We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
Ranked #73 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very special treat and good value for money. We had the Queens tea which included champagne to start. Selection of sandwichs and cakes were lovely, nicely presented and all delicious. Wonderful staff and great location, really made you feel special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,600 - 2,606 of 4,250 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for one night only and wish we could have stayed for longer! I would definitely choose to stay at this hotel again. Location wise it was just a short walk from Victoria tube station. Upon arrival we were very enthusiastically greeted and introduced to the guest services manager (possibly not the correct job title but you get my gist) We were offered a complementary glass of champagne and asked if we would like to be shown to our room.

We stayed in an executive king room which was beautiful! Compared to some hotels we've stayed at it was quite compact but more than adequate for the 2 of us. We were really impressed with the complimentary bottle of wine chilling and the basket of fresh fruit along with a handwritten welcome card from the manager. The furnishings were of really high standard, gorgeous drapes, monogrammed bed linen and sumptuous Christy towels and bathrobes. The room was very well equipped with the usual tea/coffee making facilities, iron, hair dryer, nice toiletries, slippers, plus it had extras such as a foot spa for you to use with a little spa pack of foot scrub, face mask etc. Also there was a drawer full of stationery in the desk. The bed was really comfy, the room had a great view (we could see the London Eye)

In the evening we had dinner in The Library restaurant. The service was great, the staff were very attentive and the food was delicious!

There was a really good selection for breakfast the next morning. We had the full buffet and there was plenty to choose from. English and American bacon, sausage, eggs, beans, hash browns, fried bread, tomatoes plus pastries, fruits, cereals, nuts, seeds, yoghurt, cheese and meats.

There wasn't a thing about this hotel that I could fault!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieInCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would like to say how special we both felt when we entered this hotel. All the staff were very friendly, and the hotel itself was very clean and tidy. The food was also good. I would recommend the 'Wicked' package to anyone, good value for money, considering where you are staying and what you are getting for it.

Room Tip: Choose the mews view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Although I may stay at many other London hotels through business, I always choose to return to the Rubens for my holidays. This isn't a sterile chain hotel with stark decor - this hotel has character. The staff are engaging and welcoming. The concierge team are knowledgeable and charming. Staff call you by your name and genuinely care. You will certainly find 5* luxury (at a price) elsewhere. I would consider the Rubens to be a fairly priced 4.5* hotel in a great location (<5 minutes from Victoria station and adjacent to Buckingham Palace). The staff and management team run a great hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank UK-Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with history and functionality. It is very close to the tube and the Victoria Theater for Broadway type shows. You are also 1 block from Buckingham Palace and a short walk to Big Ben, Churchill Museum, the London Eye (farris wheel), Westminester Chathedral etc. We went for the Olympics and brought along 2 college age children and they loved it. The breakfast is very good (pay with your room rate for a better deal) and dinner only average but not bad. The hop on - hop off bus is right on the corner from the hotel. The rooms are decent size and come in different varieties. The elevators are old and not big but they do get you there. We have actually stayed here before and came back because it's not in the middle of a bunch of tourist hotels but close enough that almost nothing takes more than a 15 min. walk to get to. Finally the service was great and they actually remember your name.

Room Tip: All rooms have double windows and I would ask for a view. The inside rooms look at walls of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank skipper w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at The Rubens as my Wife and I were attending the Theatre. It is my 60th Birthday which coincides with The Mousetrap's 60th year.

We arrived to a warm welcome and given a lovely room on the 3rd floor. The receptionist asked our reason for our visit and my Wife told her about our special celebration trip.

We got to our room and after about 15 minutes there was a knock on the door. I opened it to be greeted with a Birthday card and some chocolates from the Staff and Manager. A very nice touch.

Booked a meal at their carvery before attending the Theatre, and it was fantastic. The staff were very attentive and the sweet trolley was superb.

Came back after attending The Mousetrap and went to the bar for a drink. Lots of staff all very professional and we felt this was a great end to our evening.

If you are in London then I think you would also like The Rubens, which is very well located for many attractions as it is just across the road from Buckingham Palace.

You are made to feel very special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 29RonandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here overnight while in London to see a play. Our welcome was over and above our expectations. The reception staff were most helpful and meant it. Rooms were good and looked after. Food in the restaurant was okay. We ate in the buffet restaurant and I had roast beef which could have been better in that it tends to lose it's tenderness in sitting aroung and the way in which it is cooked. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay tremendously. I recomend this hotel also for it's great position in London.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MARLIN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,075 in London
4,168 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,075 in London
977 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in London
#40 Green Hotel in London
#64 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
#106 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $213 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing