We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location the rooms are old fashioned.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Westminster)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£50 Credit - Book Direct!
Ranked #79 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
el dorado hills
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location the rooms are old fashioned.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Tube. The staff were very polite and professional.

The rooms are clean nice but so ugly!!! We had a room that looked like a flower shop had thrown up everywhere and all the walls were padded. Nice bathroom great air-con, nice breakfast if its free as £19.50 is very expensive for egg on toast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guernseyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was glad to learn that you liked the location of the hotel and that you found my team very polite and professional, and I am aware that you did have a lot of contact with my team, and particularly with my Guest Services Manager during your time here. However, I was concerned to read that you disliked the decor of your room. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation with different styles of decor and colour schemes. Please feel free to make the request to avoid rooms with a particular decor known to the Reservations team when making bookings, and they will be more than happy to assist.

I was also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our breakfast offering. We receive so many positive comments from our guests about our breakfast buffet being great value, as it offers a variety of options from Continental breakfast selections, such as cheeses, yogurts, cereals, fruits and pastries, to a full cooked English breakfast. Eggs are cooked to order, ensuring that they are exactly to your liking and of highest quality.

I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,411
    824
    213
    83
    26
See reviews for
765
1,612
155
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay at the Rubens. Lovely hotel, 5 minute walk from Victoria - great location. The staff are excellent. Nice to see the same faces each day rather than new staff every shift. The hotel is smallish and the lift is tiny. The rooms are well appointed with good lighting, very comfortable bed, tea, coffee, water etc. Good range of channels on the tv. The only "bad" thing is the creaky floorboards. I was scared to get up early for fear of waking anyone below or beside my room. I know it is an old building but something could be done to stop them making so much noise! Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and we ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and had the buffet - again excellent. A very enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: The rooms are small - ask for a biggish room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMissingLink66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary with a first time trip to Europe. From the moment we arrived at The Rubens we were treated with such friendliness, courtesy, and professionalism. I have never experience such incredible service! They all take their jobs very seriously and are dedicated to make sure your experience at their hotel is excellent! We were always greeted with a friendly smile as we walked in, especially by Bogden who was extremely helpful in telling us how to get around the city. Janine was lovely and surprised is with a delicious anniversary dessert. We also had afternoon their afternoon tea and it was wonderful! I cannot say enough good things about the staff at The Rubens to do them justice!

The hotel itself was warm and welcoming as well. It was very clean and the location was perfect! Just a few minutes walk to Buckingham Palace and many other places of interest. The only negative thing was the our room was TINY! There was no place to unpack and put our things away, but the building is old and that's to be expected. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a junior suite on the fourth floor for three nights. Here are the best components of the room:
King-size bed - excellent; so comfortable
Bathroom - large and clean; super bath towels; magnifying, lighted make-up mirror
Decor - lovely furniture; lots of mirrors; large desk
Windows - when closed, kept out all noise; thick drapes kept out all ambient light

We also had a wonderful beef tenderloin dinner for two in one of the restaurants, and we enjoyed the lovely lounge area for drinks.

The staff here is super nice and trained to help with your requests or questions. We enjoyed this hotel very much and found the staff to be top-notch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chgoblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
197 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Rubens and the best yet. The staff is outstanding and service is excellent. We arrived early and our room was made available. Bogdon and Alex were so helpful in helping us learn to go on the tube and constantly giving directions. Beginning the second day some of the staff started calling us by name and by the time we left it seemed like family. Janene, the Guest Services Manager, went out of her way when we had an issue with our room and immediately resolved the matter. Overall this is the best hotel service we have had.

The location is amazing five minutes from the changing of the guard and five minutes to Victoria Station the main hub for bus and tube travel. The breakfast buffet has a good variety. We plan on a return trip and staying here at The Rubens!

Room Tip: Higher floors are recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TWB2006SSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights in April this year. The location cannot be faulted. The main dissapointment was the room. Although an upgraded double it was so small that unpacking wasnt possible. No drawer space at all exists in the room and so we were forced to live out of suitcases. Barely room for two people to pass anywhere. Rest of the hotel is just average. Nothing here to ever make us want to return. Expected more for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the size of your room and the decor in the hotel. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation with varying storage arrangements. Please feel free to make any requests for a larger room with more storage known to my reservations team when making bookings, and they will be more than happy to assist.

I am sorry that the overall the decor and style of the hotel was not to your taste but hope that this did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to this hotel. From the minute we arrived to our departure we benefited from the best customer service from all staff we have ever experienced in a hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. They all clearly took a pride in their work and their aim was to ensure you had the most enjoyable stay. Through Marta, the Guest services manager, the reception staff, concierge, bar/ restaurant and housekeeping staff each one created a truly personal, home from home experience. Our room, on the first floor, overlooked Buckingham Palace Mews. Ideally located, to the right out of the hotel it is just a short walk round the corner to see the "changing of the guard" at Buckingham Palace, and to the left, a short walk to Westminster Cathedral, two theatres and Victoria Main line and Underground stations. The food was excellent, with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner. Given our experience this is now our first choice accommodation for hotel stays in London and they have created service and cleanliness standards that other hotels should strive to match.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnBer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#19 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#175 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,013 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#33 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing