We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Cranley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cranley Hotel
Ranked #582 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After spending 4 nights North of the centre of London, we moved to Cranley Hotel in Kensington, for 2 nights, to experience more of an "Intown" feel. It is located a few blocks fm 2 different Underground stations, a short stroll to neighborhood pubs and eateries, and in close proximity to the Theatre District. The rooms were very good, the service was fine, but nothing about the hotel really knocked our socks off, as we thought it was going to be a bit more hospitable. It was a bit pricey, but if we could get a better price, we would definitely consider it on future trips to London.
.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrogensFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 846 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Cranley, and it met expectation. The staff was friendly and attentive, and there was no problem with our booking.

Being an older building in an established location, we knew the room was liable to be on the small side, and it was. The canopied bed really filled the space, but as we were not spending much time inside, this was all right. The bathroom, too, was small- as they often are in a renovated period building. It did have the amenities we expected, and was clean and tidy.

I've stayed in many London hotels, and felt the Cranley was decent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely, neighborhood convenient to tubes. Our small room had a double bed, not a queen as indicated. We were on the 4th floor, the lift stopped at the third. The furniture (consisting of one chair) was very worn (it had a hole on the seat) as was the very thin carpet. No bureau, just a built in cabinet under the TV with one shelf (we were there for 5 nights).
No outlet in the bathroom for a hair dryer, only for a shaver. The cold water faucet had to be turned and turned before water came out. The room was too warm at night for us to sleep comfortably and they put a portable a/c in but it worked only one night so we had trouble sleeping.
The staff is nice and tries to accommodate but nothing but refurbishing will help.

Room Tip: Maybe a lower floor would be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandydave73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

despite a very well located place is a so pleasant district, this hotel has been very much deceptive last time I went in!!!
I'm used to go to this place for business and personal trips for years but I didn't go there till 4 years.............. and this hotel is now old fashion, not so clean (houskeeping should be a must in such premiun hotel!!!), and focus on customers in not what is was years ago!!
First my email booking was not considered, a,nd I arrived with no bedroom available!! they didn't manage my email sent months before....finally, because I'm a loyal customer, they found a basic room at the graoundfloor: very basic indeed!! and not clean at all!!!
they turn off the heating in the hotel on saturday night............and it was only 16° in the room: air conditioning was broken, and they didn't find any heater in the hotel.............
Waiters are very king and very polite, but unfortunately, top management does not consider customers and loyalty as a key driver for develping their business....what a pity!!

Room Tip: never use the 603 room!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikadoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would firstly like to thank you for your valuable feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay was not up to the usual standard of the Cranley. I would like to apologize for the confusion in your reservation; as we have previously explained, we did not receive the confirmation for the payment of the room that was required for the type of reservation you had booked. We did try to do our best to accomodate you for your stay and I am truly sorry that it was not up to your satisfaction . Please do note that we very much value all our guests, and do take into special consideration our loyal customers. We would very much like to make up for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and would like to invite you to get in contact with us or send us your contact details to reception@cranleyhotel.com and we would be delighted to find a solution for this incident.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel had a lovely, classy, but homely feel as we arrived and staff were helpful showing us to our room. The entrance hall and lobby had a nice ambience and a cosy feel with an open fire.
When we got to our room however, it was not as we expected. We booked a superior room with canopy bed and requested a bathtub, but after a look around it became apparent we had been put in a lower standard attic room which was pretty shabby and with a very bog standard bathroom minus the requested bathtub. We phoned reception to explain the situation and the receptionist said it was indeed a superior room. Only when I said that on the website it states: 'superior rooms have plenty of room for 2 to walk around in and half tester canopy beds' neither of which were the case, did she send someone to look at our voucher. We got a call soon after saying we had been upgraded to an executive room which was a lovely airy spacious room with a small outside yard and big bathroom. We were happy with this room but it still didn't have the canopy bed we had hoped for.
During this however they did bring us complimentary tea and coffee on arrival which I understand is standard and there was some lovely homemade apple cake waiting for us too.
Our stay was generally very pleasant after this, a slight niggle that in a hotel of this standard I would expect tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Failing this an offer of free tea and coffee would be appreciated, not being charged everytime you want a cup of tea in your room.
This brings us to the room service charges, we appreciate there is usually a service charge added to room service but when we came to examine our bill after check out, we had also been charged room service for the afternoon tea and coffees we had had in the foyer. We pointed this out assuming it was a mistake only to be told guests are charged for room service whether they have it in their room or in the lobby area (no dining room). So there is no escaping these charges which we find pretty dishonest and a hidden cost. There were also two phantom coffees (plus room service charge) that we hadn't had, which they refunded back to us. The itemised bill was very unclear, and I hope others aren't caught out like this.

Breakfast was VERY limited, we were expecting a continental breakfast with our room but the only choice was toast, croissant or Danish pastry with juice and tea/coffee. The 'Garden breakfast' was an extra £5 if you wanted any kind of fruit or yoghurt etc which I assumed would come with a continental breakfast. Again I would have expected more from a hotel of this standard and found it a little dishonest in the description. Full English was even more.......
On top of this- the first day we had to ask for more butter, and the pots of tea were so small we had to order more (at a charge) and on the 2nd day our breakfast arrived without croissants and without any milk for the tea. Very simple things to ask for considering the very basic breakfast! We requested extra hot water and extra butter on our order form on the second day.

On the positive side, the complimentary champagne and canapés in the evening was a nice touch (but take the word 'canapés' with a pinch of salt.. We had a strawberry with a piece of cheddar in the first night and a slice of cucumber with some cream cheese on the next!).
The bed was VERY comfortable as were the dressing gowns and slippers, the toiletries were good quality and the morning newspaper on the door was a nice thought too. We had a 'Cranley Burger' on the first night delivered to our room which was delicious.

So all in all a mixed bag, we enjoyed our time at The Cranley which we had paid a premium price for, but came away feeling a little conned.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mungo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We found the Cranley Hotel to be comfortable, clean, with a great location and lots of amenities for a small boutique hotel. What really stands out at this particular hotel are its staff, who extended themselves repeatedly and frequently throughout our stay, exceeding our expectations time and again. One even chased us for several blocks after we checked out, forgetting our camera charger - and he refused to accept a tip when he found us! Small touches like a large supply of umbrellas at the door, champagne around the fire every evening, and warmed bath towels the size of small nations made the Cranley feel more personal and luxurious than we expected. The Cranley is one of those hotels where problems are addressed instantly, and needs anticipated consistently. And the price was great for the high quality of the product, too.

Room Tip: Our "lower ground" level room was a bit hot, but perfectly comfortable with a cracked wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbradleypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us. I am so happy to hear that you were well attended by the Cranley Team during your stay; I will certainly pass on such kind words to them, as I am sure that, like myself, they will be delighted to hear that they have made such a difference to yet another guest!
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back; in the meantime if there is anything we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Cranley is a friendly, comfortable boutique hotel in a very well located and safe residential neighborhood. Very personable, professional and helpful staff. Just a couple of blocks from the Gloucester tube station which provides efficient transportation to anywhere in London in minutes. Neighborhood restaurants and coffee shops are nearby and available without much effort or travel. And if you just don't want to go out---the room service fare at the hotel is tasty and well prepared. Overall, a very convenient location where we spent 7 nights with comfort and total satisfaction.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank whitholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and found the neighbourhood to be quiet and convenient at the same time. Thank you also for your kind words on the staff at the Cranley; I will ensure to pass on the message!
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future!
If there is anything we can do to assist you, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#356 of 1,081 in London
557 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#501 of 1,081 in London
441 reviews
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#517 of 1,081 in London
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#144 of 1,081 in London
918 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Colonnade London
The Colonnade London
#399 of 1,081 in London
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Romantic Hotel in London
#289 Business Hotel in London
#347 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $145 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing