We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, could be better”
Review of London Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Lodge Hotel
Ranked #311 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Firstly, the hotel is in a really good location, short and pleasant walk from the tube station which has really good links into central London in no time at all. It is in a nice area with a few pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance too.

First impressions of the hotel are great, whilst it looks quite small, it looks classy. Great location, very accessible. Very welcoming reception area. Staff friendly,well the English speaking were, others a little bit too clipped (unhappy?) Tastefully decorated and clean.

The negatives: Quite a small room which was tatty in places, damaged bath needs replacing, big stain very visible on divan base of bed, slightly scuffed wallpaper and generally quite tired looking. I can't tell you how disappointed and miserable I felt seeing the room, it was nothing like any of the photographs on the website. No facilities in the hotel other than a rather souless snack bar at basement/street level, very basic menu (although not a bad place to have breakfast in). I would have like to have seen some kind of lounge or even a seating area,but I accept this is a quite a small 'hotel'. Breakfast,hmm - very basic fare on offer. The continental comprised (no meats, only one very small pre-packaged bits of cheese), yoghurts, croissant (had to be ordered), juice and a few cereals. Full English - could have been so much better, very basic/bare minimum, no mushrooms, cheap and nasty sausages, only one slice of tasteless cheap bacon. Over priced for what it was,had much better for much less.

The biggest negative, which really ruined our stay, was the temperature in the hotel, unbearably hot. I knew this was a problem because when were shown to our room the window was wide open and you could still feel the heat. When I mentioned this I was told the only solution was to use the aircon. The window wide open, didn't cool the room,neither did the window shut with full aircon. Unbearable sleepless night, in December! My hair was damp with perspiration as I ate my breakfast in a T-shirt. I am a person whom usually feels the cold, so for me to complain, it must have been really bad. The excessive heat was the talk of the dining room and the only explanation was that American visitors preferred the heat (really?....). (If that were true, isn't there a happy medium to be achieved rather than making the rest of us suffer?)

Sorry, but I don't think I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ours was probably a very standard room, if you want one of the nice ones (only ones shown on the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyTokoloshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear LadyTokoloshe,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are currently refurbishing 2 rooms and, as you will appreciate, it take s a while to get through them all without closing the hotel - which we can't afford to do.
Our breakfast has cold meat, porridge, etc included as stated on both the menu and on the buffet table but there isn't enough space and no hot plate to store these items permanently on the buffet. Every guest is asked on arrival to the restaurant if they would like toast and/or croissants so that they stay fresh and do not dry out on the buffet if no-one wants them. Being a small hotel, it is hard to keep the balance between satisfaction and freshness - it appears that we failed you on this occasion. All cooked breakfasts are prepared freshly to order and available items are listed on the menu including mushrooms - all guests can specify how much of each item they require, we are very flexible being an independent property.
It has been found that the temperature sensor on our new boiler had failed and we have since had a replacement.
Maybe you can feel it in your heart to give us another try in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly and I ensure that your stay is a more pleasant one
warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 725 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a great hotel located 6 minutes walk from Earls Court Tube Station so gives you easy access to the London Tube network.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for any of our needs.
The room was ample in size comfortable with all the basic requirements.
My wife had continental breakfast which was satisfactory I had the English Breakfast which was okay but could have been a little more generous on the portions served.
You can eat in the evening in the hotel but there are also pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.
The decor is a little dated but understand that there will be modernization starting in January 2014 so this will bring the hotel upto date.
We would have NO PROBLEM in recomending this very clean, friendly and comfortable hotel
to anybody looking for a good hotel at reasonable prices.
Thank you to all the staff for our pleasant stay in London and hope to be back with you again.
Steve & Rita

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobierita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Bobierita,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for a wonderful review. I am certain that other will find it very useful.
See you again soon I hope.
Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We picked this hotel based on the reviews and also its proximity to Earls Court and its Tube station which was about a 5 minute walk away. The main roads where most of the other hotels were on, were really noisy and yet this was in a residential road that was really quiet and convenient.
It was also handy for High Street Kensington too as well as walking along the Brompton Road to the Natural History Museum and the Science Museum.
Inside it was okay, the rooms were clean and tidy and had both stairs and lifts to all rooms.
The only criticism was that one of the girls at breakfast was quite surly and not very smiley, but other than that it was okay. The reception girl was really helpful giving us maps and information which was good.
Overall we would stay again if we wanted to have a good, clean and convenient location near the Museums and Earls Court.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpktrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Jpktrk,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Absolute value for money. Central location and awesome shops in the vicinity. Clean and comfortable rooms, would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Earls Court station just 4 blocks away, very convenient. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Colleen,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It was a pleasure to accommodate you.
See you again!
Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had a pleasant stop at this Hotel. Front Desk were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk from Earls Court Underground station.
For the price I paid I had a comfortable room. It's a little dated and things could be better but for the price it is a great option.
Would stop again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaikai88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Kaikai88,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We really appreicate your feedback. We are starting our refurbishment project from 5th January.
Warmest regards,

Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

After reading previous reviews we were very worried about the lack of black pudding at breakfast and the fact that there was no swimming pool, but dispite our worries we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning! . We arrived earlier then expected but that was no problem at all, and the very friendly and helpful girl at reception showed us to our room...which was much better then the photos showed.
At breakfast every morning we were met by smiling and very polite members of staff. We had the full English every morning during our 4 night stay and was delight with the taste and amount of the freshly prepared food everning morning.
Upon returning to our room in the evening it had been cleaned spotlessly and upon our return to the hotel at night there was a very polite and helpful member of staff in reception
Having stayed at hotels in the area (with many a more stars) I would without hesitation recommended the London Lodge to anyone and we will return ourselves..
The location is ideal (5 mins walk to Earls Court tube and less then 10 to Kensington High Street Tube and there is a great many shops and restaurants nearby ) and the room, staff and service was all first class.
Many thanks we´ll be back the next time we visit England!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Stewart N,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Let me know when you are coming next and I will order you some black pudding!.
Hopefully see you soon.
Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful but the room I had looked nothing like the photos on the website. Food mediocre to say the least, breakfast started too late to be of any use. Not really near the Tube. Food in the evening pretty grim so I didn't eat there. Sad really because it could be quite nice but really needs refurbishing. It looks dated and tired.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merilea, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Andrew J,
Thank you for your review.
I wish you had mentioned the problem with breakfast whilst you were at the hotel as we offer room service breakfast too at any time. Breakfast officially starts at 7.30am but we are very flexible as one of the staff lives on site and we have 24 hour room service.
Our menu has been changed today (29th November) and our refurbishment starts on 5th January 2014 so I'm hoping you give us the opportunity to prove ourselves in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#496 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#432 of 1,077 in London
836 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#355 of 1,077 in London
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#446 of 1,077 in London
404 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#334 of 1,077 in London
2,272 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#278 of 1,077 in London
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Lodge Hotel

Address: 134 / 136 Lexham Gardens, London W8 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in London
#300 Business Hotel in London
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $112 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Lodge Hotel is situated in the quiet and historic Kensington area of London; it is approximately 4 minutes walk from Earl’s Court underground station and this prestigious Town House hotel has a style and charm all of its own. London Lodge is sumptuous in its furnishings, attentive in its service and convenient in its location. Bedrooms have air-conditioning and the high level of facilities that is nowadays expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your London Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel London
London Lodge Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing