We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with easy access to buses and tube station”
Review of Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oliver Hotel
Ranked #838 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good location with easy access to buses and tube station”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pleasant location with Earls Court Tube Station about 5 mins walk. Room was a good size but did smell of stale tobacco. Room was clean with good size shower. Breakfast was adequate with choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, cheese and toast. Receptionist was very welcoming but breakfast staff rather surly and abrupt. That said, would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    77
    88
    37
    67
See reviews for
48
77
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel lacked much hot water in the showers and breakfast was raher basic but it did he trick. I do not have any way to judge hotels in the UK but I had thought I would at least have a more visually appealing room for nearly 100 pounds. Location was superb, though, and the staff tried to help out when possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were here in december 2010. The location of the hotel is great - Earl's Court station is a short walk away (6 min), lots of restaurants nearby. Our room was very small, but clean and cosy. We had a clean bathroom with a bathtub, and a small flatscreen tv. In order to get the remote control, you have to go to the front desk and pay a small fee - which you get back if you return the remote control. Breakfast was alright. We were there during the winter, so the heating was on, but it became too hot in our room and we couldn't turn the heating off. That's the only negative thing I have to mention. And we could open the window, so it wasn't that bad after all. Considering how much we paid, I was very pleased with our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank architecttraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Oliver hotel is the perfect example of the mediocre traditional hotel.The rooms are a bit gloomy (there are worrying paintings on the walls), not very clean (i found a brown stain on the towel) and you must pay if you want to watch the tv.The breakfast is included but even the restaurant is dull. However,the staff is warm and internet is free at all time.
A bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babym00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Hotel is terrible, old and dirty with the worst staff ever!
As soon as arrived we encountered the first problem. At 12.30 PM the room was not ready (the room is supposed to be free from 11 AM as you can check from the Website) and this had not been advised by the receptionist that gave us the key, so both the room and the toilet were not possible to be used at all.
Our room was old, small, dirty and noisy during the night. The bathroom was worse than an hole, as there was not enough space to contain me all. No remote control for tv and NO toilet brush. Dirty laundry. They currently have only one cleaner (without experience) for 50 rooms.
All the staff has been rude, unqualified and not helpful at all!
The breakfast had an embarassing quality... And for the first time in my life I have seen customers QUEUING UP for using the tables in the breakfast room.
The receptionist booked us a taxi and when we left the hotel we realized the taxi was just a private car WITHOUT taximeter and too much expensive for a short distance to be driven.

The ONLY positive point is the location: 10 minutes by walk to the underground.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarioDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very disappointed by the standards in this hotel and it did not reflect good value for money. Not happy at all with the bedrooms. The first one was shocking and I would have left but it had been prepaid. The room was old and smelt and bedding was sheets and blankets I told reception I could not stay there. Then she showed me to a slightly better room and we suffered it but again I was not happy so we went out and came back and went to bed. Surprisingly, the bed was comfortable, but my companion had been bitten by the morning. Breakfast was not very inspiring and the service was not good nor the quality of the food and bevereges. Coffee was spooned out of a large can of Nescafé Instant and the waitress growled at me when I asked for a drink after a 10 minute wait. The proprietors should take a walk up to the Coronation Hotel in Neven place to get some idea of simple but good standards of hotel keeping and service, as currently the Olive Hotel Cromwell Rd reflects very poor value for money. Do not mistake his hotel with Olive Plaza Hotels which has high standards.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Used this hotel on business trip and all that can be said is that you get what u pay for. Used it as a place to crash at night. you get solid personal service from owner/manager as is hands on. Treat staff with respect and one will be treated as such.

Room Tip: away from lift if i remember and avoid grnd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#542 of 1,068 in London
1,005 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#788 of 1,068 in London
645 reviews
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#248 of 1,068 in London
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#710 of 1,068 in London
1,045 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#724 of 1,068 in London
355 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#690 of 1,068 in London
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Hotel

Property: Oliver Hotel
Address: 198 Cromwell Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 0SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #838 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oliver Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing