We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marble Arch London
Ranked #619 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 479 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Every thing was excellent, best night sleep I have had in ages, one very small hiccup was we booked the restaurant at the reception and some how this did not get to the restaurant booking, as when we went for our evening meal we were not on the reservation list, but they were very accommodating, and had an excellent meal. Well done to all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear KayTaffy,


Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to see guests enjoying and having a good experience while staying with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My Wife and I had the most wonderful time at the Montcalm Marble Arch absolutely brilliant, marble arch tube is a three minute walk away. Oxford street is on your doorstep for shopping. The bed was so comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean with a lovely fresh fragrance.We were very well looked after with taxis ordered for us and being walk out to the Taxi door and opened for us, Our bed sheets turned down with a Good Night message note left with Two chocolates besides it, Even fresh fruit in your room,Little things like that will certainly bring me back to this Hotel.The Breakfast was to a very high standard Excellent Service.

Room Tip: Honestly ,I'm Struggling to find a fault with this place .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadwick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Chadwick67,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to see guests enjoying and having a good experience while staying with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary and were very glad of our choice. I wouldn't class it as a 'full service' 5 star hotel (although that may be the case), but it is certainly worthy of that classification as a boutique hotel and we'll definitely look to stay here again. A really excellent stay well done!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisisisisisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Sisisisisisi,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to see guests enjoying and having a good experience while staying with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind regards,

Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had two nights in London and wanted to be relatively central so chose the Marble Arch at Montcalm in a bit of rush - normally I use tripadvisor, and didn't in this case and wish I had! This was definitely a nice hotel, but the service levels and attitude of the staff was unremarkable and verged on rude. We travel a lot with work internationally and this was the most disappointing hotel we've stayed in recently.
Pros- location is brilliant, marble arch tube is a three minute walk away. Oxford street is on your doorstep for shopping. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. It was also very quiet.
On the downside, it wasn't a cheap room even by london standards, and didn't really live up to its pricetag. The room fit out was tired and showing considerable wear and tear, water swollen wood panels, chipped paint, broken bathroom blind - and the water pressure in the shower was woeful.
After staying at other hotels recently with fantastic club levels, we apparently had a room with 'club level access' which is across at the actual Montcalm Hotel across the road. The club lounge was the oddest space I've been into - a business centre with a coffee machine, without any paper or pens next to the computers, and it is a top floor room without any windows! It was included in our room rate so we explored, but it was nothing like any other club level lounge I've been into, and I definitely would not bother paying for the extra service.
The staff didn't bother to explain any aspect of the hotel at all, either at check in or at any other point during our stay - not about the free wifi (which is really good), breakfast times, our room. Also worth bearing in mind is that you will need to request an iron and ironing board as the room space is limited and they don't have one in each room. We had to ask twice - not great if you are in a hurry. Little things like the mini bar and bathroom products not being replenished was annoying.
Check out was equally disappointing. No help with the bags out the door, no offer to call a taxi for us, and no one even said goodbye!

We did have an truly fantastic room service experience - breakfast was brilliant, delivered quickly, still hot, very tasty and beautifully presented. My partner did have to go down to reception to find out what exactly was available on room service as the in room menu wasn't very clear, but this service was very well done.

Overall this was a nice room, but a bit frustrating - definitely not a five star in way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whykiki90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Whikiky90,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.

I was sorry to read that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. I was also concerned to learn that staff did not explain you about the free Wifi, breakfast time and room facilities. All those informations are generally given upon the check in and while taking the guest to the room.

I have shared all your other comments with the concerned departments.
I hope that you will give us a second chance and that we will welcome you back in near future.
Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,
Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

great time in the spa, lovely little pool and fab chocolate body wrap
very good staff in super surroundings
easy to find as it is so near marble arch tube station
would love to stay in hotel but rooms are expensive

Room Tip: didn't stay in hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were moved here from a sister hotel that was closed, our taxi dropped us off at the main hotel opposite and were slightly disappointed to cross the road to where we were booked in. The reception lobby in this hotel in poor. The check in was painless but lacked information and all the time the bell boy was chewing gum next to the receptionist. The room was comfortable and the air conditioning a welcome asset on the hottest day of the year. The hotel was very clean and modern. We slept very well except from the neighbouring room door slamming at 2.30 and the walls not that thick. The continental breakfast was lovely. overall we enjoyed the stay here but feel it is a four star not a five star hotel as stated, maybe the main hotel over the road is the five star one???.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marblearch26, Manager at The Marble Arch London, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.
I have shared your valuable feedback with my team members.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Adela Drencenyova
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marble Arch London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marble Arch London

Address: 31 Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7TA, England (Formerly The Marble Arch by Montcalm)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#267 Romantic Hotel in London
#362 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $226 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marble Arch London 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marble Arch London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marble Arch By Montcalm Hotel London
Palace Hotel London
The Marble Arch London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing