We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant position and value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathbone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rathbone Hotel
Ranked #278 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant position and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an ideal hotel in a brilliant position for exploring london. Convent garden is five minutes awaya and we didn't need to use the tube at all, clean, lovely furnishings and fabulous breakfast! All the staff were wonderful and it has a lovely lobby area with a bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDellomo, Front Office Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent visit to London.

It was great reading your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our central location, perfect for exploring the wonders of the city. Your kind comments about our staff and breakfast are much valued as we constantly try to provide the best service possible.

We are looking forward to seeing you at the Rathbone again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    469
    144
    47
    31
See reviews for
115
435
92
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location, just off Oxford street, is very good, and the area is quiet at night. But the prices are a bit stiff, breakfast very expensive, and some of the staff is very rude. The rooms are quite spacious, so are the bathrooms. Nice bar, wide selection of drinks and som food, but very slow service. Very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuntsopran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDellomo, Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the positive comments regarding our central London location. We were disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not live up to our reputation and that you were less than completely satisfied with our service, I apologise to you for this. Please be assured that we take great pride in our service and make every effort to ensure we provide excellent customer service. Thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pau, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I got a very good price for this well located hotel - an easy walk from Tottenham Court Road tube - which also made it a very convenient walk home after a night out in Soho. The staff were friendly and helpful with whatever questions or requests I had (such as ironing boards).
The room was quite small but there was room enough to leave my suitcase and still do some ironing so it was sufficient. My biggest irritation was the taps had no markings and were a little loose on their treads so I spent quite some time trying to get the temperature of the shower to a point that wasn't scalding or freezing... and then it was very easy to knock it out of place with your elbow and so start the whole process again.
Overall it was reasonable quality, good value and very well located.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank healywp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDellomo, Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback. Yes indeed, our location is a great advantages and I appreciate the time you took to write your review acknowledging our proximity to all that London has to offer. As always, we gratefully receive kind comments regarding our customer service, which our staff enjoy reading. I am sorry to read of issues relating to the shower and apologise for this inconvenience. Having since investigated this matter, I can confirm it has been rectified and would thank you for bringing it to our attention. Guest feedback assists us in our aim to constantly improve and maintain the high level of service we provide and I thank you for your contribution. I look forward to seeing you at the Rathbone again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here the last weekend in October. Great location, close to many restaurants and bars in the west end. Not too far from many tube stops as well. Deluxe room was a very nice size and the bathroom was huge for London hotels. Shower/water pressure was fantastic.

The coolest amenity was the fact that the bar/ lounge was open 24 hours. It is very small and quaint with comfy chairs, a fake fireplace and a tv. So after all the pubs close at 11:00pm, you can stroll back, order a cocktail and/or food and mingle with other guests. Plus, you have to be staying at the hotel to drink here, do it is very quiet and relaxing.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something in a boutique type of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDellomo, Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate your kind review and positive feedback, customer service is extremely important to us. Our bar is indeed available 24 hours to resident guests and I am happy that you were able to take advantage of its comfort and facilities. Thank you also for highlighting some of our other features, our spacious rooms along with our location in the heart of London, walking distance from so many famous attractions. We do hope to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a really nice stay in this Hotel. The location is fantastic and considering the location, it is very quiet, and the service is excellent. The only thing that lessened what was otherwise a lovely stay, was one of the staff called Marco, who was rude and abrupt, however Tiziana made up for this, she was a pleasure and very professional like all of the other staff I was in contact with.
Otherwise I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anybody visiting London.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank oxford6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDellomo, Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
It was great to read your review, thank you. We receive many positive comments regarding our central London location which indeed is a great advantage and equally, we are customary to great comments regarding our team and our service, therefore it was disappointing to read that we fell short on this occasion and did not live up to our reputation. I am sorry for this and assure you that we take great pride in our customer service where our employees are trained to provide the best service possible which I am pleased to read was demonstrated by Tiziana. Thank you for commending her and the rest of the team and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. The location was great as it is closed to lots of shops and restaurants. We had a good night sleep and it was very quiet considering the location. The bedroom had a nice charming feel to it ( a bit small but interesting and well equipped). The bathroom was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axeld210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDellomo, Front Office Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for writing the review. We are fortunate to be located in such a wonderful area. We appreciate you mentioning the size and cleanliness of our rooms as it matters to us a great deal to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay in a clean and comfortable environment. We hope to see you again in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I got let down by Shaftsbury Suites Marble Arch who phoned me at 1pm on the day of check in to say the room was unavailble can I go somewhere else!

The Rathbone was an unexpected last minute booking - one of the last few hotels available during London Fashion Week, so I was nervous at what I would find.

I was truely a great suprise. Staff very helpful and quick to check in, room a little old fashioned in decor but super clean and the following morning found that in daylight its in the most delightful little spot with cafes, bars and restaurants near-by.

Was even able to walk to Euston Station - ok, took 15-20mins but I had the time and it was a nice day.

I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chippyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDellomo, Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are privileged to be located in such a great area, full of places of interest and so close to London’s numerous attractions as well as great restaurants and bars. Your comment regarding the cleanliness of the rooms is gratefully appreciated, it is extremely important to us to ensure that our guests can relax in a clean, comfortable and well maintained environment. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#342 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#32 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Hotel

Property: Rathbone Hotel
Address: 30 Rathbone Street | Fitzrovia, London W1T 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
#238 Romantic Hotel in London
#289 Family Hotel in London
#330 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathbone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone is a comfortable, intimate, boutique style hotel, located within the heart of London's West End, within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Bond Street, Regent Street, Soho, the Theatre District, Museums, Art Galleries and a wide choice of some of the best and most vibrant restaurants London has to offer. With its 72 en-suite, air cooled bedrooms and suites, the Rathbone provides the perfect base for business and leisure visitors to London and provides a convenient, comfortable and tranquil haven amidst the pace of London's bustling environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rathbone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing