We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, good location but let down badly by the accommodation.”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #294 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location is very convenient, 5 minutes from the underground, 15 minutes walk maximum from Euston rail station and walking distance from the shops of Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street. Despite the proximity to a major road it is very quiet. The reception staff were very welcoming, helpful and professional, as were the staff in the bar, where I had a snack. The food that I had was average - edible but partly cold and congealed as it had been carried through from some seemingly distant kitchen somewhere. I remain confused by the hotel style, large spaces in the public ground floor areas and mixture of styles, partly refurbished but partly slightly shabby. I guess the price I paid was acceptable for London but even so my room was very disappointing indeed - shabby, worn in places, double bed was two beds pushed together and with no attempt to disguise the ridge between the two. Again, the decor style - even the less worn bits - was strange. It was quiet though. I did not have breakfast at £25! I can think of places with a much better ambience for the same price or less so, I'm afraid, cannot recommend this one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Amanda,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. I am delighted you had an overall enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind comments about the Reception Team it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team. Please do accept our apologies for the temperature of the food you have ordered, it is certainly not what you have come to expect from us. We genuinely appreciate all your comments as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is highly maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,810 - 2,816 of 7,145 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Melia White House in Janaury. My room was disappointing - the bathroom was freezing, and I could feel the springs on my hard bed. Also, the heater was very loud. I probably should have asked for an upgrade but as I was there for only two nights I didn't complain. I booked this room through expedia as a package and did not pay very much for the room. The hotel is in a great location, adjacent to Regent's Park, and right on a tube stop (the hotel is one block from the Great Portland Street station). I would stay here again but would ask for a room on The Level. Wifi was free and worked great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on The Level. They look upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amaryllis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations regarding the room comfort in your last stay with us.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Rest assured that your feedback has been already passed to our Rooms Division Manager to ensure that our high standards are maintained.

We remain at your complete disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here before, and never disapointed. As a Spanish run hotel, it does attract a lot of Spanish, which is great, it actually feels like you're away.
We'd booked "The Level" executive rooms, and as a Gold MAS reward holder we got moved up to a suite, which, as we were staying 6 nights, was really good.
"The Level" has access to a private bar, restaurant and breakfast area, open all day, and with complementary drinks and tapas from 6pm to 10pm.
At the bottom of Regents park, it's perfectly placed to walk to Oxford street, and a short trip to Camden, Primrose Hill etc.

We'll be back....

Room Tip: A bit noisey at the front (especially as it's near a hospital), so although the view is better a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear AndrewJBell,


Thank you for taking the time to leave such warm feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the service and recognition of the hotel location which is just few minutes away from the city centre. It will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team in the Melia hotel. We always looking forward to Welcome you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As long as you do not go for their tea (dishwater quality, atrocious) at breakfast you might enjoy the hotel. The breakfast is sumptuous though cooked ham and cured poultry as standard components for a continental are missing. While I enjoyed an upgrade I did not enjoy my neighbour singing in his bathroom in the morning (Britain might have got talents, but not this one). Altogether I had the feeling that the room could have been brighter with a more powerful (free) WLAN. The bathroom was okay, but the cleaners overdid it in the bathtub (rests of the cleaning stuff "on the ground"). The staff was efficient and pleased to help. You will enjoy a bike docking station, bus stops, Great Portland Street underground [be aware of the steps, so heavily loaded take a bus to King's X first] next to the hotel,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flugwiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
The comments as well as the observations and feelings of our guests are of great importance to us, as we count on those in order to achieve the highest level of service possible.
We are sorry to see that our breakfast did not meet your expectations this time,aswe work to canstantly improve our services.

We remain at your complete disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lucky enough to get Melia White House through lastminute's 'Top Secret' hotels deal while travelling for work.
Beautiful room, excellent location, very friendly welcome, free wifi, great choice of breakfast buffet: the perfect overnight stay.
So perfect that I was disappointed not to get to stay another night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear laurmurf ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the Melia experience during your stay and it will be a pleasure to share your kind feedback with the rest of the team in the Melia hotel. We always looking forward to Welcome you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A brief review because my experience echoes quite a few comments from recent tripadvisor reviews. I haven't stayed in this hotel for about 10 years until a recent return visit, and the decor of my room - whilst in generally good repair - certainly felt like it was 10 years old and in need of updating/refreshing. Loads of dark wood everywhere, and though windows ran the length of one wall they were quite shallow, looking onto other buildings, and so the room was a bit gloomy. Fairly tired fixtures and fittings and, yes, a little bit dusty feeling too. Those are all negatives, but on the upside the room was a good size, comfortable and well equipped, and essentials like a good bed, free wifi, heating/ventilation and a good supply of hot water in the bathroom were all in place. The location is slightly odd I think - right on the Circle and District line and 10 minutes on foot to Euston station, 15 minutes to Oxford St, but although well connected it feels slightly in the middle of nowhere somehow - the immediate area is not a very appealing or buzzy one. Staff were friendly and welcoming. So the sum total is a "good" and comfortable hotel that is well worth considering if you get an attractive rate. It would suit business people and tourists who were out and about in London, but it doesn't have the feel of luxury or being anything particularly special - certainly not a destination hotel in its own right. Maybe once its had an overhaul and modernisation.

Room Tip: From some photos there are clearly some brighter and more modern rooms than the wood panelled, dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Scotsmantravelling ,


Thank you for reviewing your experience following you recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel. We are very pleased with the warm comment about our staff and it will be a pleasure to share this with the rest of Melia team. We naturally want to be perfect and very keen when guests leave the hotel with warm memories. I hope we will have the opportunities to welcome you back to the hotel in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Check in easy and efficient, with friendly staff who are keen to ensure you enjoy your stay. We were offered a complimentary upgrade, which is just a larger bed but it was a nice little bonus. Room large and confortable with all the facilities you would expect e.g. tea and coffee making facilities, iron and board etc. Bathroom tiny but has everything you need, including hairdryer and toiletries. No dressing gown or slippers though. A pleasant surprise was that the windows opened wide, most hotels nowadays have sealed units so you don't get any fresh air into the room. Nice bar for a nightcap and a very good singer/piano player providing entertainment. Good selection of food for breakfast and plenty of it, so no queuing for replenishments. Good location for most visitor attractions in and around central London. This was a return visit and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capitalcountdowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

I would like to thank you, have taken the time to write your feedback in tripadvisor.com.
we are happy to hear that you appreciate our live entertainment and specially our staff.

It is thanks to your comments we are able to continue our improvements.
we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#293 of 1,078 in London
1,371 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#213 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $144 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing