We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great room - The Master Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #81 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great room - The Master Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. Conveniently located near Victoria Station. The Master Suite is top notch. Like many typical London hotels, all overpriced for what you get. The room service was great. Unlike its sister hotel, The Chesterfield no gaming consoles provided for kids.

Room Tip: Master Suite otherwise the rooms are compact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seedat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,462
    844
    215
    86
    26
See reviews for
786
1,646
160
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is really a very nice place to stay in London! Everyone ~ and I mean Everyone!! was so very nice and helpful! It was a great first experience in London ~ they did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and helped us with all aspects of our experience. I needed an opinion on where to exchange money ~ no prob! We needed directions ~ no prob! They stored our luggage until time for checkin and we were able to have coffee in the lobby bar without any room to charge it to and it was no prob!! It was a very busy time for this Hotel during the Christmas season ~ but that did not decrease the service that we received. I wish that I remembered every name of each person that helped up enjoy our stay ~ but, I would be safe to say that everyone was great!! Very very upscale property! If you enjoy quality ~ you will enjoy this Hotel~the bed is a marshmallow of comfort!! Bathroom very nice ~ amenities provided were high quality. We were very happy with our time at the Palace!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nurseparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a fantastic time staying at the Rubens , everyone was so friendly , nothing was too much trouble for all the staff .
We were welcomed by Laura and she was lovely , very genuinely interested in our stay .
The hotel is sumptuous and our room was actually a suite , very , very spacious and everything was there for our use .
Will definitely stay again .

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and heard no noise , but all rooms are secondary glazed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poppenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights just before Christmas with our son and found the hotel very clean with courteous friendly and helpful staff. We found the location being close to Victoria suited us well and good in terms of connections for shopping, sights, theatre etc. Also very quiet room despite the fact it was alongside a busy road. Breakfast was also good. We found the value as compared to other hotels of similar quality/location was good. We would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Service – 1st class.
Naturally friendly and professional staff, which is usually rare to find in large city hotels.
Room – Deluxe double. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Luxurious furnishing, padded material on the walls instead of wallpaper, heavy high quality bedding and curtains. The shower was very powerful and the bathroom was stylish with powerful water flow when filling the bath. Big thick white dressing gowns and new slippers are provided free of charge. There is also free internet access in your room. A nice touch was that the remote controls are sanitised after the last user and placed in plastic bags ready for the next guest.
Breakfast was fantastic, served on tables with crisp white cotton table cloths and napkins. Buffet style with all the usual hot and cold selections, but there were also waiters to serve toast, freshly squeezed fruit juice, tea and coffee. Another nice touch was that your poached and fried eggs are cooked in front of you and done in advance.
Location is perfect, 2 minute walk from Victoria train and underground station and the same distance to the front of Buckingham Palace. It’s also only about a 20 minute stroll to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and the river from the hotel and again it’s a similar distance in the opposite direction to Harrods. We didn’t eat in the restaurant only because we had booked a meal in China Town which was only five minutes away in a taxi (cost approx. £8 on a busy Saturday evening).
I really would recommend this hotel as it ticks every box you can think of.

Room Tip: Room 411 is a king size room and overlooks the Royal Mews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakes tarns n f... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had a super weekend. The location was ideal and we could walk to lots of sights. The young concierge on the door was very helpful and really friendly. Actually there were two , both super. Bar was stuffy and the service wasn't great, you had somebody take an order then someone else bring it then someone else take the next order and so on so no real continuity. I think its nice to have someone you know or get to know dealing with you for the evening. Breakfast was great and apart from the bar and prices which were way over other hotels of a similar standard, we had a great weekend

Room Tip: They are small . we upgraded to an executive double ... still small but very clean and nice. You hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Amazing value for money. Staff were very attentive from the moment we walked in the door. Rang the room to check everything was ok and checked in person the next day. Facilities were all you needed for a brief stay. Room was clean and old but fashionable style. Breakfast was excellent, with a large variety to choose from including options for the most health conscious persons. The concierge was very helpful with directions and local attractions and was always on hand to hail a taxi. All in all a very satisfying trip to the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badger167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#21 of 1,071 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#192 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,124 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#34 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing