We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog standard and immensly boring”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #295 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 2, 2013

A really sad and boring hotel with absolutely nothing going for it. Not bad in any way but immensly boring. Decent distance to Oxford Circus but thats about it. Bog standard in all respects. Absolutely no reason to choose this hotel unless you are a spanish weekend tourist I guess.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor!
We are sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We consider Melia White House as a contemporary hotel suitable for every need and seeking to improve our services day by day.
Please follow us at www.melia.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,896)
There are newer reviews for Melia White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,668 - 2,674 of 6,900 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stopped at this hotel for 16 nights while I was on a business trip. We were supposed to be in a superior room which is (quote) "significantly larger" than the normal room, but the room could best be described as "cozy" (I would have hated to see the smaller room). Having said that, the room was generally nice and well-appointed. Our major complaint about the room was the incredibly poor mattress. I like firm but this was ridiculous. The mattress/pillow combination gave my wife a sore neck for some time afterwards. if the mattress was better, the room would have been nice. Also, maid service could be a little irregular - some days the room was cleaned properly, other days not...but a minor niggle only.
Facilities at the hotel were good, staff in general helpful and courteous (although it helps to be able to speak Spanish here as that's where all the staff seem to be from!!). breakfast selection was excellent, although the size of the hotel meant that it was often crowded.
Best thing about the hotel is location - only 10-15min walk from Oxford street, right next to Regents Park and literally across the street from Great Portland St underground. So relatively good value for money in London, based on this.
Once they change the mattresses, I would be happy to stay there again.....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Follies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend in a standard room. Like others have commented these rooms are pretty small but have everything you need - tea/coffee making facilities, iron and board, toiletries etc. Large bed that was a bit hard but no problem sleeping and not woken up by noise in or outside the hotel. Breakfast was good, wide variety including omelettes cooked to order, just no black pudding! Good location near regents park and 2 minutes from Great Portland street tube. We also walked to Oxford street, 10/15 mins. We regularly take breaks in similar class hotels in London, although there was nothing to complain about (except queues at reception) the hotel didn't wow us, we would however stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Jules,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the service during your stay and it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team in the Melia hotel. We always looking forward to Welcome you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We hadn't been to the Melia for a few years as we like to try out different hotels in the city when we come to stay. Its proximity to the tube/Oxford Street is fabulous and there are lots of shops and bars near to the hotel. On arrival at check-in we mentioned we had just got married and we were upgraded to a Superior room. The room and its facilities were just as we remembered - nice and spacious with a huge bed plus seating area. After an afternoon in London we returned to our room to find a complimentary bottle of cava and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries, with a handwritten note from the hotel welcoming us! This was such a lovely touch. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so memorable. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear JTot,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind comments about Melia White House Hotel. We delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, as well as your continued loyalty to our hotel. It s always an honour to read how much you enjoyed the service during your stay and it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team in the Melia hotel. We truly hope to welcome you back again at the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel over 20 times now, it's a middle of the rd hotel. Rooms are very clean only one small problem for the ladies take hair conditioner with you they don't supply it in the rooms.
The best thing about this hotel is the location and price, you are smack bang centre of London so you can go either way Notting hill or covent garden it's perfect, also the price of the hotel is great. Never eaten there as the money I save from the hotel I spend in good restaurants. The bar staff are very friendly. The concierge are also very good. Mini bar prices are high.
All in all I wouldn't stay any were else for the price or the location and the friendly staff. Good job.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!
We are delighted that your experience at Melia White was an enjoyable one. Our suggestion for your next stay with us is to try one of our restaurants: The Place with open buffet with Mediterranean tastes and The Albufera for a la carte menu for a different experience.

We hope to welcome you again back to Melia White House soon! Like our page on Facebook at Melia White House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here on the the 23rd of Feb! Didnt have to wait long to check in. Room was very clean and tidy. Huge comfy bed and T.V. Brilliant location and near a tube station. Tasty breakfast and the staff couldn't do enough for you! Check out was also very quick. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parker_girl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Parker,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about the Hotel Team it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team. We naturally want to be perfect and very keen when guests leave the hotel with warm memories. We always looking forward to welcome you back again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a classic room for one night and had read reviews about small rooms however we were kindly upgraded to superior room which was lovely and spacious and very comfortable. Very clean bathroom with nice big bath and accessories.
The hotel is few minutes walk from tube and 15 minute walk from Oxford street. It is also overlooking regents park so very good location.
I would have given hotel 5 out 5 however the breakfast let the hotel down. The choice is good but it was only lukewarm and cold by time I had finished. The tea was also cold and the replacement was only slightly better. I see this has been commented on before and a shame nothing has changed. All in all would choose to stay here again. Staff very courteous and helpful and a pleasure to be a guest

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BournemouthBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We always appreciate all feedback and it is particularly warming to hear that we have given our guests the experience we set out to give. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Melia White House Hotel. You can always find our best offers and special promotions on our website melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#332 of 1,072 in London
3,170 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $166 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing