We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax at the Rathbone Hotel”
Review of Rathbone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rathbone Hotel
Ranked #283 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our second stay at the Rathbone Hotel. We arrived early and our room wasn't quite ready. The Reception staff were very helpful and looked after our luggage so we could go and get a bite to eat. The en suite bedroom was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The Hotel only provides Bed & Breakfast and we opted for the Continental Breakfast which was more than adequate. Wi-Fi normally free in other hotels was chargeable and expensive. However, after a long day spent in the bustling West End it is comforting to know that when you walk back to the area around the Rathbone Hotel you will be able to find a seat and relax in a nearby pub or have a meal at one of the many restaurants before returning for a coffee in the Rathbone lounge.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJP568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you sampled our fresh continental breakfast buffet, we also provide a 24 hour Room Service / Bar and Lounge menu. Next time, please call our reservations department direct on 020 7 636 2001 for the best available rate and complimentary WiFi. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
There are newer reviews for Rathbone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great location, just a couple of minutes walk to Googe Street station. Loads of restaurants nearby to choose from. Continental breakfast was good with the freshest of bread and lovely fruit. Reasonable size and very clean room with the most comfortable bed and pillows. Will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It's great to read your comments and that you enjoyed our freshly prepared breakfast to start off your day. Thank you also for pointing out our fabulous location along with the facilities you enjoyed at our hotel. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

From the moment I arrived staff were helpful and good mannered.The room was exellent, clean, lots of space, very quiet.Breakfast was exellent.One of the best hotels I have stayed in. A big thankyou to all the staff. Especially the room cleaning lady.Recommend this place to anyone visiting London.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are like mine, you have nothing to worry about.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycityofsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed, what appears to have been, every part of your stay with us. We are always here to assist our guests as much as possible and to create a "home away from home" environment in London. It's great to read that the Rathbone is one of the best hotels on your list and our team will be very pleased with this comment. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Rathbone Hotel for one night on Saturday June 7th. It is in such a good position being close to loads of good restaurants, pubs, bars, shops, transport and the London Theatres. We had a 4th floor double room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet and we both slept very well. The beds were clean and comfortable and there is a very good shower in the bath. We had the cooked breakfast as we were not eating again until the evening. It was very plentiful and tasty and the service was excellent. The staff were friendly and professional. We would definitely stay here again as it is good value for a 4* hotel and situated in a very good area for going out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your review and for commending our team, facilities and our location. It is wonderful to hear that we looked after you well and that you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback will of course be passed on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A great location. We had booked through Superbreaks so we could get tickets for an early performance of Miss Saigon, it having just opened.
Not far from Oxford Street meant that we had an easy walk to Shaftesbury Avenue and Soho. It was also close to bus and undergound links.The area around the hotel has good restaurants [10% discount card through the hotel] and traditional pubs [I especially appreciated the Dylan Thomas links!]
The hotel was welcoming and friendly
The room on the 4th floor quiet, clean and more than adequate.
The late night bar was a bonus as was the good Continental breakfast... we could have upgraded like most others but it was a bit of a foodie few days, so we didn't
Had to pay the premium of getting the theatre package but a booking direct will almost certainly get you the best deal ... we'll try that next time as this was what we were promised

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and for highlighting our great location, yes we are truly privileged with our central London scene and delighted that you were able to discover the area and West End locale. We are very pleased to have been part of your London stay and as always assure the best rates when booking direct with us. Next time call our reservations department on 0207 636 2001 or e-mail reservations@rathbonehotel.co.uk for the best available rates, we will be very happy to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having stayed in this property on business trips a number of times, I can only agree with all the other reviews made. This is a really good hotel in central London. However, as I have not visited the hotel for over a year, I had forgotten that WiFi is not included... When we now write: "2014" - this must be a minimum standard included service to get the fourth star! Add one or two GBPs on the bills... and fix the WiFi. I will not come back before I know you have sorted this enoying fact.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DM7025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, it's great to know that we looked after you well during your business trips to London. We appreciate your comments regarding WiFi at the Rathbone and delighted to advise that we do offer this service complimentary to our guests who book direct with us. Please call or e-mail our reservations department direct quoting promotional code RATH1302 which, not only offers complimentary WiFi but also guarantees the best available rate. You can also enter this code in the promotional box provided on our website to avail of the same offer.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback and I would welcome an opportunity to speak with you direct. I would kindly ask you to make yourself known to us by calling me on the main hotel number 0207 636 2001 or e-mail reservations@rathbonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to speaking with you.

With kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I found this hotel on Lastminute.com and booked a single room over a two night bank holiday period for £160, which was pretty reasonable.
The hotel is in a great location just off a busy main road between Tottenham Court Road and Goodge Street stations. Being just off the main road means you can sleep really well and avoid early street noise.
The reception and communal areas are all clean and modern. The staff are very friendly and an asset to the hotel. I was lucky enough to get a free upgrade to a double room (whoop to that!).
Anything in the room was a bonus....the bed was really comfortable, the room was spacious with tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary bottles of water, shower gels etc. There was also the offer of complimentary newspapers in the morning, but I declined this offer.
I didn't eat or use any of the other facilities at the hotel.
I paid £80 a night for a great four star hotel with a double bed, tea and biscuits every morning, literally a two minute walk to the underground, a couple of minutes walk to Oxford Street. How many capital cities can you get all that for £80?

I would definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bails999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for commending our great hotel and central London location.

It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you have taken some great memories away with you. Next time you're planning to visit the capital, call us direct or visit our website where you will always find the best offers available for the Rathbone Hotel.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Margaret Kavanagh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#416 of 1,072 in London
995 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,072 in London
3,288 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#534 of 1,072 in London
603 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#35 of 1,072 in London
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Hotel

Address: 30 Rathbone Street | Fitzrovia, London W1T 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
#238 Romantic Hotel in London
#289 Family Hotel in London
#330 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $153 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathbone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone is a comfortable, intimate, boutique style hotel, located within the heart of London's West End, within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Bond Street, Regent Street, Soho, the Theatre District, Museums, Art Galleries and a wide choice of some of the best and most vibrant restaurants London has to offer. With its 72 en-suite, air cooled bedrooms and suites, the Rathbone provides the perfect base for business and leisure visitors to London and provides a convenient, comfortable and tranquil haven amidst the pace of London's bustling environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rathbone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing