We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Lodge Hotel”
Review of London Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Lodge Hotel
Ranked #323 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was a delight. It is ideally situated close to both Earl's Court and Kensington High Street tube stations, yet in a quite road away from traffic noise. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was spacious for a single, with excellent bathroom facilities and a very comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were on offer if required. Despite arriving mid afternoon, the staff organised a light lunch which was very reasonably priced. The evening meal was excellent and also reasonably priced - important as I was travelling alone and didn't want to face finding a restaurant elsewhere. It is about 15 minutes walk from the Natural History, Scioence and V&A museums. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Kathy A,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was very sweet of you.
We look forward to keeping you company on your next visit!

Wamrest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 715 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel is near a metrostation (Kensington). The staff is very helpful, but the room was ... a bit dirty, special the curtains. The bathroom was very poor, and breakfast - típical british. Four half toast bread with jam, I think orange jam. :-) The Hotel is perfect for a young couple for a short citytrip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borisz719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Borixz719,
Thank you for your review.
For future reference, the nearest station to us is Earls Court which is 5 minutes walk away.
Our breakfast is slightly more than just toast and we offer 4 flavours of jam, marmalade, marmite and nutella. Our inclusive buffet consists of 3 types of juice, 3 types of cereal, 3 types of yoghurt, 3 types of fresh fruit, cheese, and as much toast, croissants, tea/coffee as you like. As the menu states, we also supply porridge and ham on request, free of charge.
I'm sorry if you felt that the bathroom was dirty and I wish you had mentioned it at the time so that we could do something about it.
I ope we have the pleaseure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel has many things going for it. The room was small (expect that in many Capital cities), but comfortable with a full bathroom. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast good. It is a close walking distance from Earls Court,tube station,(which is the only way to travel around London). shops, pubs Post Office and coin operated laundermatt, which is important if you do not want to pay the very expensive laundry bill which is offered by most hotels.We also found it easy to get to the Natural Museum and Public transport.
The cafe downstairs also offers dinner at night for the less adventurous.
Being in our 60's,we needed things "easy" and this hotels location certainly provided it.

Room Tip: Most places in London are double glazed and therefore noise is not a problem at this hotel. It is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jantheau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Jantheau,
Thank you so much for writing a review.
Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've had a very enjoyable stay in this hotel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and very quiet. We could even sleep with the windows open, all we heard were birds in the morning.

2 different busstops at a few steps away, taking you everywhere you want to go. But you can easily walk to Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall, V&A, ...
There's a direct bus to Oxford street. Busses are much more fun than the Tube, tube station is quite a walk.
Overall, excellent place to stay when in London.
Would definitely go back there. Full breakfast was delicious, staff very friendly and helpful. Brochures, maps, ... on hand at reception area.

Room Tip: We were on top floor, overlooking several cute gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Carolien_be,
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in October 2011. Not only was the location great but the staff was also very helpful and friendly. We had wanted to go out to the movies and dinner but didn't feel like hitting the West End again, and the receptionist who was working there at that time pointed us in the right direction and it wasn't too far to walk from the hotel itself. Rooms were clean and it was nice to put our head down after a long day out. Everything was within good reach. We are planning another visit this July for 16 nights and hope that there will be a room available for us then. We hope our travel agent has some good news for us tomorrow :-).

p.s. we can't remember the receptionist who attended to us at that time but she was expecting her first child and was due to give birth to her baby girl in December. If she is still there, we would love to see her again.

p.p.s....just ignore the rating on the pool and fitness centre. I had pressed the buttons accidentally! Its still a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZaiF_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hi ZaiF61,
Thank you for your review. It's very sweet of you.
Mirka has had her baby now and she MIGHT be back in February.
We look forward to welcoming you back in July.

Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 10 nights with a group of 18 students and faculty. We have only positive things to say, such as:
Lots of hot water
Rooms extremely clean.
Staff - smiling, courteous, efficient. These folks really seemed to enjoy working at this hotel and went above and beyond many times, particularly during a crisis moment to help us. You can leave your key at the front desk with 24/7 reception to avoid misplacing it. This was an excellent feature for students sharing rooms and coming and going at all times.
Beds were comfortable and again clean.
Breakfast was simple, but nicer than most continental breakfast in the US. REAL DISHES, not plastic and a variety of fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheese, toast or croissant.
TV channels adequate.
Location is one of the best features. Close to the TUBE with enough places to eat, shops, grocery, pharmacy all within close distance. The street the hotel is located on is extremely quiet and the hotel itself was quiet as well. I was expecting some noise from our group of students, but only heard them one night.

There were a couple of complaints about the climate in some of the student rooms, but I did not have a problem in mine.

Wifi was expensive and my only complaint would be that perhaps there could be one hot zone for wifi in the hotel. The lobby is small, so I assume that is why there isn't one there, but it was difficult for our students to find free wifi nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ketti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Ketti T,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review,
We are hoping to arrange something for the wi-fi in this coming year.
I hope we have the pleasure in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We wanted a quiet break away and we got it. Lovely staff made us very welcome. Had a good knowledge of London and things to see and do.
Room was comfortable and very clean and bathroom was cleaner than home. Breakfast (we choose the cooked for extra) was well cooked and served. The mislaid spoon was replaced with a smile (and a giggle).
Here's to another break in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear BunnySurrey,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's always lovely to hear from satisfied guests.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warmest regards and Merry Christmas!
Lea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#463 of 1,077 in London
817 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#494 of 1,077 in London
429 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#290 of 1,077 in London
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#364 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
2,040 reviews
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#317 of 1,077 in London
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Lodge Hotel

Address: 134 / 136 Lexham Gardens, London W8 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#265 Family Hotel in London
#301 Business Hotel in London
#339 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $115 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — London Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Lodge Hotel is situated in the quiet and historic Kensington area of London; it is approximately 4 minutes walk from Earl’s Court underground station and this prestigious Town House hotel has a style and charm all of its own. London Lodge is sumptuous in its furnishings, attentive in its service and convenient in its location. Bedrooms have air-conditioning and the high level of facilities that is nowadays expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel London
London Lodge Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing