We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #80 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hannover
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A diamond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

How shall I start with ? With the doorman - always kind and in a good mood even it's freezing and snowing ? The ladies at the reception, always being nice and happy to help ? Or shall I start with my room no. 117, overlooking the Royal mews and taking me back in the victorian times with it's lovely interieur and tasteful decorating ? Shall I praise the breakfast menu or the waiters who are almost attentive and friendly ? I guess this Hotel is at least with good reason at number 39 on tripadvisors list of London Hotels - I would comprehend it with the Baileys in Kensington, but the Rubens is in every point a step forward. Would I come back - certainly ! Would I recommend this to my friends - for sure ! What should you do - have a wonderful afternoon with a cream tea and treat yourself with a candlelight dinner.

Room Tip: Für einen guten Blick : auf die Buckingham Palace Road Für eine ruhieg Nacht : auf die Rückseite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,415
    826
    213
    83
    26
See reviews for
766
1,615
156
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Rubens,we were there to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary and had booked 4 rooms for family and friends, We have all agreed that this has to be the best hotel in London,the staff are all so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as they can,We had dinner n the hotel on the first night and the food was excellent as was breakfast. The hotel is easily within walking distance of all the major attractions.I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to visit it again shortly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We really liked our stay at the Ruben's. So close to Buckingham Palace, Victoria Station, Wicked, and the hop-on-hop-off bus tour pick-up. We walked all over London on our first day, and found ourselves on Bond Street, Regent Street, Piccadilly Circus, etc. -- it was great.

We had a suite that was a little larger than we probably needed, but very comfortable.Nice touches with treats and ice provided each evening. Breakfast was really expensive, but most of the time we had breakfast away from the hotel. Rainshower was excellent. (one bad note -- toilet didn't flush paper...ugh!)

Very expensive, but location means alot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nddoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Okay we did get married during our stay but everyone at the Rubens worked so hard to make it perfect for us and it was. They ordered flowers and a car; made dinner reservations; decorated our room beautifully etc.. The real treasure at the Rubens is what the pictures don't show - the fabulous people that obviously take great pleasure in making sure that you have the best possible stay. Everyone was wonderful but a special mention is deserved by Janine; Nikki; Dave and Damon and Charles (who went beyond the call of duty in acting as one of our witnesses). The breakfast was delicious and whilst the dinning room is busy, we did not have to queue and the atmosphere was very friendly. Other guests also all seemed happy and relaxed. Our room was smaller than standard (but good for London) and thoughtfully laid out. We slept beautifully, the hotel was obviously very busy but quiet (no late night door slamming / noise from adjoining rooms heard at all). We had opted for a king size bed which was extremely comfy and worth the little bit extra. There was lashings of hot water and the hotel was beautifully warm. We can't fault our stay and thought it excellent value for money - the location is excellent. If you have any doubts about staying forget them and book in here. We will be returning as soon as we can and we hope that you enjoy your stay here as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoFlying-Squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel staff was gracious and accommodating and the hotel restaurant offered exceptional food and service. The hotel is conveniently located across from the Royal Mews and within walking distance to Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station. Our room was overcrowded with furniture, small, and adequate, but did not meet our expectations. This may have been our fault, in part, as we arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight and were told our "Superior" room would not be ready until much later in the day, so we accepted the room they had available at the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaS286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.
I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the size of the room you were allocated and that it did not meet your expectations. As a standard, we guarantee room availability by 2pm, however, despite check-out time being 12 noon, sometimes delays do occur. In such situations, we offer rooms that are available immediately, but my team are always more than happy to offer relocation to a more suitable room once one becomes available.
It is wonderful to know that you liked the location of the hotel and that you found the food to be excellent. Thank you also for your kind words about my team being very friendly and helpful. I have passed these on to the staff, who were equally delighted to hear them.
I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in person in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

You will receive a wonderful welcome and be treated as one of the family from the time you arrive to the time you leave. This is one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed at in London. The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Afternoon tea was a delight.

Room Tip: As mother and daughter we stayed in a twin room 413 overlooking The Royal Mews. Was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My 12 year old son and I were planning our first trip to London (from the US) and we didn't personally know anyone who had stayed in London to recommend hotels to us. So we started our search online and found The Rubens. We couldn't have found anyplace better! Everyone from the doormen to the front desk and restaurant staff were some of the nicest people we have ever met! (Naomi, Feven to name a few!). Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything that we needed. The room had an extremely comfortable bed, large built-in wrap around desk, hallway, and beautiful bathroom with mahogany wood walls. It also has a computer area upstairs from the lobby for guests to use with super-fast internet and printer! The restaurant atmosphere is that of a huge English library with quaint round tables, bookshelves and a breakfast buffet that is out of this world! The hotel and our room have a warm, classic, English ambiance which is what we were looking for on our first trip to London. Not only is the hotel wonderful, but the location is great. We simply walked across the street to Buckingham Palace to see the changing of the guards, and made a short walk to Westminster Abbey. Great restaurants are within walking distance and short taxi rides to the West End, Picadilly Circus, shopping, etc. We loved our visit to London and The Rubens hotel was very much a part of our enjoyment. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#20 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#176 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,017 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Property: The Rubens at the Palace
Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#34 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing