We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great London break base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #92 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great London break base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel very carefully for my husbands 50th birthday treat. We had dinner booked at Le Gavroche so the hotel needed to be right.

We got an excellent deal and although the room was a bit on the small side everything was excellent and we were not disappointed.

The service was good, and particularly so from reception which was exceptional.

Great choice at breakfast and a treat for hubbys birthday waiting on arrival was a nice touch.

Thanks to all for helping to make it such a memorable celebration. I'd certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,600
    889
    226
    92
    33
See reviews for
831
1,760
171
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Staff are so helpful & pleasant. The food in The Library restaurant was excellent and we had a free glass of champagne too. The location is spot on. Victoria Station just around the corner and Buckingham Palace a short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlesisterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Victoria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Travelling from Australia to London, our first stop was The Rubens. We arrived at the hotel early to drop off our bags, as our flight landed at 5.30am and the hotel had offered to store them for us. We were very impressed when, on our (8am) arrival, we were kindly offered a courtesy room which we could use until our rooms were ready. We were also offered beverages and cookies which were delivered directly to our room. All staff we encountered were a credit to the hotel. Whether it was the reception staff, the doormen, the concierge or the staff in the dining room (we had breakfasts and dinners in the hotel), the general attitude and aptitude was exemplary. My thanks to Malcolm Hendry, the hotel manager, for organising our accommodation via email in the months leading up to our holiday. We received exactly what had been promised and it was a great start to our holiday in the UK. The position of the hotel is adjacent to the Royal Mews, and only a short walk from Buckingham Palace. Good shopping to be found and only a 10 minute walk to the Coach Station where we took a tour of London from. Overall, a fantastic position.

Room Tip: If you require interconnecting/family rooms, contact Malcolm Hendry, the Hotel Manager directly via...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My cousin and I were visiting Buckingham Palace and Clarence House so the location of this hotel was excellent. It was just a stone's throw from Victoria underground so easy to get to. The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Nathan on the door. We ate in the Carvery on two evenings where service was good and food was fine although not stunning.

We had a lovely stay at the Rubens - there was only one downside. I had booked directly with the hotel and had an email stating the room rate. However when we arrived at the hotel I was informed the room rate would be over £40 more per night as the original quote had not included VAT. This is misleading but was the only flaw in our stay at the Rubens

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall but was concerned to read your comment with regards the VAT being added onto your rate on check-out. Until the end of 2012 it was customary in London to quote hotel room rates excluding VAT and excluding breakfast, but new laws that came into effect at the beginning of 2013 now require all rates to be quoted including VAT. Having traced when your reservation was made, it appears that this was still during the time when rates on our reservations system were inputted excluding VAT. The issue you encountered on check-out seems to have been caused by your room rate not being converted correctly to a VAT inclusive rate when the system was changed over at the beginning of the year. I have now taken this issue back to my IT team, in order for them to investigate it further. Please be assured that the additional amount you paid on check-out has now been refunded to your credit card and accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in person in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having done a lot of travel, I have stayed in many hotels; but rarely have I experienced the quality of hospitality and attention to detail that we experienced recently at The Rubens at the Palace. You will be pampered and treated like you are one of the Royal Family that live right across the street. It's a great location directly across the street from the Royal Mews and the grounds of Buckingham Palace. We stayed in a King Room with Royal Mews View on the 4th floor and it was perfect - virtually no noise and great view of any activity at the Mews. The bedding and linens were luxurious! Great Breakfast included - full buffet.

Room Tip: 4th floor had virtually no street noise even though we faced the street. Reserved the King room rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. Very nice, typical English hotel. We had the Sandringham suite which overlooked the street. The room was large by European standards. The bed was huge with lovely bedding. The wallpaper was fabric. There is a big, beautiful TV in this suite. The bathroom was big with plenty of space. The room was a little over crowded with too much furniture. We were very comfortable there though. Ms. Wong in reception was very nice. The concierge helped with phone calls, reservations, theatre tickets. They were outstanding! The entire staff were the nicest we have encountered in all our travels. The breakfast was so-so. Everyone on Tripadvisor loves their breakfast, so maybe it was just us. However, the service in the restaurant was perfect. We also had a dinner in the Cutlery which was very nice. They had roast beef and roast pork. I had the pork with applesauce and it was like home cooked. We would definitely stay here again. One thing that surprised me was to find that "41" hotel was right next door. There are only 27 rooms but it rates very high on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Royal Mews on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judyumcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, that you found the location superb, and that you were particularly impressed with the Sandringham Suite. I was also delighted to read that you found your carvery meal to be delicious and my entire staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. I have passed your kind words on to my team, in particular to Psyche Wong on Reception, who was thrilled to hear them.

With regards your comment on our breakfast, it is disappointing to read that our offering fell short of your expectations. We receive so many positive comments from our guests regarding the variety of choice offered on our breakfast buffet. From Continental and healthy breakfast options, such as cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, cereals, granola and pastries, to the full cooked breakfast, my Executive Chef ensures everything is freshly prepared and of the highest quality.

I hope that to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights @ the Rubens hotel-great location for weekend stay in London-very convenient for Victoria Station. Easy to get to theatre land. Evening meal was excellent & cannot fault the staff at all-all very helpful especially Adele the night manager. Had very good deal pricewise. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#200 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#37 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing