We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only a one night stay would have liked to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #85 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only a one night stay would have liked to stay longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A very nice hotel all staff were very polite and friendly. Our room was very quiet which made for a good nights sleep.When we arrived we were asked if it was for a special occasion by the very nice Marta when my husband told Marta it was my 65th birthday she wished us a happy stay within minutes of us getting into our room ther was a knock on the door by a porter with a birthday card and a box of biscuits which went very nice wuth a cup of tea we had just made. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and had breakfast which were all very nice l

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,730
    933
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
883
1,845
180
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

What an experience! The service is so excellent! Rooms are very comfortable, classy and technologically equipped. And the bars are amazing, from the Champagnerie to the Lobby Bar, offering exclusive cocktails and tasty snacks. I don't have any negative note on this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I really liked the bar - I found the cocktails good.The service was generally good, but a bit mixed depending on times of day. Breakfast staff were not hugely attentive or friendly, but concierge and waiters were really lovely. The room was a little bit dated, and small, but it was very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra_CJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nothing but good things to say about The Rubens. On a weeklong family holiday in early April we found friendly staff who were eager to greet us and assist in any way. Our room was clean and attractive, with international wall sockets to make phone recharging easy. One of the guest service managers, Janine, was particularly wonderful, helping us overcome a delivery error by an Oyster card vendor and following up with us throughout our visit. She was also very personable, a characteristic the entire staff appears to share. Can’t say enough about our visit to The Rubens!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our last trip to London was before Christmas 2012. It was awesome, the hotel was decorated beautifully for the season. All the staff in a festive mood. The weather was perfectly cold. There were little tasty Christmas treats left each night by our bedside. Each visit to the Rubens has been special.

I have stayed by myself at the Rubens once, while waiting to meet up with my husband who was returning from Afghanistan. I felt safe and well taken care of until he arrived. So if you are a single woman, I think this would be a good choice for a hotel in London.

We are planning a trip with friends next year, and are looking forward to introducing them to the Rubens on their first visit to England.

No doubt we would recommend the Rubens to any of our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Debra,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you hope to return to The Rubens with your friends. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback. Comments like yours are the best reward for my team.

I was particularly pleased to read that you felt safe and well looked after by my team when staying with us on your own. Here at The Rubens, the wellbeing and safety of our guests is paramount to us, regardless of whether they travel with someone or on their own. We understand that for women travelling alone, personal safety and comfort may be even more important, and we are therefore committed to creating an environment that caters for that. From well situated rooms on higher floors with door locking facility on the inside, right down to a female service staff and additional lighting in rooms, our aim is to ensure that The Rubens provides the comfort and safety of a home.

Thank you once again for your kind comments, and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I did not stay at The Rubens but a large group of us went for high tea there recently. We were greeted warmly at the main entrance, our coats and packages were taken and we were shown to our large table for tea immediately. The Rubens may not be the fanciest or most lavish, but the service was excellent and the sandwiches and pastries were lovely. It was a nice experience for all of us and I would definitely go back as the price was also very good for high tea in London. You can certainly spend more and probably get more, but The Rubens did a great job at an excellent price. Make sure to ask about the service charge for larger parties - I felt as though they certainly deserved it as serving 9 people is a lot of work, but make sure to ask.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoozNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband, 13-year old son and I visited the Rubens over Easter break. The hotel staff was very warm and helpful. Though we were in a suite, I would have considered it a room with a pullout bed from the couch. The bathroom was quite large compared to the size of the room. All that said it was comfy and well equipped with a ipod dock to boot. The breakfast was included and had a great variety of hot and cold food.

As for location, it is literally overlooking the Royal Mews, and is around the corner from the Goring (Kate's pre-wedding hotel) and Westminister Abbey and Cathedral.

Room Tip: sorry...i couldnt unclick the pool. i dont think there was one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reyesvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#187 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,766 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing