We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marble Arch by Montcalm
Ranked #610 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfect”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just a short distance from Marble Arch tube, a very successful stay. Was in town for an event so there for 4 nights. Lovely room, perfect for 1, would be a squeeze for 2 but top quality - great bathroom, excellent shower, nice towels, comfortable bed, linen, tea/coffee tray. A real delight.

Room Tip: I was in the 'annexe' across the road, but that's not a problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Henskens, General Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear sara b,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the room and the facilities provided met your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time your travels take you to the West End; it would be my pleasure to personally take care of all arrangements to ensure another comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Alexander Henskens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    132
    67
    32
    36
See reviews for
46
174
17
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

not booked this hotel but was upgraded from sister hotel - was very modern, staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't really comment on value as we paid for the 3* sister hotel but was updgraded free of charge to this one

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russ212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Duty Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback.We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

I have shared your valued feedback with my colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks And Kind Regards,

Hiral Thanawala
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was a last minute booking for one night based on TripAdvisor reviews and a 20% discount offer on Club rooms. Although my wife and I arrived about 8am, checking-in and depositing the luggage in the baggage room was effortless. The front desk and concierge staff were faultless. We were informed when the room would be ready and should we return early, the Club lounge would be available for complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and cakes. Unfortunately, the room was not ready as planned and to compensate for the extra 30 minute wait in the lounge we were upgraded to a suite.
The Club lounge was a standard lounge but with no windows and provided the usual internet, newspapers, magazines etc. The drinks and canapés at Happy Hour were ok but with a limited choice compared to some hotels. At breakfast, again the food was ok but with a limited choice.
The suite was more than adequate and very well equipped. The bed was a king size and firm which was fine for us. However, if you like your mattress soft you might be disappointed. The complimentary fruit platter had 8 different fruits on it although a plate and knife would have been useful.
The spa was compact but well equipped with the swim training pool being a great bonus.
The choice of wine by the glass in the bar was poor and expensive for what was on offer. Therefore, we elected to drink elsewhere.
Although we had planned to stay at the Shangri-La in The Shard, a delayed opening date took us to the Montcalm. We have no complaints about our stay having thoroughly enjoyed it and would have no hesitation at staying again as it's in a great location and the customer service from the staff was
very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Duty Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.


I have shared your valued feedback with my colleagues.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thanks And kind Regards,

Hiral Thanawala
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for just one night. this hotel is in a great location and a great price. We had just stayed in The Arch so we were spoilt from that hotel but this one was a close second for us. It had everything we needed for the short time we were there. Staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Duty Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

I have shared your valued feedback with my colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks And Kind Regards,

Hiral Thanawala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

my reservation included breakfast.
the breafast was poor, few vegtebales, some jucies. only biles egg.

if you want omlet, bacon and so on, you need to rder from a menu. it will cost you arround 12 pounds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Amir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Duty Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Amir P,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

We serve 2 types of breakfast: Continental and English breakfast. If you have continental breakfast, it consists of croissants, cheese, yogurt that is only cold food. For hot food, we prepare it on order so that it is fresh and hot.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Thanks And Kind Regards,

Hiral Thanawala
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#314 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#74 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marble Arch by Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marble Arch by Montcalm

Property: The Marble Arch by Montcalm
Address: 31 Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7TA, England (Formerly Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#269 Romantic Hotel in London
#354 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marble Arch by Montcalm 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Marble Arch by Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marble Arch By Montcalm Hotel London
Palace Hotel London
The Marble Arch By Montcalm London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing