We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night show break”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #293 of 1,069 Hotels in London
walsall
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Over night show break”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed overnight for my wife's birthday treat. The hotel was only 10 min walk from Euston station and 5 min from Warren street underground. Found the hotel to be clean and of a good quality. The main reception was well staffed and although most of the staff were Spanish we had no problems. The room was smallish but clean tidy and well equipped ,TV,tea and coffee makings. The breakfast was really first class. Full English huge selection of fruit cold meats cheese. I would stay here again when visiting London

Room Tip: A little traffic noise but not bad, room at rear maybe better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great to see that you appreciated the central location of our hotel. Furthermore we are particularly proud to receive your comments about our breakfast as we are constantly trying to improve our services.

We kindly recommend you for your next stay with us to book our Superior room category which is larger and hopefully will be to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House! Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,872
    2,476
    864
    385
    232
See reviews for
1,570
2,359
303
1,594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were looking for a hotel to take my 88 year old father to London for a long weekend and found this little gem. It was spotlessly clean, the staff were so attentive from outside the hotel to the whole of the inside. A very good quality hotel and a definite 4*.

It was good value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Nigel,

Many thanks for reviewing us on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and the room as well as our staff services were to your complete satisfaction.

On your next stay with us, we recommend you to visit L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelotas, RS
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The best - location. The hotel is just by Regent's Park and is very well served by public transport.

The good - breakfast is varied and offers good choice of fruit, cereal, cheese, ham. There is an omelette bar, English breakfast buffet, beautiful selection of breads, including pretty decent croissants and pain au chocolat. Also, the lunch buffet is very good and excellent price.

The OK - service is all right, all staff are apparently from Spain, and not particularly friendly at times. Internet is free, but not very fast, and connection drops frequently. My bathroom was well equipped but I'd expect a real shower and not one of the infamous hand showers in a semi-loose mount.

The not good - room is subject to noise coming from neighbours and specially from the bathroom when someone upstairs is taking a shower. The bath tube sink was slow in letting water go. Most mirrors in the room are dark and there is nowhere you can see yourself in full in a clear mirror. The fridge is full of stuff and there is no room for your own beer. Ah, and be careful with the stuff in it - simple removal of a bottle can trigger the automatic charging mechanism (hated that).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSOP_AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments about the buffet and your recognition of the hotel location which is just few minutes away from the centre.
All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience.
We hope to welcome you back to the Melia White House Hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Excellent value for money. Highly recommended. Hotel staff are very nice and polite, good location Only two metro stops from London's tourism Next trip, I will recommend my friends to choose this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank יחיאל ש
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear יחיאל ש,

Many thanks for sharing your comments with all the Tripadvisor users!
It is great to see that your experience of your stay with us met your expectations and our location as well as our staff services were well recognised.

London is well known for its elegance and its warm welcoming. Experience it personally at our Longford’s Bar, typical British decoration where you can enjoy a big selection of English teas, or an inviting large choice of spirits and cocktails.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to Melia White House.
Like us on Facebook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

the hotel is excellent in all regards be it location, ameneties,ambience, people etc. i had a bad experience with emirates airlines who had misplaced my luggage. but the hotel conceirge staff took great pains to retrieve the same. kudos to them

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Anand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Anand B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor!
It is very much appreciated to receive your positive comments about our hotel in general and mainly about our concierge team.

We look forward welcoming you back at Melia White House on your next visit to London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Second visit to this hotel and we'll be back! Booked an excellent 'winter special' deal direct on the hotel website and indicated on the reservation we would be celebrating our Ruby Wedding during our recent 2 night stay. Absolutely delighted with a free room upgrade! Thank you. Ideally located 10 mins walk from Euston Station and under 2 min walk to Great Portland Street tube station which provides a direct service to Wembley Stadium, perfect for our visits! Super atmosphere in the hotel bar on Saturday evening with excellent pianist and singer. Our room on the 3rd floor was very clean and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel was busy and although there was a small wait for a breakfast table, we were offered juice and pastries whilst waiting. Nice touch. All staff are a credit to the management, very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gec_chdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear gec_chdle,

It is incredibly satisfying to know that our efforts to deliver the highest possible level of service are reflected in your pleasant stay, specially, on this special occasion.

Apart from the free upgrade in accommodation, we are very happy to read that you have enjoyed the Longford’s Bar’s atmosphere and the live music.

We hope to welcoming you back soon!
For your next stay, visit our website melia.com for the best available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The elegant Melia White House is an excellent option in London. This 4-star hotel is very well located, close to the Great Portland Street underground station, and served by handy buses lines as Marylebone 453 (straight accessing the Parliament and London Eye area). Moreover, Regent’s Park is too close, and Oxford Street is at walking distance. Staff is very attentive, and rooms are quite good. As we were 5, we got 2 rooms – both of them well furnished; the small one though a little bit dark was too cozy. Still considering we were 5 (for a 7-night stay), we did not have breakfast at the hotel. Even during the wintertime, no problem at all with this decision since there are several options for a good breakfast nearby, like Le Pain Quotidien, Paul, Pret-a-Manger and Starbuck’s. Dining is also not a problem. From Green Man pub in front of Great Portland Street to several options in the charming Marylebone area, you just need to make a choice. By the way, Drummond Street, a hidden paradise for Indian cuisine lovers, is just few steps away from WH main door. Fitness center although small has good treadmills and provides enough dumbbells, barrels and free weights to ensure you'll exercise. Regarding workout, don’t forget the whole Regent’s Park also! Undoubtedly, Melia White House is a hotel to be visited again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Alvares-da-Silva,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central of London and we are delighted to see to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in all the possible ways!

Please let us to invite you to try our Breakfast buffet on your next stay with us as it is really popular among our guests.
Melia White House’s team is looking forward welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#329 of 1,069 in London
3,138 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#214 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing