We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Dinner & Casual Dining Delight”

Tom's Kitchen Somerset House
Ranked #2,815 of 23,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Transit: The nearest mainline rail stations are: Charing Cross, Waterloo and Blackfriars. The nearest underground stations are: Temple, Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment. Buses servicing the Strand include numbers 6, 9, 11, 13, 15, 23, 77a, 91 and 176, while the River Bus Service can be taken to Embankment and Savoy piers.
Description: Tom's Kitchen Somerset House includes a restaurant, a deli and a beautiful terrace, which during the summer months is one of London's most popular al fresco bars with views across the river. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the iconic Somerset House building, boasting three adjoining rooms. The modern British restaurant serves comfort food favourites in a relaxed and informal environment from lunch to dinner and brunch on weekends. The deli is the perfect place for busy food-lovers on the go, packed with tasty takeaway options for breakfast and lunch. Located in the beautiful surroundings of Somerset House, Tom's Kitchen Terrace offers an extensive cocktail and drinks list and bar snacks.
Orange County, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Business Dinner & Casual Dining Delight”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We started the evening with handmade cocktails in the cozy bar (favorite was the cucumber w/gin) followed by a wonderful dinner in the dining room. Make reservations because Tom's Kitchen is a popular spot with cozy seating. Our meal was cooked to order & perfection and the desserts were a perfect finish to the meal. There were business diners, social diners and a couple or two. Don't miss this experience overlooking the Thames.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamala001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    169
    94
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great art + great food + great view”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Since I was visiting the famous Courtauld Gallery (great art collection in gorgeous building near the Thames River) on a Sunday afternoon, I found this excellent restaurant in the same collection of buildings. I had one of the best egg dishes (smoked salmon eggs benedict) ever - best English muffin, excellent lox and lighter hollandaise. The service was so good, I could scarely believe it but maybe it's because I got there at 230PM after the rush? What a nice atmosphere also. Casual but proper sit-down service. They have a small deli nearby for faster food and service. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cincytravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too quiet !”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friday night in central London, wanting somewhere lovely to eat with good food as out with the girls. Had been to Somerset House in the Summer to an open air cinema event and had spied what looked like a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful setting. All of this is correct, the restaurant is beautiful, the lighting is perfect, the interior is cool and stylish. Arriving at around 8oc we were shown to our table and were one of three other diners ! Such a shame, an hour later and we were on our own. Not what you want on a Friday night. Food was delicious, best chips I think I have ever had. I hear that the place is fantastic for lunch, especially at the weekends. The setting means that it has no passing trade which must account for it being empty on a Friday night. Would go again, but for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We only had a light snack - eggs on toast, but the bread was delicious and the eggs perfectly cooked. The coffee was great. We were kicking ourselves for not timing things right to have lunch here as the selection of food looked wonderful - really beautiful display - we will be back to sample it soon! We sat in a window looking out on the Somerset House courtyard -very civilised.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philchales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What can I say? Excellent all round”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went for a lazy satursday lunch with my wife and 16 mo daughter on the 24th August.
We booked for 1330 but asked our hotel to see if they could fit us in for 1300..... No probs!!
we were immediately seated in a booth that was spacious for our daughter. Atmosphere relaxed in a classy sort of way. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Only gripe was the absence of a chidlren's menu( although they tried to find somethign suitable) . ended up ordering the scrambled egg for my daughter- which was delicious.

Food was up to standards and delicious ( pork belly and beetroot risotto) and drinks were good. Only warning is the Baked Alaska dessert. They say it was for sharing at £12 ish but did not say there was enough for 4-6 people. It was absolutely amazing and indulgent but felt bad for leaving so much behind. to keep room for this dessert!

at £90 for 2 course lunch, scrambled eggs, 2 glasses of wine and 2 bloody mary's- well worth it!
What made this place was the excellent service and the "can do" attitude of the staff.
will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamSenasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Kitchen Somerset House also viewed

 

Been to Tom's Kitchen Somerset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing