the double room because it was cheaper and we didn't mind sharing a bed. In the room there was a reasonably large TV on the wall, a tall but thin closet which was big enough to fit out clothes in for the 3 days we were there and our suitcases and the door was a mirror so we had a full length mirror which is always handy for getting ready. The bed was big enough and very comfy! it was position right by a window which meant we could open it to keep us cool (as it was very hot when we went). There was a little kitchenette with a microwave, kettle, toaster, stove and fridge with a small work surface, a cupboard with a pan, some plates bowls ect and a draw with cutlery in. The only complaint i'd have about that is we had no information what was available in the kitchenette so we took food that needed an oven and ended up trying to heat it over the stove! The bathroom was pretty small but everything was modern and clean! Overall the room was small but very nice! i would stay there again and the location in chelsea was beautiful with a tube station and lots of food shops including nandos and Mcdonalds all within a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We book accommodation at Dylan Earls Court, 27- 28 Philbeach Gardens, Earl Court, London SW5 9EA for the period 3 July to 8 July.
Upon our arrive we were told to report to 60 Warwick Road to book into our accommodation.
Upon completion of the necessary documentation we were advised that our accommodation was located at 109 Warwick Road.
The accommodation described on your website bears no resemblance to the room we have been allocated.
Most studio apartments are described as:
1. Stylishly furnished to a high standard with emphasis on light, space and comfort. We feel that our accommodation is none of these.
2. Apartment features include a private en-suite with high powered shower, flat screen television and fully equipped kitchenette. The shower could be considered dangerous, there is no flat screen television. The television provided did not work and has since been repaired. The kitchenette has not been used do to the size of the room. It is fully equipped.
We had just completed a 13 hours flight from Singapore and therefore were in no fit state to look for alternative accommodation. We approached the receptionist and were advised that they had no spare rooms and we should contact the booking agency.
We consider that the website of Dylan Earls Court is not a accurate representation of the accommodation we have been allocation. We consider that the accommodation would only be of 1 star rating, if that. We have tried to be moved within Dylan Earls Court with no success. We now ask for a portion of our tariff to be refunded. We consider £20.00 person per night to be a more accurate tariff for this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RussellKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#323 of 1,068 in London
204 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 65
#752 of 1,068 in London
540 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,068 in London
718 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#546 of 1,068 in London
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Earls Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Earls Court

Property: Dylan Apartments Earls Court
Address: 27 / 28 Philbeach Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 9EA, England (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #991 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Earls Court 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a group of Studio Apartments in Central London, based in Earl's Court, Kensington and Paddington. We specialise in short & long term lettings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dylan Apartments Earls Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Earls Court Apartments Hotel London
York Hotel London
Dylan Apartments Earls Court London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing