We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

In the very heart of London, the Rubens hotel is just steps away from Buckingham and St James Palaces. With Westminster to the southwest and the British Museum/LSE area to the northeast, you can easily access any part of central London in a scenic walk of fewer than 20 minutes. Piccadilly is probably a six-minute walk across the parks at Buckingham Palace. So everything is all very accessible, and the location generally couldn't be better.

The rooms were impeccably cleaned and maintained.

And the staff here are uniquely the best I've met anywhere: always ready to help, always smiling, always insightful and pleasant. Each and every one of them is.

A confusion at the beginning of our stay regarding the adjacency of our two rooms resulted in a chain of correspondence with the hotel staff, but they took care of this very well and made sure that we were comfortable.

At the first floor is a computer with a printer, and each desk in the rooms features a well-maintained supply of office supplies—the best I've seen anywhere—, in case you need them.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a group of four, I would recommend booking a junior suite over two individua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgeek222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,512 - 2,518 of 4,411 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for a location that allows you to see many of the sights while walking, A boutique type hotel with fine dining and a wonderful staff then you need to stay at the Rubens at the Palace. They are a caring staff that looks after your every need. Whether you need a flat iron or loss your stuffed animal. They go the extra mile. Mark especially made us feel wanted and that he truly felt badly when we left.
Ray and Ginger Sillari

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great hotel that is convenient to many tourist attractions .It is across the road from Buckingham Palace .When you finish your ample breakfast you can take a walk and see the changing of the Guard.Then take a walk to Saint James Park. It is a 20 minute walk to Westminster Abbey. If you want public transportation Victoria Station is a 5 minute walk. There are the double decker buses that will take you anywhere. We opted for the daily pass.
The rooms are good size with large baths.

The rooms are well lit.The bed was comfortable. There are many categories of rooms so do your homework.

The staff is very helpful.Joao the concierge is very helpful.Frank the waiter in the bar/restaurant made our dining and drinking experience memorable.Try the fish and chips you will not be disappointed.They also have a good wine selection.We gave Tasca a Tapas restaurant a try as well Santini (Italian) .Both within walking distance.We were not disappointed.

The hotel is around the corner from the Theater where Billy Elliot was playing.Tip, get tickets at the box office for the best price.

There is construction in the area. It will not affect any views from your room if you are on the main road side of the hotel.The windows are sound proofed so noise is not a factor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bartab59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just got home from a marvelous celebration of our 50th Wedding Anniversary in London which included a wonderful stay at the Rubens. The location is perfect. We did a great deal of walking and it was extremely convenient. The service at the hotel was beyond what we expected. When we arrived, there was a special cake and card in our room. We were so happy with the way each person on staff helped us and made sure we knew where to go and how. We felt like they had known us for years. The breakfasts were awesome. We had the pre-theater meal one evening and it was wonderful. We love the intimacy of the hotel and we had an opportunity to meet people from all over the world. The room was a bit small but we expected that in Europe. We loved the plush towels and very comfortable bed. This is a very unique and delightful hotel. We would definitely go back should we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andlau_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I was particularly pleased to read that you had a wonderful 50th Wedding Anniversary at The Rubens and that my team played a part in making this a memorable occasion. I was equally delighted to learn that the service you received from my staff exceeded your expectations. As a boutique hotel, we take great pride in the intimate and more personalised atmosphere we aim to create, which sets us apart from many larger hotels. Getting to know our guests and their preferences is of great importance to us, as we strive to provide an environment that feels just like home for them. Your positive comments show that my staff’s hard work is appreciated, which is the best possible reward for them. They were thrilled to hear your feedback when I passed this on to them.

Thank you once again for your kind comments, and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is an outstanding Hotel. I was in room 412 that I had a view of the Mews behind Buckingham Palace. Service is excellent, clean and very helpful staff. Marching, from Poland, always gave me good directions and never got me lost. The Breakfast is exceptional with a wide assortment. This is a 5 star place. Bed comfortable with 4 large pillows, king size bed and nice size room. Just within a block of the main hub Victoria Station for underground and about 4 blocks from coach station for bus trips. Quiet location. Historical Pub, Bag of Nails across street on corner has good beer and food. Ryan's Hair in next block across street is also good. Had a cut and color by Gabrieal and she did an excellent job. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Rubens. We had booked with our travel agent and we were not aware that we would be staying in the King Suite, which was very large and very nice. I have to say that it is the nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in. We absolutely loved this hotel! It was very clean. All of the positive comments about the staff are true because they are extremely nice and helpful. One morning, we left the hotel, walked to the corner and looked at our map. We turned around and a staff member was behind us. He saw us and wanted to make sure that we knew where we were going! I also agree with the recent reviewer about the location. The location is perfect! It truly is about a 5 minute walk or less to the Buckingham Palace Gates. If staying, I would suggest going to the The Victoria Palace Theatre which is a 5 minute walk. We took an Evan Evans 1 day tour and we were the last hotel pick up point in the morning and dropped off after the tour at Victoria Station which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. This made the day more enjoyable. We had afternoon tea at the hotel which I would recommend. During our visit, we had no problems with the Internet. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakingATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel met my preconceived notion of England-- manners, polite and helpful.

The front desk staff was helpful.
The concierge was amazing-- good restaurant suggestions (don't know where families eat in London, but our son seemed to be the only child most of the time we were eating) and booked fabulous tickets for a show.
A doorman who had patience with our son who loved to open the doors the wrong way.

Our room was tight. We had an executive King with 2 parents and an 11 year old. I can not imagine doing this size room with 3 adults or a young child. Storage for our clothes and luggage was dismal. The closet space was okay, but no drawers of real size for folded clothes, socks and underclothes.

We had a room facing the courtyard so it was quiet. When the curtains were open, it was bright and airy. Room was clean. I had them change everything from down to hypo-allergenic and it was done quickly.

Rubens had an amazing location. It is 2 blocks from Victoria Station and lots of bus routes. There is a small mall a block away with some decent restaurants, ATM machines and a pharmacy-- helpful since I got a head cold on day 2 of our vacation. We walked to Wicked and spent our last day walking to, around and home from Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#227 of 1,081 in London
4,474 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,081 in London
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,800 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $232 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing