We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit, you won't be sorry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #284 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visit, you won't be sorry”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Melia White House, London, in March, as part of my husband's birthday celebration; we were visiting the theatre, the V&A, shopping, dining out.

It is ideally located, and close enough to Euston for walking to be a pleasant option given a sunny day.

The reception was excellent. As we were early, we were 'mostly' checked in, then popped off for a lovely pot of tea in the bar until our room was ready. When we completed our check-in, we were thrilled to find we had been upgraded from a classic room to an executive on The Level.

The elevators were a delight - no button pushing, just a car to take you to your floor - and our room was spacious, clean, more than comfortable, and exactly what we wanted.

We ate out, but the cocktails we had before bed in the hotel's bar were lovely, and very potent!

Our first night's sleep was amazing - our kids not being with us may have helped a little there - and breakfast was epic - eggs cooked to order, continental meats and cheeses, cereals, beautifully fresh cooked items, pastries, fresh fruit, breads. Really, I wanted to eat everything, and in the end we didn't eat lunch on either day because of the huge breakfast we each ate!

We spent the day and evening out in London (I cannot recommend the 39 Steps at the Criterion enough!), and had another fantastic night's sleep.

The hotel is clean and modern, well-appointed, staffed by kind and helpful people, and just perfect for a London-based break.

Room Tip: The Level is worth the little bit extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knittage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Knittage,
thank you so much for your great and detailed feedback! Your opinion is very important for us and for the service we want to provide every day!

We are extremely happy to see that you have enjoyed all our facilities and appreciated our service as well as our Level Room!

We have been very happy to welcoming you and we hope we will have the chance to do it soon again! Please visit melia.com for the best rate availability.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,665
    2,329
    814
    360
    219
See reviews for
1,449
2,208
279
1,505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent 4 nights in a standard room here in March. Location is good - quick walk to Great Portland Street, Regents Street and Warren Street underground stations; and a handful of stops into the centre of London.
When I arrived reception was very slow, no mention of the paid for room upgrades - so we ended up in a standard room on the 5th floor. The public areas looked clean and were relatively bright - albeit in a fairly dated looking way. Our bedroom on the 5th floor was typically London small, with a bathroom large enough for 1 person at a time. The room was pretty dark and the decor faux distressed - neither good nor bad.
The problem was attention to detail - despite the booking being for two people we were consistently given 1 towel (despite asking for another one), the room wasn't clean and the bath took around 10 minutes to drain unless you fancy standing in dirty water after a shower. WiFi was intermittent - one day it didn't work at all, the next day it kindof worked (regularly dropped the connection). Finally the bed - can't work out if it was a very bouncy mattress or a mattress made of jelly, the slightest movement caused waves of bouncing.
Breakfast was disappointing - poor coffee, average quality of food and totally disorganised; on one day we waited 15 minutes for a table (and the dining area wasn't that busy...). Staff didn't really seem engaged or bothered - having stayed at other hotels in London this felt like customer service from 30 years ago.
This could be a good hotel with a fantastic building and great location - just a shame that attention to detail is so poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear macks,
we are sorry to read your feedback.
We would have loved to talk to you while staying with us and see in which way we could have improved your experience.
Regarding the room, for your next stay in London, we kindly invite you to reconsider our Hotel as you would be very happy in one of our Executive Rooms, we are convinced!
Morever, the free access to the private Lounge would add a great value to you, with a great relaxing area, complimentary breakfast and tapas from late afternoon, with personalized service all day long.

Please visit us at melia.com for the best rate available.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the Melia White House last week and was utterly disgusted. I am asthmatic so dust is an issue . My room costs $240 which is not cheap , there were stains in the carpet , the bathroom soap dishes were filthy and most of all if you smacked the bed covers or pillows dust would fly everywhere .I complained several times and asked to change rooms . They sent up three people to verify my complaint and then brought in the chambermaid and agreed that there was a problem But no resolution was forthcoming other than to offer a dust air purifier which was promised and never came the first day After complaining again it finally was put in for twenty minutes but did nothing . I asked to be moved but to not avail and then said I wanted to cancel my reservation and was told it was prpaid through expedia so I would need to deal with them.When I suggested that this was affecting my health they told me they did what they were expected to do and it was no longer their problem.Meanwhile I coughed my brains out for three days . Really , Melia? You guys cater to your guests?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear vickerage,
we are sincerely sorry to read your review as we constantly work to make all our clients very satisfied when they staying with us.
We were perfectly aware about your unhappiness as we have been in touch with you several times with the aim of looking after you personally.
Our Guest Experience, Housekeeping and Front Office teams did all was possible to accommodate you at the best, providing you daily with an extra cleaning of the room, refreshing the air with an additional system while you were not in, as well we have offered you at the beginning a room move which unfortunately you refused.
We are always very concerned about guests having special health requirements and we ensure you that you have been offered our very best extra service.
In the meantime, we are surprised about your comments as cleanness is one of our strongest points highlighted very often by our clients.
We apologise for the inconvenience caused and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again for your next visit in London.
Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was stopping on business and despite getting a really good rate the receptionist very kindly upgraded me to an executive room. The hotel is very well located close to two main tube stations so getting around is very easy. I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel but was immediately surprised by how friendly any of the staff were that I encountered, from check in to bellboys in the corridors - plenty of "hellos" and "can I help you" which is a nice touch.

The executive room has a lovely bug comfy bed and whilst the bathroom was fairly small it was adequate and with nice toiletries. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Tripadvisor and for recommending us to all!
We are pleased to read that your stay with us was enjoyable one and that we have met your expectations. We are very proud to hear such positive comments about our staff which we consider as the most important asset! We hope to welcome you again for business or for leisure trip, we will be delighted to accommodate you as per your preferences and please, don’t forget to try our Spanish Restaurant L´Albufera, awarded 2AA Rosettes, for fine dining Spanish Cuisine and extensive Spanish wine list!
Visit our website melia.com for booking your next stay at Melia White House and find out our special rates.
Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Melia White House is less than 100mtrs from the Great Portland Street Central Line Underground Tube Station (yellow on the Tube map).
The Shard- the tallest building in Europe was easily reached within 24 minutes along with all the attractions of London Bridge.
We stayed two nights.
The double bed was comfy albeit the room somewhat “tired” it was in the Art Deco style which was mirrored throughout the hotel.
The windows in the bedroom had a poor attempt of additional glazing to deflect the cold air from the steel Critall windows which resulted in severe condensation each morning.
The bathroom suffered from poor maintenance which showed in the lime-scale deposits on the black bathroom sanitary ware, particularly around the bath screen.
On the first evening we returned to the hotel to have a meal in the “Place Restaurant”.
The staff were unable to locate us as on the system in the room we had the card key for- We did not exist! It took some time to eventually establish that we were not ghosts and our viability confirmed, this did take the edge off the meal which was Mediterranean based.

The next morning we had three attempts at getting tea for breakfast, the first cup was cold, the second tasted of coffee and the third, a jug of tasted of coffee as well so we gave up!

- All in all a great pity as the staff tried to be helpful!

Room Tip: Request an up-grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear John H, thank you for sharing your feedback with us!
We are happy to read your good points about your experience at the Melia White House and we apologise for the inconveniences caused. We would love to welcome you back and invite you for a coffee! We hope to welcome you again soon and offer you our best service in occasion of your next stay with us!
Visit us at melia.com and don’t forget to discover our best rates for the Executive Level room with access to the Lounge!
Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

So Lastholidayvideo stayed here in the first week March. But have also stayed several times before over the last year. This hotel is about 200 yards from regents park tube or literally 50 yards, from Portland street station. Which is the only tube I know where they play music. The entrance and reception is pretty stunning. Very welcoming staff and always smiley. There is also a VIP check in further down the hallway. So after check in you approach the automatic lifts. You can't control these. You type in your floor level and it then indicates which lift will take you. So at this point all good. For me there are just a couple of things that let the hotel down. Unless you upgrade your room, you will get a reasonable size room, that has seen in Mose cases better days. The problem is the black and gold chic look. Some would say its still elegant. I'm not sure. However it is in keeping with the general theme of the hotel. Even the maids wear traditional starched uniforms. The bar is good and friendly and table service a must. I've never eaten in the restaraunt in the evening. So I go out to the traditional pub over the road, or there is a scala type Italian, which isn't bad. Quiet rooms and they are also very clean. So don't let my earlier comment put you off. Breakfast should be bought at check, otherwise its a bit more expensive. From memory I paid 18.95 for my full English. Which I think is a tad expensive. Food is ok, and sit near a window so you can watch the world go by. All in all, pleasant stay, hotel makes you feel special and they open doors for you.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastholidayvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to read that our staff services, the rooms as well as our location were to your satisfaction.
Our Hotel has a contemporary style and it has been partially refurbished in 2012. We recommend you for your next stay to try our The Level room which is more spacious which includes free access to our private Lounge.
Visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions!
See you soon and thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Melia Whitehouse for two nights.
The hotel is quite well located, just in front of the subway station of Great Portland St, two stations from St Pancras station, on the circle line.
The reception staff was very helpful, but when I arrived there were lots of people checking in and it took quite a long time. Apparently all the classic rooms were full ( what I had booked), and I was put in a superior room at no extra cost.I was told we were going to be transfered next day to a classic room. Next day it seems there were no free classic rooms, and after wainting for a while we were offered to stay in the superior room at no extra cost. Good,enough!
The room was very confortable, with all the nescessary amenities. There were a lot of intrnational tv channels ( not easy to find in other London hotels), including five or six in spanish, congratulations. The room service was good as well.
The staff was really nice and helpful, and my overall experience was very good. The price was convenient.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruselense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Happy to read you! Thank you sharing your experience on Tripadvisor!
For your next stay with us, we suggest you to try our Executive Room which includes unlimited access to our The Level Lounge for a more exclusive experience. As well, don’t forget to try our The Place Restaurant for casual dining with focus on Spanish & Global Flavours.
Visit our website melia.com for our special rates! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#254 of 1,088 in London
2,977 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing