We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #91 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Location is strategic, less than 5 minutes walking from Victoria Station ( Gatwick Express, Bus from and to Stansted ), is the closest Hotel in London to Buckingham Palace.
Comfortable and well equipped rooms, ideal for both leisure and business travellers, high quality of food, served in style; the main strength of the Rubens is the Excellent personalized Service and an high Sense of Hospitality from all the staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,700
    927
    227
    95
    34
See reviews for
871
1,828
177
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catlin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second stay at the Rubens, both with a grandson, aged 12. The location is exceptional .. on Buckingham Palace Road, steps away from the front gates of the Palace, and, in the other direction, a short walk to Victoria Station, where the Tube, bus lines, and railway are all easily accessible. The hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained, and the staff is sterling -- friendly, accommodating, efficient. The full English breakfast in a gorgeous breakfast room is not to be missed. Our rate, although pricey, included full breakfast every morning. Little, personal touches abound, e.g. we woke up Easter morning to find a lovely packet of foil candy eggs tied to our door handle!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'm overdue in writing this review, but I haven't forgotten my experiences with The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in London. My first visit was last summer (2012) for a week, just before the Olympic games were to begin. The hotel was recommended to me by a girlfriend who had stayed there with her husband and two daughters a couple of years before. This time, I was traveling with my 13-year old son as we began our 4-week tour of Europe. My second visit in December 2012 was also with my son. We returned to see more of London and to enjoy the comforts of The Rubens at the Palace.

The hotel staff was exceptional. Reservations were made online and communications were speedy, efficient and polite as only the British can be. Upon arrival, our room was always ready and waiting. We had enjoyed our room on our first trip so much that we requested it again and we were accommodated. The room was small but charming, not unusual in Europe, but we had plenty of room and the suitcases tucked away nicely under the two twin beds. We had an ample bathroom with wonderful amenities, the soaps and shampoos, all the usual. Best of all, we had a view of the Royal Mews, the Queen's stable... no, there was no smell of horses... just the lovely atmosphere and proximity to Buckingham Palace. Bedding was comfy, the TV had lots of choices even though we watched it only a little, and the closet was plenty for two people.

The location is wonderful for seeing all the most important sites and the hotel concierges couldn't be better in arranging tickets, transportation, anything at all. Each concierge that I dealt with had a delightful personality unique to themselves, wonderful humor and a genuine sense of enjoying their guests. The hotel restaurant puts on a great morning buffet with plenty of choices for the American or British appetite. Many of the days we were there, breakfast was included in our package, but when not, there is a deli just a few doors down that serves a decent and inexpensive as well. The neighborhood is safe and one can easily walk to Westminster Abbey or Parliament from the hotel.

All in all, I would recommend Rubens At The Palace to anyone who likes a B & B feeling with full-service hotel amenities. If it's your first time in London, this is the place to be! It is the ONLY hotel we will stay in for our future visits. Hope to see you there one day!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Royal Mews have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in a 1-bedroom apartment at the Catherine Place Apartment for a week and absolutely loved it. It's a duplex apartment with a cosy living room, comfortable toilet, and a well-stocked kitchen. We loved the 'antique' look that was carefully created with lovely old books and artefacts in the living room, counterbalanced with modern appliances and comforts including heating/air-conditioning and all the Sky Chanels one could ask for. However, the fabric sofa cushions could do with a bit of an uplift - they felt too squashed and a bit worn down.

The plush Penhaligons toiletries and hand soap/lotion in the kitchen were thoughtful touches, as was the welcome basket stocked with M&S preserves, Whittard coffee, and hot chocolate sachets. The bed on the upper level was comfortable, and the second TV in the bedroom was a bonus. Bear in mind that the bedroom itself is rather small and could barely accommodate the queen-sized bed without much walking room.

A huge plus was the daily room service that was offered, which was top-notch and very professional. The apartment also has an excellent location - a few minutes walk from Buckingham Palace, Victoria Station and the stop for the hop-on-hop off busses. Overall, a fantastic place to stay if you find hotel rooms to be poky and would like a bit more of a home away from a home experience. It was too cold for us to enjoy the terrace, but I'm sure it would be lovely in warmer weather.

The only minor downside was the extensive construction work presently taking place in one of the flats, which could get noisy in the mornings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akaur5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Met up with family for a short theatre break. The hotel was chosen for its location close to the theatre but we shall certainly return again - The Rubens is run as a hotel ought to be run.
The room was smallish but the furnishings beautiful. We enjoyed the early pre- theatre carvery which was well done and an excellent find if you are off to the theatre and wish to eat early.
But the stand-out feature if this hotel was the superb service and attentive and friendly staff. They were really really good and I would highly recommend them and this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the weekend before Xmas with no complaints at all not even a little niggle, rooms very modern and very smart and clean, sparkling bathroom and a shower to die for. 2 min walk from the tube, and walking distance from a few of Londons main attractions, great atmosphere in the bar/restaurant, definitely value for money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bridgend350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our Family visited the Rubens at the Palace for three nights during March Break. We took advantage of 3 nights for the price of 2 and really splurged and booked the King's Suite. It was awesome. Our 8 and 11 year olds loved having the living room with the bed and pull out couch to themselves, and my wife and I enjoyed the extra large bedroom with a canopy bed, excellent en suite facilities, and large closets. The service at the Rubens was outstanding. In particular, assistant manager Marta was extremely attentive and made the extra effort to make our stay memorable -- like getting a signed photo from the cast of Wicked which we loved. The concierage Dave was also very helpful. Finally, the food at the Rubens, at the Master Carvery, was very good. Breakfasts with the variety of eggs from Lukas were a special treat and the dinner buffet of carved lamb and beef and the well prepared veggies while not creatively presented were delicious to eat. The location of the Rubens was very convenient, close to Buckingham Palace and all its associated pomp in the immediate area, and a lovely short walk along St. James Park to Westminister Abbey, Big Ben, the Churchill War Rooms, and even to the gruesomely awesome London Dungeon. We will return

Room Tip: King's Suite is large and perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#27 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#174 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#7 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#39 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing