We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Break”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #292 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Really nice hotel slightly back from city sights, positioned at side of Regents Park. Forget taking a car if possible. Furnished to a high standard and rooms very quiet. very polite helpful and smart staff, although all appeared to be Spanish (not surprising as it is part of The Melia group)
Excellent breakfast and nice choice of food in the evening. Beware of £6.80 plus auto.15% service charge for a bottle of water.
Would definetly stay again

Room Tip: Inside rooms no view but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coaltownjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel. I was delighted to read your comments about our staff, buffet and your recognition of the hotel location which is just few minutes away from the centre.

We truly hope to welcome you back again at the nearest future.
Like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest updates.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,253 - 2,259 of 7,239 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at the Melia in a Level room whilst in London on a course. The room was lovely and the housekeeping excellent. The staff in the executive lounge were very friendly and always happy to help. The lounge is very relaxing and a great place to have breakfast or a quiet drink, I also found it a good place to study. I have now joined the Melia Rewards scheme and have already rebooked to return in August.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Brengorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Brengorg,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

It is great to receive such positive comments for our staff, as we consider it as our most important asset. In addition, we are pleased to read that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and The Level room with complimentary access to The Level Lounge was very much appreciated.

On your next stay with us, don’t miss to try L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at the White House near Regents Park and the location was excellent for a visit to London. The hotel is average and needs much work when you compare to the other Melia or four star hotels in the area. The checkin experience was poor with a lengthy delay (25 mins) before we could check in. The room was a family room which was as expected but doing well to accomodate two adults and two kids despite the advertisement. The breakfast experience was generally good but on Good Friday, the experience was poor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, General Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for sharing your comments with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great to see that you appreciated the central location of our hotel. Furthermore, we will take your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ expectations and provide the best possible service.

Please contact Guest Experience Department at guest.experience.london@melia.com to take personally care of your next stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I Stayed for 1 night alone on business. I booked through a corporate booking engine and the rate was significantly lower than rack. I read the reviews in advance and was aware of the issues raised.

The hotel is 4 star, but the service and standards were above standard for the star rating. Check in was simple and easy. I agree the pumped in aromas are a little choking.. just needs turning down a bit.. especially in the lift. The Cumberland at Marble Arch do the same but it is much more subtle and works really well.

I was in room 470. Small but adequate. Amenities were excellent, as was comfort. The key point for the rooms is that I felt I was on holiday!. The hotel is a Spanish chain (I think) and some of the fixtures and fittings have a European influence.. it definitely has a feel good factor. Its worth pointing out the cleanliness/housekeeping is excellent, but coming from the industry, I did notice a couple of points which are not a negative, just worth mentioning for management - the glasses weren't polished enough which gave the impression they weren't cleaned properly. The toiletries weren't all fresh (seals broken), There are no spare pillows (a problem if you are with your partner). However, this should in no way detract from the positives.

I had room service in the evening and breakfast delivered in the morning.. the food was excellent however, I do feel it was massively overpriced - the hotel may reach a 5 star standard but that's no justification for charging 5 star prices. £24 for breakfast is extreme IMO.

Checkout was quick and painless.

Its a beautiful hotel and building.. highly recommend it.

Will stay again if I can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virtualoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a detailed review, we always appreciate feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the Melia White House Hotel.
Like our page on Facebook at Melia White House.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Traveling with a friend who was visiting her son at Regent College, the Melia White House was the perfect choice. Right next to Regent's Park and close to the tube, not only was the location perfect for us, but the hotel was comfortable and upscale. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows, and bathroom done in marble and larger than what I expected in Europe. We arrived about 10 am the day we checked in, due to our flight, and were not able to check in early, but concierge held our luggage so we were free to start exploring. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Concierge was able to direct us to emergency medical care for a minor condition (treatment free, at a hospital ER, even for Americans!) and also made a side trip to Bath via train easy for us to accomplish.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyntomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Robyntomas,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We always appreciate all feedback and it is particularly warming to hear that we have given our guests the experience we set out to give. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Melia White House Hotel.

Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Melia White House for our latest news and promotions.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location is awesome. Next to Regent's Park and 2min and 5min away from Circle and Bakerloo Lines. Ideal for exploring London by tube.
The room was pretty big, comfortable, well equipped and the bed has been the widest (about 1.80m) I've ever tried.
I was on half board and dinner was great.
Great price/value

Cons: the climatization was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcogolludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel.

It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities, the room as well as the buffet exceed your expectations.

London is well known for his elegance and his warm welcoming. Experience it personally at our Longford’s Bar, typical British decoration where you can enjoy a big selection of English teas, or an inviting large choice of spirits and cocktails.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We loved it!!! The situation was superb as we could reach everything even on foot. The breakfast was delicious! The staff extremely helpful at all times!!! The room small but the bed was very comfortable. We didn't need anything more. Nevertheless, it could be a little cleaner. The doors seemed they hadn't been dusted for ages!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panickos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great for us to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and the hotel facilities, our location as well as the staff services exceed your expectations. We are proud to receive such positive comments and particularly for our staff who we consider as our most important asset.


We will take your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ xpectations and provide the best possible service.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#288 of 1,077 in London
1,383 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#261 of 1,077 in London
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $141 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing